We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a View !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbor View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Appleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What a View !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We recently enjoyed a short but very enjoyable stay at the Harbor View Hotel Edgartown Martha's Vineyard USA. The welcome was good and the hotel is well placed and has great and relaxing facilities. Only a short walk to the lighthouse and down to the town where there are numerous places to eat and have a drink or combine the two ! Of various placed we visited on the Island Edgartown is top of the list and this hotel compliments that view.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel would have great views across the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    250
    94
    69
    31
See reviews for
238
442
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I went here with my parents while searching for a summer rental. The rate was perfect and we came last minute. The room was spacious. Everything looked clean and in order. The balcony was overlooking the parking lot and Edgartown. You are right on the ocean though so spend the extra and get an ocean view if staying. The lobby has a feel of an old time sea captain mansion. Reminded me of the Jared Coffin House on Nantucket. We were not there to enjoy but we did in the end.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhodyPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Perfectly situated to explore Edgartown and the entire island. We upgraded to a cottage which turned out to be a great decision--private courtyard, outdoor shower, front and back porches, kitchenette, fireplace, and a great bathroom. We especially enjoyed have a drink on the front porch of the hotel overlooking the harbor and the lighthouse. Staff was young and friendly. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Excellentadventures2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Harbor Veiw has i nice location after that its all downhill. Got married on the lighthouse in Edgartown so we stayed a couple nights in Harbor Veiw. First they did not have any Valet after 5pm so we had to park on our own. They then told us that they had discontinued room service because it was off-season. Although they stated they had room service on the handout when we checked in. They would not even bring up a bottle of wine. I had to go and get it myself in the restaurant. We were expecting and paid for luxury and got Holiday Inn. Wont be going back there.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank andyurban64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Although the room was very spacious and had a beautiful view, it lacked atmosphere. It also lacked a hotel info folder and a complimentary bottle of water or something like that, the "personal touch" you always find in hotels of this category.
It needed some repair of bathroom fixtures and more attentive housekeeping (I found a glass of water used the evening before still on the coffee table the next afternoon, water included).
Although overall the staff was friendly, they seemed a bit fed up with guests at the end of the season. During our 3 week trip through New England, this was the only place where we have had this feeling.
Service at the front desk was at one point even a bit rude.
All in all we had expected much more, certainly given the price we paid for the rooms. It's not good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MetooAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel is lovely but the walls are horribly thin and the staff needs much more training. When a sudden cold snap happened mid-September we were argued with and finally had to threaten to leave before we got extra blankets and a space heater. After swimming twice in the frigid pool, I was argued with again both times by staff saying it was heated and I was basically crazy -- with attitude. (i read in another review they finally admitted the heater was broken.......or perhaps more truthfully just turned off.) The menu in both restaurants is small and over-priced, even for Edgartown. The location is wonderful but our over-priced seaview room had the sea view blocked by very tall trees and the street below was packed with large trucks and people constantly coming and going during "Fashion Week." There was also a fire alarm scare in the middle of the night with guests dragged out of their rooms for no reason with no subsequent apology. Our room was beautiful but hard to enjoy with the noise from the other rooms and from the street below.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sampeamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Highly recommend this beautiful Hotel in Edgartown! Friendly staff made it even more special. They bent over backwards to help us throw (at NO extra cost!) an impromptu cocktail gathering on the spectacular front porch of the hotel, looking out at the harbor and lighthouse. They are on my list of places to re-visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skiwhenucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.6 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
5.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#8 of 10 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Property: Harbor View Hotel
Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. Only minutes from downtown Edgartown, that offers its' guests an array activities from biking, shopping, dining, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Edgartown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing