We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth going out of your way!”
Review of The Box Car - CLOSED

The Box Car
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth going out of your way!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Anytime we're heading in a direction that makes the least bit of sense to take Rte 2 thru Erving, we plan a stop at the Box Car. The owner and her staff are a delight. There's clearly a collection of locals that frequent the place regularly, but travelers are equally welcome. Best of all is the food. Whether breakfast or lunch, make sure to order something involving one of the homemade breads! Fabulous.

Helpful?
Thank PJ-Newlywed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

It's very small but very busy the food is very good and the staff is entertaining . We stopped here on our way to Vt. Big breakfast and different kinds of breads to choose from such as Eggnog bread. I wanted to buy a loaf but couldn't said we would have to place an order and it wold take a week. Too bad because it was very good. Check this place out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela-Pepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breakfast until 2:00PM”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Stopped there early in the afternoon and were surprised to find that they had breakfast available until 2:00PM. Their portions are good sized and their special breads are terrific... Especially their cranberry egg nog bread. Their prices are reasonable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts!!!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The owner is a wonderfully friendly woman, she always greets us when we go in. The omelets are fantastic! Menu is what you would expect for this restaurant, however they do a lot of homey recipes, homemade bread, which is to die for!! The staff really make the experience here!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CindyH556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Top of our breakfast favorites”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stopped in on dec 15th for breakfast . Wife had egg, bacon, but the topper was the pepper cheddar bread....need I say more! I had the Dougie omelet , with home fires and the same toast as the wife's.The only regret that it's not closer to us as we were passing through back home to Glens Falls ny. Do yourself a favor, you will not regret it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Box Car also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing