We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Not Worth the Price” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbor View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Kent Island, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So Not Worth the Price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as part of a group business trip. For $385 per night, we were very disappointed. We had Room 15 in the Captain Edmund Bradley Cottage. There was no balcony, 2 small windows, one which provided a lovely view of the dumpsters and the other, which gave us a view of the parking lot. Quaint is one thing, old and outdated is the best description for this room. The location of the hotel, generally, is good and there is a great view of the harbor from the front of the hotel. However, the next time i come to Martha's Vineyard, I will not stay here. In a word......RIPOFF!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lobbyd1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    251
    94
    70
    31
See reviews for
238
444
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

This is our third time staying here and it gets better every time. It is in the ideal location (a 5 minute walk to town...across from the lighthouse...on a quiet street end). The room renevations are great. We stayed in the Meyhew building which was recently re-done. These are the less expensive rooms and they are beautiful and spacious. If you are on a budget, I would chose these rooms over the smaller rooms in the main house. The common area/lobby is beautiful. The best part is the wrap around porch which is huge and overlooks the water and has great seating. The staff is nice and friendly. They took pictures of my husband and me by the water and refused to take a tip for doing so! In terms of dining...the food at Atria can't be beat. It's expensive...but we go each trip as our splurge and get the Wok Fired Lobster which is amazing. I also like Alchemy a lot! The only negative to me about the Harborview is that they do not have a gym/spa/tennis courts. I feel like for the prices, you should get those amenities or they should give you access to a local gym/spa/tennis courts. The pool does the job, but is not beautiful. It's totally fine though. Overall though...this place is amazing...!!! Sitting on their porch is heaven.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alobo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

At $450 a night we expected top quality in every category. Housekeeping staff is extremely slow and even neglects the standard maintenance of coffee setup in the room (no coffee stirrers, etc). On two consecutive days, we were out of the room for several hours while we were sightseeing; but when we returned, our room had not been cleaned, no towels replenished, nothing. The exception to the overall mediocre rating we would give this hotel is their Water St. restaurant. The wait staff there is wonderful and very friendly. The problem lies with the hotel room maintenance. There was also an air conditioner leak in the bathroom ceiling which we reported right away, but it was never addressed during our stay. The $450 rate is absurdly high for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dinevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm beach gardens florida
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

My wife summered on the Vineyard from 68 to 72 and for our 35th anniversary I thought it would be nice to revisit the island. The Hotel seemed to be the newest and nicest and the reservationagent who I dealt with assured me that my one bedroom cottage would be great for us at a rate of $380.00 per night. This reservation was made in March 2009 for August 2009. When we got to our 1 br cottage it was small old not renovated and had a window ac unit that leaked on the carpet . The furniture was old and linolium floors in the tiny bathroom. Not what I had in mind! They were full and could not accomadate a change in rooms. The renovated rooms looked nice but CLARIFY with the reservation agent what kind of room you are getting. The cottages look beautiful but some are old and not worth the money. The manager did adjust the rate in all fairness but the trip was a letdown as to the accomodations. Unless you are in certain rooms by the way you will not see the harbor. The staff is largely european suudents who are very nice but not always trained to the level one would expect in a hotel of this caliber.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flalaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

When we booked the Harbor View, we were looking for a premium lodging experience in Martha's Vineyard. We were soooo disapointed. We booked a room in the main building for $425 a night - we figured that would get us a decent room, right? Wrong. We got to the small room to find we had a view of....roof equipment. If we stepped on our tippi toes, we could see over it to the water. While this was not what we expected, the hotel's reaction was what really bothered us. We complained, the front desk person then the manager responded that they were full and could do nothing. I told them this did not meet our expectations and we would not ever come back. This is when she offered as a solution to help us find someplace else. I have never been at a high end hotel that their solution to a problem was to get rid of us. The then indicated they could find us inferior rooms elsewhere on the Island $100-200 more a night than what we were paying there. GRRRR

I was also surprised that they do not serve food/beverages on the porch. They allow you to take these items out on your own but they put drinks in plastic cups and any food is served in paper boxes with prepackaged plastic forks. Very Tacky - if I wanted the McDs treatment, I wouldn't pay over $400 a night for the pleasure.

Avoid this place unless you get a bargain price. There are other places that can give you the Vineyard experience without the wasted money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat2004fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

Just returned from three night stay with family and really was impressed with the one bedroom suite that we stayed in. Recently renovated, it was the Abraham Morse Guest cottage and it was very spacious and tastefully decorated. Everything is new, including brand new bathroom - it even includes a private outdoor shower which was connected to the bathroom making it easy for us to rinse off sand and shower outside or walk right into bathroom for hot shower. Definitely worth the upgrade.

Had breakfast at the Hotel restaurant and the granola with yogurt is the best I have ever had! Service was a bit slow as it seems that the wait staff is fairly new and they could use some improvement here.

Excellent location, 5 minute walk into town or Chappy ferry and right across from lighthouse with small beach where kids could search for sea creatures/shells.

Overall, very satisfied with the stay - this was a great alternative to renting a house especially given the "pay for 2 nights stay for 3 nights" special that they were running at the time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ydogCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

I called the concierge [Anthony] at the hotel to send a bottle of champagne to the room of a guest.
Despite my calling back later that day to be sure things were on tract, the champagne was delivered to the wrong room.
At a hotel charging these prices, service should be on the level of some of the
world's best hotels [ Four Seasons prices should equal Four Seasons service].
I get the sense these are well meaning young people, but not professional adults.
When you charge these room prices, you should hire grownup professionals.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.6 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
5.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#8 of 10 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Property: Harbor View Hotel
Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. Only minutes from downtown Edgartown, that offers its' guests an array activities from biking, shopping, dining, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Edgartown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing