We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,089)
Filter reviews
1,089 results
Traveler rating
527
299
126
95
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
527
299
126
95
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building front porch mayhew building edgartown lighthouse lighthouse grill off season martha's vineyard rocking chairs concierge desk the cottages hotel bar beautiful hotel light house bedroom cottage water view wrap around porch short walk
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 1,089 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile

The hotel manager quickly resolved an issue with our room. Professional service, clean rooms and beautiful location. My family enjoyed staying in Harbor View. Look forward to returning back in the summer.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Katerina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights end of Oct / Nov.
Hotel in perfect location. We booked one room for 3 people but were given a cottage apartment with 3 rooms. Each room was beautiful. Beds and linen were comfortable and luxurious . Bathrooms were perfect.
Overall a fabulous stay. Could not recommend highly enough

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Mcashm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Harbor View Hotel for three nights. We stayed in one of the "Captains cottages": Ours had three bedrooms, two bathroom, a modern and shiny kitchen and overall else every comfort you can think of - a full apartment. We loved the stylish furniture and decorations. The floor is made of dark wood in the living room and kitchen. The bathrooms are huge, as the whole apartment is designed very spacey. To us it seemed very new and very clean. We would recommend it and hope to be back with family or friends.

We got the chance to look at one of the standard rooms in main building though. It was very clean and nicely decorated, but (as the main building itself) is in need of a renovation.

We have not eaten in the hotel restaurants nor used any other facilities.

The compound is perfectly (!) situated in front of the lighthouse beach, in a few minutes you can walk along the adorable neighborhood into city centre. The nice porches with the turquoise lounge chairs look right at the lighthouse, marsh and beach. Lovely!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Meike_Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017

This is exactly the kind of place that gets by on their location and past reputation. The website photos are gorgeous, the location can't be beat, however, the building we stayed in (Governor Mayhew) left *a lot* to be desired. It's mostly what other reviewers have stated. The rooms are decorated nicely, but everything is worn, damaged, or damaged. The room also had an odor that I couldn't identity. Must? Non-bleach cleaning product? It wasn't good whatever it was. The building and rooms have seen better days. The outdoor stairwells are dirty. The balcony and balcony ceiling and floor were both covered in dirt and green growth. Furniture that's scratched and chipped. A/C that doesn't work. (As so many others have mentioned. At this point I think it's safe to say it's probably never worked).

I'll attach photos to do the talking for me. Simply put, no attention to detail when it comes to cleaning. My friend and I both found hair in our beds (NOT OURS, GROSS), and she had the added bonus of a dead spider in hers. Both our sheets had small holes in them in various places. The bathroom. Oh, the bathroom. Cheap bathtub/shower, damaged counter, cracks in the sink basin. The mirror had a thick layer of dust on the ornate frame. Paint streaks from poor blocking. And, possibly the most uncomfortable toilet seat I've ever had the misfortune to sit on.

Now, all that said, it is a gorgeous location with a beautiful view. Yes, the rocking chairs on the deck of the main building are charming, the interior lovely. And, so long as you're not spending much time in your actual room you'll be fine. For the prices they charge you'd expect all the little touches from a luxury hotel, but alas, there were none to be found on my stay. Buyer beware.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay in the Governor Mayhew annex.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank amelia_leason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2017

This is THE place to stay in Edgartown. Comfortable rooms. We stayed on the third floor in the main building. WHAT A VIEW!!! Very attentive staff. Renovated old world hotel with lots of original details. Huge covered porch with rocking chairs & tables. Perfect spot for an evening cocktail. Restaurant on premises. Huge pool. Walk to downtown. Pricey, but worth it.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank tangohampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews