We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Harbor View Edgartown, MA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harbor View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Raynham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Harbor View Edgartown, MA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here with another couple on Labor Day weekend and definitely enjoyed our time there. Location is great. Walking distance to plenty of bars, restaraunts, shops, and the beach. The pool was nice with a day time bar that provided us with some great frothy concoctions that kept us cool and smiling. We spent each morning and late nights on the wicker chairs on the porch.

Room Tip: Book well in advance if you are going during the summer. I'm lazy so I liked having a first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ-Mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    250
    94
    69
    31
See reviews for
238
442
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

One night stay (quite enough thank you) at Harbor View Hotel & Resort
A resort as well as a hotel? no way

Upon arrival - nice people in front - very welcoming.

Young Boy checks us in-

ME: "Hi- we are here for one night - can you see if there is a comp. cottage upgrade available?"

HIM: "Ah yes - no problem. We have a wonderful two bedroom cottage available."

ME: "Super - so it's no problem with a comp. upgrade"?

HIM: "No problem- the charges for the upgrade will be about $130.00 more but that's no problem."

ME: "Ah- yeah that's a problem - are you not familiar with the term "comp" upgrade"?

HIM "Ha ha - no not really."

ME: "Let's just stick with my first resv."

Stay in the bldg. over looking the pool. "Great is the pool open? - Yes it is - BUT the Heater's Broken so it's cold"... BS - you mean you turned off the heater for the last weekend of the season so you save money. We were born at night... just not last night...

Get to the room. As a reminder (not) please put as many people in the surrounding rooms to mine - so that when they go the bathroom we want to hear them. When they get up @4:30am to shower - we want to be sure to hear them. When the maid starts cleaning the room @ 8:30 am we want to hear that too. By all means, please put us in the noisiest, smallest room you can come up with. Thank you very much! Guess what- they obliged on all counts. I needed to stand on the toilet to close the bathroom door!

2:45pm - Wife - we need to eat something Yes - Henry's looks nice... ME: URGH!
Go to Henry's - the lunch rush over - good maybe we can have a quick bite and be done soon to do shopping and stuff. NOT GONNA HAPPEN. Bartender (nice guy) has three patrons at the bar and one table in the dining area. Yep - he's in charge of the entire bar and restaurant - by himself. Hell of a Resort so far...

Let's just say - I win the prize by guessing how long and arduous this "quick bite" is gonna take. He's swamped and no one is there to help him. Can I have a BAC/CHEESE Burger to go when we leave for the kids. Sure - no problem. We finish our quick bite - and request the check and burger - Bartender - "Ah - that was a bacon cheeseburger right"? Now we have to wait for them to cook the burger that I ordered 40 minutes ago... Finally get the burger for the kids - Dad, there's no bacon on this.. Back down to get the Bacon please. Bartender swamped - ME: "Ah can I get the Bacon for that Bacon Cheseburger"? Bartender: "Oh yeah I forgot about that."

Fast forward.

8:00pm - Wife and kids want to sit on the porch and have tea and cake. Go to Henry's to order - packed - packed - packed. Staff - one very incompetent, rude, overwhelmed and clueless bartender.
I mean the absolute worse staff person I have ever encountered in a hotel - anywhere. I had to stiff him - that's how bad he was - and I never stiff any service person. Finally, I go to front desk and request that they put some staff people in there so that hotel guests can get a drink and desert!

Finally, the manager took over and took care of us. Nice man but here's a suggestion - STAFF YOUR HOTEL AND RESTAURANT ON COLUMBUS DAY WEEKEND!.

Would we go back to Harbor View - not on a dare... Have fun and don't say we didn't warn you...

Room Tip: Stay Elsewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewEnglandYankee506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Harbor View Resort and Hotel is very well located on the island and has one of the most beautiful views from the porch. The location is perfect for exploring the Vineyard. The atmosphere was wonderfull enhanced by the nice naval touches around evry corner. The concierge was most helpful in helping us enjoy the island. The restaurant is very nice but somewhat limited in choices. The rooms are nice and bathrooms are small but well kept. I like restaurant coffee so fresh brewed in the lobby in the morning and evening would have been nice to sit on the porch and enjoy the early morning and evening hours. The property is wonderful and has many different room choices including cottages. The beds were very nice and comfortable for a great night's rest.(very important). Everything was wonderfull including the service, accomadations and location. We enjoyed it very much and would definetly go back again. The prices are a little high but definetly worth the quality. The only thing I would recomend is that the Inn keepers consider a vanila or flower air freshener to give the public areas an even more warmer feeling. A very romantic place for couples close to lots of harbor areas and wonderful walks.
We absolutely loved it.

Room Tip: Check with the reservation desk for a full description of all the options. The staff makes great sug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AA-Hollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
267 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We spent several days at the Harbor View and loved every moment of our stay. We stayed on one of the cottages. We had lots of room, the suite was clean, and the decor was lovely and perfect for the location. The bed was very comfortable and the housekeepers did a wonderful job and helping with anything we needed.
Before we even arrived the concierge was very helpful, returning calls, answering questions, and helping us rent a car and gave some great advice.
The hotel is withing easy walking distance to town and the property itsefl is just lovely. The views from the restaurant and the large porch are just stunning.
We had dinner our first evening at their Waterstreet restaurant. It was wonderful! Will write a separate review for this.
We enjoyed breakfast at the Waterstreet and found the food to be better than some of the other places where we had breakfast while in town.
We also enjoyed cocktails in Henry's. We fell in love with the Harbor Breeze cocktail. Try it if you go.
If we have the privilege of returning to Edgartown, we would not consider staying anywhere else. Loved it!

Room Tip: We can't speak for the hotel, but ... the room we had in a cottage was just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelbee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterville
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Harbor View Resort and Hotel has one of the most beautiful views from the porch that I have ever seen. The location is perfect for exploring the Vineyard. The concierge was most helpful in helping us enjoy the island. The restaurant is very nice. The rooms and bathrooms are small but well kept. I like restaurant coffee so fresh brewed in the lobby in the morning and evening would have been nice to sit on the porch and enjoy the early morning and evening hours and somewhere to get a cold drink would have been nice. The soda machine was always locked.

Room Tip: Check rates for main building although room views were only a window view. The hotel is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My sister, mom and I took a quick girls trip to Boston and to Martha's Vineyard this past Saturday-Wednesday with a stay at Harbor View Hotel on Monday and Tuesday night. We loved the hotel, location, view and price point. With such a short stay, we spent most of one of the days driving around the island to see a little bit of everything, but we plan to come back again and there is no where else we would stay. Edgartown is beautiful and everything I thought Martha's Vineyard would be.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mayhew Building which was perfectly fine, but I think next time we would like to tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KylieandJasonBaxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
257 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is I believe the finest resort on the Vineyard. It is a combination of two former hotels, which occupied the prime location a short walk out of town, commanding excellent views. It's veranda is just picture perfect, an excellent place for a late afternoon drink. It does have a pool, though I doubt many will find themselves utilizing it. It feels more like a large Inn though, as opposed to what one thinks of when the hear "resort".

We booked a suite; the location of the room was, as facing the building, on the far right side, second floor. I wanted this particular room location because it had perhaps the finest view available from the hotel itself. You could lay in bed and see the lighthouse, the classic New England harbor town picture. It also had a balcony, and windows on the side as well as the front, extending the view.

Our room was spacious, nicely appointed, and tastefully decorated. But the views were the best feature, and there were plenty of large windows to capture them all. We did partake of their Sunday brunch. Appearently, this is quite the place to be, and rightfully so; the food selection was wonderful.

Of course, being on the Vineyard it is quite expensive. But, worth the treat, especially if one is looking for a quiet, romantic getaway.


The Sunday

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1dancing_fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.6 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
5.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#8 of 10 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Property: Harbor View Hotel
Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. Only minutes from downtown Edgartown, that offers its' guests an array activities from biking, shopping, dining, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Edgartown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing