We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay!!!”
Reviewed September 26, 2008

We stayed at the Harbor View Hotel in Edgartown on Martha's Vineyard the early part of September 2008 and had a terrific stay!!Everything, from the initial booking, the check-in, the quality of the overnight room and housekeeping staff to the check-out was first-class. Easy access to downtown Edgartown, great ocean view. Would highly recommend this property to anyone. Can be pricy but if you stay alert for off-season promos and book mid-week, the rates tend to moderate.

  • Liked — Quality of the Hotel/Resort itself and it's easy access to downtown Edgarown
  • Disliked — Can't really identify anything specific
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    254
    95
    70
    31
See reviews for
239
449
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2008

Just returned from three days stay in the Jason Luce cottages at the Harbor View - we had #22 but I recommend #23 which is identical but has a view over the lawn at the front. The hotel is in the middle of a mega million dollar renovation and will close for the next phase in mid-October (there is no construction currently on site). The lobby and cottages have already been redone by Linda Huffam, who designs the HGTV Dream Home every year. The cottage we had was on two floors with a living/dining/kitchen on the main floor together with one king bedroom and bath whilst the master suite of king bed, sitting area and bathroom was upstairs. All the finishes were top quality- I could have happily moved in for good without changing a thing. Location is great, opposite the lighthouse and beach and walking distance to Edgartown. Reception area, dining room and front porch of main building are stunning and we watched the sunset everynight over the water sitting on the porch with a cocktail! Concierge (Linda) was extremely helpful. Overall one of the most beautiful places I have stayed. We will certainly return soon. One note for older travellers - this room was on the second and third floors of one of the separate cottage buildings with no elevator. Main building with elevator, or another ground floor cottage room would be a better choice if you have a problem with climbing stairs as these were pretty steep.

  • Liked — Decor and location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dei4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Fantastic hotel. Common areas are newly renovated. Great location near the center of Edgartown (~10 min walk). Amazing views. Very friendly staff. ...and the hotel restaurant was one of the best that we tried on the island (Water St. is the name). Only drawback was that the renovations of the common areas did not seem to fully carry through to the rooms. Furniture, bathrooms and carpet are a bit shabby/dated -- heard this from a few other guests as well. This said, we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lotsofhotelstays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad Californa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2008

We were a small part of 17 rooms reserved for a wedding of a local resident. We had 3 rooms for our family and were able to view a cottage pent house. Without exception, we had a wonderful experience. Our young adult sons (23-29) thought the location and amenities were perfect and we(the parents) agree. The location was perfect, the staff attentive and most helpful. the rooms were comfortable and clean and what I remember most is how pleasant the room smelled!!!! I would definitely recommend this hotel. I really have no idea how much the room cost (since we were guests) but, I would love to stay here again!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank CbadTerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2008

Pros: We had a 2-bedroom suite that was large and nicely laid out, and the view from the hotel's front porch is indeed lovely. The staff is unfailingly pleasant.

Cons: The Harbor View is a pleasant hotel but calling itself a resort and charging the prices it does, it feels more like a ripoff. The website presents it as a resort, but if you read between the lines you'll see that few of the amenities it describes are actually at the "resort" itself.

When we checked in, we asked the front desk what amenities the hotel offered and the reply was, "the pool." That's pretty accurate and it's a smallish, at best medium size, outdoor pool. They also offer bikes for guests, but when we went to pick them up at 9am as instructed, there were none left. The staff member told us, "The hotel's not going to do it next year because if you do something you should do it right and we don't have enough bikes." Well, how about doing it right?

I've been to many resorts and most offer a fitness room or a spa or tennis courts or direct beach access. Half the motels in the country have a pool and they don't pretend to be a resort.

As far as the restaurants go, we only went for breakfast. The fresh squeezed juice on the menu is not in fact fresh-squeezed ("we changed suppliers," was the excuse) and the buffet is skimpy.

The hotel's prepayment policiy is steep and there are a lot of rules that making changing your reservation difficult. We will not be returning to the Harbor View. For those prices, I expect a resort to be one!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank ctjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We stayed at the Harbor View Hotel for two nights and wished we stayed longer. The hotel is centrally located; it's a short drive from Vineyard Haven and Oak Bluffs and a 10 minute walk to the shops and restaurants in Edgartown.

We traveled with our young son and found the hotel to be family friendly. We had a room in the Mayhew Building with two double beds. Check in and check out was quick and efficient. The hotel had private parking at no additional cost. The room had enough space but found the bathroom a little tight. The beds were comfortable; our room had a fridge, tv, small desk, safety box and a private balcony.

The beach is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Although the beach is public, it felt very private. The hotel supplied us with towels, beach chairs and a large umbrella for our visit to the beach.

The pool is heated and well maintained. There's a poolside bar offering light lunch options... we ordered a couple of sandwiches (took about 35-40 mins to arrive). The sandwiches were average (nothing to boast about).

Overall, the hotel is charming with a New England feel in a great location. The hotel amenities met our needs and we had good service. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — Had to walk through swimming pool area with our luggage to get to our room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTorontonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bostonhoya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

While the price tag was hefty -- it was absolutely worth it. The room we had was the size of a suite with a stunning view of the Edgartown harbor. The staff were friendly and courteous, and enjoyed lounging on the veranda with a cocktail from Henry's (the Harbor View's casual fare bar and restaurant). Would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for an upscale hotel/resort on the Vineyard, although wouldn't recommend staying in the Mayhew building (no views of the water and the rooms seemed more motel than upscale hotel).

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bostonhoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.6 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
767 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#8 of 10 in Edgartown
285 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 10 in Edgartown
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Property: Harbor View Hotel
Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. Only minutes from downtown Edgartown, that offers its' guests an array activities from biking, shopping, dining, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Edgartown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing