We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbor View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Romantic spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a great hotel in an ideal location. It has the feel of an old inn - if you stay in the main building. It's clean and the people are spectacular. Mostly what you'll find is quiet. Have a drink in the bar downstairs and then go outside and hear nothing. it's beautiful.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with a view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    227
    87
    62
    31
See reviews for
212
404
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spent 1 night here on a quick trip over to MV to visit family. The room was beautiful, clean and very spacious. The beds were comfortable even though mine was very squeaky and every time I rolled over I woke up. We had a porch that over looked the back of the hotel grounds and the pool. The bathrobes in the rooms were amazing and the bath products were very nice. It made me feel like I was at a spa. The staff were very friendly and the hotel is large enough that you feel like you have personal space but small enough to still have an Inn-like feel. The view from the porch on the front of the hotel is great, it overlooks Edgartown harbor and the lighthouse. The hotel is walking distance to all the shops and restaurants in the downtown area. We did not eat at the pub or restaurant but took a walk through and the food and menu looked great. Next time I go back I will definitely be dining there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crtnycnnrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed for a weekend in November (a great time to visit Marthas Vineyard if you want to avoid crowds). The room was a good sized room with two queen sized beds (which were incredibiy comfortable). The room had fridge (it wasn't plugged in - neither were any of the lamps, but once you moved the desk that was easily remedied) and a balcony, although it wasn't warm enough to use. It overlooked the back of the hotel (trees blocked the view of the carpark) but it meant very little noise at night -- the front rooms overlook the pool which was closed for the season but I imagine it gets noisy and busy in the summer. Decor was typical hotel fair, but very clean. The bathroom was nice, very clean with ecco-friendly toiletries but very small.
The bar and restaurant were really nice, food was excellent, prices are high though. The view from the restaurant and on the front porch (lots of rockers to sit on) is fantastic. The location is excellent, a very short walk to the main street in Edgartown, but a car is a must if you want to see the Island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We very much enjoyed staying at the Harbor View with our friends for a weekend getaway!. We were very glad we brought the car. We checked out Edgartown and Oaks Bluff and Vineyard Haven. Wished we could have stayed longer, as I'm sure there was much more to see. The elevator did not work and we were told it didn't pass inspection. We wished they could have corrected that as 3 flights to climb with luggage was too much for all of us - my husband, and my friend's husband have health issues. That was specifically why we were attracted to that particular suite/room. We were disappointed that the fireplace did not work. Although certainly not a necesitty, but would have been comfy to have that going. The staff that we conversed with were very helpful and apologetic about the elevator and fireplace.

Room Tip: The two bedroom suite was perfect for two couples with a joint common area. Bedrooms are very priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dottie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Location, location, location. Facilities were great. We were there 3 days after Hurricane Sandy. Actually had to change our reservation, since the ferry had been closed on our departure date. The restaurants and service was great. However, to get a true feel for the island at this time of year you must take your car. They have a bus system, but being tied to their schedule and waiting at bus stops is not our style. The hotel is a short walk to the main shopping area, however, there are other places to discover. We found a hot loster sandwich and delicious chowder at a fish market in Mennemsha.

Room Tip: The main building is great if you do not want to travel outdoors to get to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMorleys52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here in shoulder season for three nights to visit some family. Located in quaint little Edgartown it’s a short walk from downtown with great views of the lighthouse and neighboring Chappaquiddick. Being from Florida, this is exactly how I imagined a little New England town would look like. This is a great time of year to travel here as summer is insanely expensive and winter is bleak with most things being closed. The rooms are amazing and the ambiance is cozy. If you’re looking to relax and experience what Martha’s Vineyard has to offer, this is the perfect home base.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WhiskeyPriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in the Main Building this past weekend; we found the staff to be very welcoming and friendly. The room was well appointed, and the Sunday brunch is simply to die for! Unfortunately, however, we found Housekeeping to be sorely lacking.

Housekeeping arrived to our room at approximately 2:00 Saturday afternoon; as our son was napping at the time, my husband asked the housekeeper if she might return in a bit, to which she agreed. At 5:00, I called the front desk as services had not yet been provided, and the gentleman working the desk assured me they would be "right up". We left for dinner shortly thereafter, returning at approximately 9:30; to our dismay, the dirty towels were still in the bathroom, and the bed still unmade. We called the front desk again, and they did send towels up; however, I found their lack of apology or compensation disappointing.

We did note that there seemed to be a lack of adequate service in this regard overall; glasses and plates were left for hours in the hallway, as though staff never came by.

As another reviewer noted, there is no booklet in the room listing hotel amenities or procedures; thus, you are on your own to learn where ice machines are, hours of service, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a very clear explanation of the view when making a reservation - our "water view"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allover09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.6 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 681 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#3 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 11 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Property: Harbor View Hotel
Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. Only minutes from downtown Edgartown, that offers its' guests an array activities from biking, shopping, dining, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Edgartown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing