We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best-available in Edgartown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbor View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Best-available in Edgartown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This was our first visit to the Vineyard, and the hotel came recommended by friends. Navigating to the hotel was a challenge: the streets here are all narrow and one-way. We were put in the 3-story rear wing, which has no elevators, overlooking the pool. It was comfortable but nothing special. Ain't no Ritz Carltons here. The staff is overwhelmingly Balkan, placed here by an agency: Croatia, Macedonia, Kosovo, Serbia, Bulgaria (but not Russia). But they're friendly and eager to please. My son and I enjoyed games of "cornhole" by the pool. Surprisingly noisy in the morning, across from the traffic-lodged parking lot, trash collection emptying dumpsters, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for the main building, not the rear annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lalhasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    227
    87
    62
    31
See reviews for
212
404
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This hotel leaves nothing to the imagination, its breath taking panerama of the lighthouse and ocean is worth the trip. My room was in the main building, it was luxurious and much larger then the picture on the internet. The food at the Water Street restaurant was exceptional as was the service. My only complaint is with the check-in, when they say 4pm they mean not one minute before. Of course that's not what they said when I arrived at noon, but that's how it worked out.
Next time I'll know what to expect and set my schedule accordingly.

This was the first time I stayed in Edgartown, having stayed in Oak Bluffs before, and I will never stay any where else ever again. It is a very safe, relaxing, beautiful little town that's worth the visit, with many good restaurants quaint little shops.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor, for the view, and a corner room is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KoOlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

With a finite number of hotels on Martha's Vineyard, many hotels don't have to provide good service and facilities in order to stay full during the busy season. The Harbor View is a happy exception to this rule. Its rooms are well appointed (even the rooms in the annex have been recently renovated) and the staff go out of their way to assist guests. The pool area is trendy and the gym has everything you need. Even the restaurants exceed what you would expect for hotel fare. When you combine all of this with the Harbor View's outstanding location next to the Edgartown lighthouse and beach, the Harbor View is a perfect choice.

Room Tip: The better rooms are in the main building but the ones in the annex have been recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyr38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

View from the porch of the building: Very, Very Nice.

View from my room: none (just a few, in your face, trees)
Everything else: Meh.

Family of four. Here for two nights: Room rate: $325/nt
Arrived at 10pm. two young girls manning the desk, only interested in getting the credit card/ID. no " welcome to the...."
No "will you be needing assistance with bags as we have no elevators for any floors."

In the room (rm 934): closet doors do not slide, sink has numerous cracks along the entire base (but no leaks), Iron board is broken, so that a hot iron fell off the board. Reported to the front desk as this could be a significant liability issue let alone making the hotel appear like a cheap Days Inn. Still has not been removed/replaced.
beds comfortable.

Maid service: made the beds, did not throw out trash, did not replenish usu soap/shampoo. had to call for that as well as towels.

Concierge: excellent. asked her via tel about bike rentals: she said "we don't have them, but I can get them delivered in 1/2 hr." she set it up and even got us a small discount, all without any fuss.

Will we come back : To MV: Yes.
To this hotel:Not even at 1/2 the price unless there is a complete overhaul of management, which actually tries to manage the consumer experience via inspections and appropriate training, and creating a true "hotel culture."

Apparent from the reviews that if you have a large scale event, you get the 4 star tx. Otherwise not so much. .i.e if you are exxon mobil and having an event, probably the right place.

Fortunately, plenty of smaller options through out the island.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a waterfront view, if you still decide to come here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark_Guinn, General Manager at Harbor View Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Please accept my sincere apologies for the lack of a proper welcome and offer of assistance upon your arrival at the Harbor View Hotel. I was disappointed to hear that you did not receive the level of service one would expect from us, as it is of utmost importance to provide you with exceptional hospitality.
Both our front desk and housekeeping staff clearly needs to be retrained the importance of providing great customer service as well as not overlooking any housekeeping duties. Therefore, I have shared your comments with the Director of Rooms as well as the Chief Engineer in order for them to address the issues you encountered during your stay with their staff.
In an effort to redeem you as a valued guest, I would like to offer you a return complimentary stay. I would love the opportunity to reverse the impression we unintentionally gave. Please contact my assistant, Lynn Marble at 508-356-2102.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had a perfect stay at The Harbour View Hotel - the staff were brilliant, the hotel decor beautiful & the actual accommodation was knock out! We stayed in a 2 storey apartment which was good enough to live in - Bosch washer & drier- everything you need is provided & very generous with coffee,washing powder etc. Fantastic location on the island - very safe & family friendly. Gorgeous pool - everything sparkled! Relaxing areas all around the hotel - total comfort. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blobby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Whilst my initial impression was that it was not up to the hype of other reviews I had read, it was soon proved that initial impressions can be wrong. This is an excellent hotel with a brilliant service ethic lead by the new Director of Operations John Furnari who appeared to be everywhere ensuring things were just right. We ate at Henry's which produced top quality interesting food. The rooms were well appointed with nice touches. I hope to get back some day to a hotel which really knows what it is about.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Harbor View Hotel is a first class property with excellent service, stunning views and great location. I couldn't get enough of sitting in a rocking chair on the front porch - or secluded on my own porch - or enjoying some warmth by the pool. The rooms were well appointed, food was delicious, and staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. I would def go back.

Room Tip: The cottage rooms were beautiful. Next time I'd ask for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.6 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 681 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#3 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 11 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Property: Harbor View Hotel
Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. Only minutes from downtown Edgartown, that offers its' guests an array activities from biking, shopping, dining, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Edgartown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing