We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice but a bit noisy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Harbor View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very nice but a bit noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

First, I must say that the staff is the nicest, most accommodating, pleasant group of people I have encountered at a hotel in years. Just a great group of people. My wife and I celebrated our first anniversary here and upon arrival we checked in and went to our room. The floor where we were staying was SOOO loud. There were little kids playing hockey (they even had a net set up in the hallway) and screaming and yelling. I went down to the front desk (I hate complaining) and they were so nice. They moved us to the main building and assured us that they had placed us far away from any kids. They were right! It was quiet and peaceful. Although I must warn noise sensitive people that the walls are thin so if you want to sleep past 7am be wary. We could hear the people walking above us, talking next to us and the machines turning on and off outside our window. All that aside it was a lovely time. Beautiful views, a great restaurant and bar and the best staff around.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    250
    94
    69
    31
See reviews for
238
442
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I so wanted to love this hotel. The setting is spectacular, the furnishings throughout the hotel are lovely, and the rooms are spacious and well appointed. But this is seriously one of the noisiest hotels I have every stayed in. And, it is off season. Between the family staying next door, who thought it was fine to slam doors and run up and down the halls until late into the evening, to the couples (plural) who checked in after them, one of whom was a serious and non-stop loud laugher, to the piece of luggage or rolling cart that beginning 9 or so every night until after 11:00 made its way across the floor above me over and over again, to the rattling doors (is this place haunted? Who moves their luggage around that much?), to the super noisy heating system this is without a doubt the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in. And I used to travel with a fencing team! There is no insulation between rooms or between floors. Every bump, thump, and jump is clearly audible as are the conversations between rooms. Yikes. I was here for the better part of the week and by the end of the stay I was so ready to move on and find some piece and quiet. When I called down to the front desk to request that they call the people next door and gently remind them that there were other people staying in the hotel and that the walls were super thin. The young woman at the desk made a half-hearted attempt to remedy the situation checking to see if there was another room she could move them to, but alas there was not. She did call their room, but when they didn't answer on the third try I think she gave up and the noise level went back up short time later. I know that hotels cannot control always control the noise of their guests, but this is a sound-proofing issue. If a little noise bothers you (it generally doesn't bother me) then this is probably not the best hotel choice.

Room Tip: Maybe make sure you are on the third floor or in one of the outer buildings rather than the main bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynthgso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in early October for a few days on a trip around New England. The hotel is great. Our room was cozy and comfortable and the staff is very helpful. The view from the hotel is amazing. The lighthouse is right there. It was the off season so we didn't use the pool. But it was a really fun trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawgirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, however the highlight of our brunch experience was the absolutely delicious bloody mary served. The restaurant gives you a menu to choose items to add to the bloody mary, and they do a fabulous job creating it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Last years New Years Eve Celebration was classy and so much fun! Not so much this year. Check in time was 4:00 PM we didnt get into our room until 5:00. The party was nice but not nearly enough bartenders. We were only able to get one drink. They said there was security and you could only get in with wrist band but we saw young adults streaming in the back exit entering the party and making it very crowded.
The room was a nightmare! We could hear the DJ's music as if it was in the room until 2;00Pm.
Very little management to be found young adults were very drunk screaming in the hallway until 3:00PM.
Really too bad a sophisticated New Years Eve party turned into a college dorm party!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

For the price of a side of the road chain hotel we enjoyed sumptuous accommodations at the HV. A spacious third floor room overlooked the pool area as well as a glimpse of Katama Bay. It's getting harder for our 2 teenagers to occupy the same room as we parents, but this room proved no problem. The beds were large and comfortable, and there was plenty of room for the girls to throw their stuff around. A pair of closets limited the mess, and as a bonus contained plush robes, of which our 16 year old took full advantage. A table and a pair of footrest accompanied easy chairs were set in the bay window, which gave pleasant relief from always having to use the beds as seating. The fireplaced lobby was warm and inviting. We didn't much need the services of the staff, but all we encountered were helpful. Edgartown center is short stroll away, though this may an issue for some in tougher weather. One tip, renting a car is almost as cheap, and way more convenient than using the bus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonoftwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is our favorite hotel on the Vineyard; beautiful location, well maintained. We stayed in a 2-bedroom suite, more an apartment, in one of the cottage buildings. The suite was beautiful; large bedrooms very good bathrooms. The beds and the bedlinen were great and everything feels brand new and upmarket. We stayed in december but have been here on a number of occasions and love the view from the restaurant. The pool is nice. We have had mixed experiences in the restaurant; sometimes top quality, sometimes average at best. Makes you feel you're lucky the right chef is on duty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berend V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.6 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
5.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#8 of 10 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Property: Harbor View Hotel
Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. Only minutes from downtown Edgartown, that offers its' guests an array activities from biking, shopping, dining, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Edgartown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing