We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbor View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here on our trip around New England and were upgrading on arriving into an apartment with a lounge dinning area, small kitchen,bathroom and large bedroom. The location of the hotel is wonderful and we both fell in love with Edgartown.
The hotel was in easy walking distances of the shops and restaurants and across the road the beach and the light house.
As we had such a wonderful apartment we did not use the hotel amenities, but there was everything there that you could wish for.
Wonderful place to relax and enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    263
    96
    71
    32
See reviews for
243
461
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

There are many wonderful things about the Harborview Hotel... To start with The concierges Darlene and Jill were wonderful. Most of the rest of the staff were very accomadating. And the views and wrap around porch are quite wonderful. Our room was so disappointing . To me it was a very average space. I would think nothing of it if I were paying for a run of the mill hotel but when paying 5 star prices I expect a 5 star room.
Our Hotel room in the Main building on the third flloor, with a view left a lot to be desired. The carpet throughout was dirty and stained. The airconditioner in the room was either freezing or not working at all. Whilst try as they might, no one seemed to be able to fix. it. We were spending 10 days and were given a dresser with 2 drawers a piece. The bathroom was truly in need of a redo. The shower rod had rusted , the paint on the wall was cracked and flaking, and the shower curtain had mold on it. The shower was plastic, just like in Motel 6. I feel like the management has just let the small things that make a hotel special, lapse.. I was so disappointed as
I had really looked forward to staying there. Did the room spoil my time on the Vineyard, No, but I will now think long and hard before I ever stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Moose9382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed two nights here while on a tour of Cape Cod, the Islands and Newport.
The hotel is charming and comfortable in a quiet setting. It's across a quiet road from the wide beach with the water beyond. The lighthouse adds to the view and is accessed along a short walk toward the sea. The room was comfortable with pleasant decor and doors opened to a small courtyard with a golf course beyond.

The hotel is a short walk into the town to sample local fare, galleries and shops.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The main building and cottages are wonderful, but the Captain May? sic is not worth the prime season price. Needs help in this respect, but there are many great features to the hotel. The porch and the restaurant are wonderful. The location is far away from the boonie tourists, and the staff is attentive and considerate.

Room Tip: Stay in the Main hotel or the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitch955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

What more could you ask for in Edgartown that rocking on a porch looking at the harbor and lighthouse. A path from the front of the hotel leads you to the lighthouse.
We enjoyed a 2 night stay with Tauck Tours. Our room was located upstarts in Mayhew building. No view with trees outside of balcony.No elevator so be prepared to climb stairs..Lots of charm in lobby and restaurant.Buffet breakfast was fine. Dinner menu is small, definitely not comfort food but beautiful presentation and tasty.
A short walk to downtown with many seafood dining options and bars.Cape Cod type shops full of casual clothes..Fun to watch boating as marina and docks are located at end of main street.

Room Tip: No elevators in Mayhew building which is behind main building. Hotel was closed for renovation a yea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbiegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eygalieres, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

With such an amazing view in a phenomenal location, one could easily forgive the staff for an elitist or ostentatious approach.

Happily however this is not the case at all - the staff here were extremely welcoming, down to earth and approachable.


Great team, particularly their Director of Operations John Furnari who took the time to introduce himself at breakfast.

Very relaxing, great location, highly recommended!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RossWilliams1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The location of the Harbor View Hotel is outstanding with unrivalled views across the water in Edgartown. Unfortunately the hotel itself does not do the views justice for the following reasons:

1. Beware the Mayhew Building/third party booking
We arrived and were allocated two rooms on the ground floor in the Mayhew Building- beware of this when booking- you are sold on the view but these rooms are in an annex to the hotel. They are no better than accommodation at a cheap motel. They were dingy and not inviting. We asked if we could be moved to other rooms. We were told by the reception staff that they were full. We were also told that as we had booked through a third party instead of directly with the hotel that their hands were tied. As third party bookings are extremely common we thought this was a strange argument to run for many reasons including the blatant discrimination between guests and especially as third party agents bring in much income for the hotel. After asking to see the manager some rooms did become available and we were offered one "lock out" room (a blocked off room from one of the cottages- which are beautifully decorated) and one room on a higher floor in the Mayhew Building which was marginally better and lighter than the ground floor but the best they could do. We would stay in these rooms for one night and then one room in the main hotel would be available for the rest of the stay but one guest would remain in the "lock out". Problem solved are so we thought...

2. Security problems
We were given the key for the higher room in the Mayhew Building. We proceeded into the building- I put the keycard in the door and it flashed green and I walked in. Unfortunately the room was already occupied by a couple and their children. The security implications of this error are clear and the couple were as shocked and appalled with the hotel as we were. The hotel staff queried how this could have happened and even called the room to ask the name of the family in the room. It was a complete shambles. At no point was an apology offered to us or the family. The hotel then managed to "find" a room in one of the cottages which had not been available to us previously. The room was beautiful and as sold on the hotel website. It is a shame that we had had a long journey to get there!

3. Staff issues
Overall I think the Harbor View could be an amazing place but it needs some serious investment not only financially in areas of the hotel which look cheap but also in their staff. They need to perform better, employ some customer service skills and live up to the prestigious destination where the hotel sits.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room in the Mayhew Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.6 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
789 reviews
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
96 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#3 of 4 in Edgartown
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Property: Harbor View Hotel
Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. Only minutes from downtown Edgartown, that offers its' guests an array activities from biking, shopping, dining, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Edgartown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing