We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mixed emotions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbor View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mixed emotions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

For the price it was rather disappointing. The shower curtain smelled so sour it was nauseating. The location is prime. Beautiful view and within easy walking distance to most everything in town. The room had all the usual amenities plus rather nice robes and an in room fridge. The small private porch was very enjoyable and we had a glass of wine there each night prior to retiring. It was an overall enjoyable experience but if I return to Martha's Vineyard will also look into other options for accommodations.

Room Tip: Stay here for the view and history
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaaahhhhh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    230
    89
    64
    31
See reviews for
217
410
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hotel looks good but the food in the main dining room is appalling. Arrived at hotel to find firstly our keys would not work "twice". We were given twin beds even though all the advertisements show lovely rooms with a main queen or king bed. The bathroom washbasin has mould around it including cracks in the basin. Go to the main dining room to order lobster ( this is Martha's Vineyard after all) and we have to send back undercooked lobster. However the problem is terrible flavours. The worst meal in 3 weeks of visiting restaurants in the states. Food court In a shopping centre could have done better. Will not be adding to my review list

Room Tip: Not sure, not staying long enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here on our trip around New England and were upgrading on arriving into an apartment with a lounge dinning area, small kitchen,bathroom and large bedroom. The location of the hotel is wonderful and we both fell in love with Edgartown.
The hotel was in easy walking distances of the shops and restaurants and across the road the beach and the light house.
As we had such a wonderful apartment we did not use the hotel amenities, but there was everything there that you could wish for.
Wonderful place to relax and enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

There are many wonderful things about the Harborview Hotel... To start with The concierges Darlene and Jill were wonderful. Most of the rest of the staff were very accomadating. And the views and wrap around porch are quite wonderful. Our room was so disappointing . To me it was a very average space. I would think nothing of it if I were paying for a run of the mill hotel but when paying 5 star prices I expect a 5 star room.
Our Hotel room in the Main building on the third flloor, with a view left a lot to be desired. The carpet throughout was dirty and stained. The airconditioner in the room was either freezing or not working at all. Whilst try as they might, no one seemed to be able to fix. it. We were spending 10 days and were given a dresser with 2 drawers a piece. The bathroom was truly in need of a redo. The shower rod had rusted , the paint on the wall was cracked and flaking, and the shower curtain had mold on it. The shower was plastic, just like in Motel 6. I feel like the management has just let the small things that make a hotel special, lapse.. I was so disappointed as
I had really looked forward to staying there. Did the room spoil my time on the Vineyard, No, but I will now think long and hard before I ever stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Moose9382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed two nights here while on a tour of Cape Cod, the Islands and Newport.
The hotel is charming and comfortable in a quiet setting. It's across a quiet road from the wide beach with the water beyond. The lighthouse adds to the view and is accessed along a short walk toward the sea. The room was comfortable with pleasant decor and doors opened to a small courtyard with a golf course beyond.

The hotel is a short walk into the town to sample local fare, galleries and shops.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The main building and cottages are wonderful, but the Captain May? sic is not worth the prime season price. Needs help in this respect, but there are many great features to the hotel. The porch and the restaurant are wonderful. The location is far away from the boonie tourists, and the staff is attentive and considerate.

Room Tip: Stay in the Main hotel or the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitch955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

What more could you ask for in Edgartown that rocking on a porch looking at the harbor and lighthouse. A path from the front of the hotel leads you to the lighthouse.
We enjoyed a 2 night stay with Tauck Tours. Our room was located upstarts in Mayhew building. No view with trees outside of balcony.No elevator so be prepared to climb stairs..Lots of charm in lobby and restaurant.Buffet breakfast was fine. Dinner menu is small, definitely not comfort food but beautiful presentation and tasty.
A short walk to downtown with many seafood dining options and bars.Cape Cod type shops full of casual clothes..Fun to watch boating as marina and docks are located at end of main street.

Room Tip: No elevators in Mayhew building which is behind main building. Hotel was closed for renovation a yea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbiegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.6 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
5.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.4 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#3 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 11 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Property: Harbor View Hotel
Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. Only minutes from downtown Edgartown, that offers its' guests an array activities from biking, shopping, dining, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Edgartown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing