We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my favorite”
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbor View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel has some great grounds but the service is lacking. The restaurant was slow and the quality poor for the prices. I expected much more for a $400+ room. The unit is not on the beach and the lack of elevators was a disappointment. I'll find another.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimGranger_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 998 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

.Outstanding service and attention to every detail. Personal attention from Management and Staff. Restaurant food was incredible for breakfast and dinner. Might be considered a little pricey but definitely worth it in terms of quality, taste, and presentation. Definitely 5-star in every respect.

Room Tip: Ask for whatever you want, and you will get it. Room and bath was clean and excellent night's s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnargZFrangosSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Chef Eric was cooking up amazing dishes and mixologist Ben was creating wonderful drinks!!!!! Great service for the July 4th weekend it was awesome..definitely get some personal service from these guys everything flowed so smooth and was great..

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islandfishmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Had an ok room which was clean and comfortable. Avoid the restaurant. The service was good except for our dinner experience which was horrible. Reservation was lost, bread took an hour to receive. One entrée not cooked (big problem). Took us 2 1/2 hrs. to have dinner (most of the time waiting). Would not recommend. On a positive note, once received my brother had very good lobster.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a water view. We didn't and faced a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The oldest and newest sections of this old resort hotel appear to be lovely, but the section where we stayed -- known as the "Governor Mayhew Rooms" -- basically is a Holiday Inn with better furniture. We had a balcony overlooking a row of tall shrubs. Nevertheless, the room was clean and comfortable, if a bit pricey for what it was, and we were relieved to be able to stay there after our flight off the island was canceled. We had spent a week in a rented house, and when we couldn't leave when we were supposed to, we were very concerned about what sort of accommodations we might find at the last minute during "high season." Staff members at the Harbor View were very nice, and, under the circumstances, we were glad to be there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Historybuff52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I have been guests at Harbor-View on multiple occasions (best guess 10-12 vacations over many years ) and so writing this review is painful, as we have always enjoyed all that the hotel has to offer!

Our recent trip, June 24-28, was just plain bad from start to finish, and topped of with a case of lost, found and ultimately ruined laundry which now has us disputing the final bill and working with Amex to void the hotel charges, something we have never even considered....anywhere!

Most of the issues were clearly avoidable, including very uneven housekeeping services ( room not yet made up by 4:15 one afternoon ), a significant hole in the ceiling with exposed pipes outside our room for 5 days with no explanation or "excuse our appearance" signage, the condition of Harbor-View's signature wrap around deck with wonderful views (decking was very tired, worn and stained, as was some of the furniture), the new policy of no coffee service in the morning prior to the restaurant opening at 7am, the lobby front door that, depending on weather and wind conditions, would either not close completely or slam shut with force, daily paper delivery on one day, off the next, etc. etc.

Of note otherwise, dinner at Water Street, their signature restaurant, was of good quality but surprisingly smaller portions than we can ever remember. The price point was fine for the dining experience ( entrees $35-40.... What we expect on the island for fine dining ) but it seems the presentation is now more about the pretense than the portions. Bad decision with so many other comparable options close by!

Back to the misplaced and ruined laundry....let it suffice to say that while the gesture to clean it before shipping it back to us was nice, doing so without permission was bad communication, bad policy and most of all a horrible result, with at least six items of clothing ruined by bleach stains and fading due to the laundering.

Throughout the process of finding the lost laundry ( it somehow fell off the luggage carrier used by the bell staff and not discovered for 8+ hours....another story ) I did have good communication with the head of housekeeping and the head of engineering, who is also a senior member of the mgmt team on site. They were both very apologetic and understanding of our frustration and by now growing anger, and did what the could to keep it from escalating further.

Lastly, I was promised a call from the hotel GM on multiple occasions, and have also left him a pointed message early yesterday morning, with nothing back from him yet....huh?

Before retiring I ran a large, successful professional services organization, so I know how to take responsibility, communicate effectively and make the customer feel, if not satisfied, at least respected.

I'm not feeling a slightest bit respected as I write this review. We are done with Harbor-View after many, many rears of loyal clientele.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank needlepointer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zachary F, General Manager at Harbor View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for your recent comments, as the General Manager I take great pride in the hotel and it pains me to see we failed to take care of your needs. You have my commitment to fix the situations, and to resort your faith in the Hotel. Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to address this issue with my team.

Sincerely

Zachary Frangos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

First off, this is a beautiful hotel within walking distance (5-10 minutes) of downtown Edgartown.

We stayed in a cottage that was $500/night on sale (50%off). It was perfection! Washer and dryer, marble bathrooms- stunning!

However, it was early in the season and the concierge was very under-trained. seemed like they were just young kids. Seriously, maybe 20. They didn't know the schedules, what was going on and when and where. Their communication style was peppered with "likes". A phone call I received went something like "um, yeah, like, did you ask about a tour? Um, like, yeah...". Very unprofessional. They quoted us 3 different prices for an island tour. If they don't know who would? We got all sorts of confusing info from them.

And the boat tour? Forget it. They "forgot" to mention to bring our own food and drink. So everyone had wine and snacks and we were empty-handed, wishing we had known. Not much of a tour either. Not much guidance just a boat ride.

Also, we had two young children with us and we were under impressed with their child-friendly activities. S'mores night was literally marshmallows heated over a sterno. I kid you not. My two year old was confused. Where's the fire?

Overall:
A beautiful (if a little pricey) place that just wasn't up to snuff. Back to The Winnetu we go!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thechattycaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.6 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
824 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#9 of 10 in Edgartown
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range: $112 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. Only minutes from downtown Edgartown, that offers its' guests an array activities from biking, shopping, dining, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Edgartown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing