We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is no other place you should stay in Martha's Vineyard !”
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbor View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2010

I thought we had written this review last year but after checking our profile here it looks as if we forgot. We stayed in one of the private cottages and we were in awe from the moment we stepped in ! From the decor to the, tranquility, to the cleanliness it was at the top of all of our rankings. And yes, we are picky ! The service was top notch as well as the staff. We could go on and on. The proximity to shopping and dining it great too. The name of the cottage we stayed in was Captain Layfette which is the one they use in their ads.. It was exquisite ! We will go again and again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandS2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

915 - 921 of 984 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2009

My family has vacationed on MV each summer for decades and we usually rent a house instead of staying at a hotel. My fiance and I are getting married on the island next summer and needed to visit in November to meet with vendors, so we booked a room for us and one for my parents at the Harbor View as we've always wanted to stay at the resort. The lobby is just beautiful, and the front desk staff was very nice and eager to help. We checked in late in the evening our first night so we had dinner at Henry's, the bar/restaurant at the resort. George the bartender was very knowledgable and gave great recommendations. The food was absolutely delicious, especially the lobster mac and cheese. Amazing! Our rooms were very nicely furnished and the decor was perfect for the location. Our bathroom looked as if it was the only thing not to be renovated but it was still very clean.

The resort was pretty full for a quieter time of year and we didn't feel as if it was overcrowded or noisy at all. Overall, we had a very positive experience and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderluster15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

I'm very late in writing this but wanted to share our experience with the Harbor View. We went to MV in March of this year for a long weekend. I know, I know ... March... as in winter, as in low/off season (i.e. most of the Island is "closed") but we love the Vineyard and wanted to have a quiet get away.

During previous visits we have stayed at the Harbor View once before in high-season and it was just way too noisy. We have also stayed at the Kelly House in off-season and found that very enjoyable so we thought we would try the Harbor View in March.

The staff are all very helpful and that was well demonstrated by the front desk person assisting us with being able to order food at the bar despite late check-in (8:45pm) and the bar food service stopping at 9:00pm. She called the bar and the kitchen and requested that they stay open until we got to the bar -- after we went to our room and checked in. Given that no other restaurants were open in Edgartown at that time of night (remember, it's March) we really appreciated the customer service.
The bar is called Henry's we love the small plate selections. All the specials were wonderful.

We got a very good promo rate: buy two nights--low-season rate--get the third night free so the value we received for the dollar paid was good although we can't help feeling that we were given one of the least desirable rooms because we were staying on a promotional rate. Our room was barely above the roof above Water Street restaurant and one of our windows actually looked into a skylight that is over the restaurant. The hotel was maybe 35% occupied so I was a bit surprised at the room provided. Two other not-so-good things about our room was the temperature impossible to control: we could not get the room temp to be anything but very warm. And the doors to room and bathroom do not fit/close tightly. We could clearly see other guest walking by in the hall outside our room due to the rather large gap around the door.


The location is great and that is truly the attraction of the hotel. We very much enjoyed being steps from the water and a short walk into the heart of Edgartown.

We wished the hotel would have provided a coffee set-up, perhaps with a few muffins, etc. in the morning. Having the only breakfast option be Water Street (the Harbor View's restaurant) for a complete sit-down breakfast was surprising especially since the Newes (sister hotel's restaurant) does not serve breakfast and there are very, very few other options open in Edgartown at that time of year. One would expect a "Resort" to provide self-serve complimentary coffee year round.

All in all we love the Vineyard so we'll keep coming back to the Island. When we do go back we'll always plan an evening in Henry's at the Harbor View for the nice atmosphere, good service, and great food. We'll probably only book a room here when the promo rates are too good to resist.

Wish there was a "Maybe" category on the "would you recommend this hotel" question

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atlbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We stayed here for one night whilst touring New England and this was the most expensive hotel from the seven we stayed at (one of these was the 5* Boston Intercontinental)

The public areas of the hotel are very nice and the exterior is pleasing to the eye. However the same care and attention to detail does not apply to the rooms. Whilst they are non-offensive we found them decorated to a generally basic standard especially considering the premium price tag. The room has a foisty smell, the air conditioning was loud as was the fridge (which we had to switch off to allow us to sleep), the shower had the previous guests soap suds all up the walls and the dressing gowns were covered in ladies hair.

The hotel whilst having nice views was a 10 minute walk to the centre of Edgartown.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soho_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as part of a group business trip. For $385 per night, we were very disappointed. We had Room 15 in the Captain Edmund Bradley Cottage. There was no balcony, 2 small windows, one which provided a lovely view of the dumpsters and the other, which gave us a view of the parking lot. Quaint is one thing, old and outdated is the best description for this room. The location of the hotel, generally, is good and there is a great view of the harbor from the front of the hotel. However, the next time i come to Martha's Vineyard, I will not stay here. In a word......RIPOFF!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lobbyd1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

This is our third time staying here and it gets better every time. It is in the ideal location (a 5 minute walk to town...across from the lighthouse...on a quiet street end). The room renevations are great. We stayed in the Meyhew building which was recently re-done. These are the less expensive rooms and they are beautiful and spacious. If you are on a budget, I would chose these rooms over the smaller rooms in the main house. The common area/lobby is beautiful. The best part is the wrap around porch which is huge and overlooks the water and has great seating. The staff is nice and friendly. They took pictures of my husband and me by the water and refused to take a tip for doing so! In terms of dining...the food at Atria can't be beat. It's expensive...but we go each trip as our splurge and get the Wok Fired Lobster which is amazing. I also like Alchemy a lot! The only negative to me about the Harborview is that they do not have a gym/spa/tennis courts. I feel like for the prices, you should get those amenities or they should give you access to a local gym/spa/tennis courts. The pool does the job, but is not beautiful. It's totally fine though. Overall though...this place is amazing...!!! Sitting on their porch is heaven.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alobo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

At $450 a night we expected top quality in every category. Housekeeping staff is extremely slow and even neglects the standard maintenance of coffee setup in the room (no coffee stirrers, etc). On two consecutive days, we were out of the room for several hours while we were sightseeing; but when we returned, our room had not been cleaned, no towels replenished, nothing. The exception to the overall mediocre rating we would give this hotel is their Water St. restaurant. The wait staff there is wonderful and very friendly. The problem lies with the hotel room maintenance. There was also an air conditioner leak in the bathroom ceiling which we reported right away, but it was never addressed during our stay. The $450 rate is absurdly high for what you get.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.6 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
818 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
626 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#9 of 10 in Edgartown
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range: $116 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. Only minutes from downtown Edgartown, that offers its' guests an array activities from biking, shopping, dining, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Edgartown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing