We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbor View Martha's Vineyard 2012 Escape”
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbor View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Harbor View Martha's Vineyard 2012 Escape”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was our 24th year at this hotel and it keeps getting better and better. There is actually no need to leave the property which is directly on the ocean facing the Edgartown Lighthouse. With a private beach, boat dock, olympic size swimming pool, 3 restaurants (including poolside lunch and beverages), a staff that goes out of their way to be of assistance, and a just a short scenic walk to downtown Edgartown, this place has it all. One of our favorite things to do is just sitting on the wrap-around front porch and looking at the water and nearby Chappaqudidick Island.

The Vineyard is a special place and I would highly recommend staying at the Harbor View if you visit the island.

Room Tip: The cottages behind the main hotel give you more privacy and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    263
    96
    71
    31
See reviews for
243
461
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I and a friend booked the Harbor View at the very last minute for the 4th of July. Because of the timing of our booking and the holiday stay, the rate was very very pricey. However, I will say that it was worth it. Harbor View has a wonderful view of the Edgartown harbor and is walking distance to everything. Yes, its a 10 minute walk to town, but for a place like Edgartown, you'll walk everywhere and it was well worth it for the comfort of a hotel and not a small bed and breakfast.

Upon arrival at the hotel, the was an inconvenience with our room. We notified management and while they investigated they provided lunch and drinks and ultimately upgraded us to a room with the most magnificent view in the hotel - top floor and harbor view. We could easily watch the fireworks from the room's balcony.

Ultimately, I had a great stay. The hotel is no cost efficient stay though, so be ready to spend some change. But, when you're looking for a great room, pool and helpful staff, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadrunner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Completely colorblind ....always perfect ....Our second visit to Marthas Vinyard and Harbor View .... I have never been so relaxed ..exactly what I needed from my sometimes intense busy career and perfect for my family ... :-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationmom45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We just returned from four nights at the Harbor View and once again had a great time. The hotel is in great shape and the staff was very friendly.

I gave only four stars because it used to be easy to justify 300+ per night for the cheapest room due to the location and service at the facility. Unfortunately, now the cheapest rate is 400+ and the facility has not changed, you still get a relatively small room in the mayhem building with 2 double beds (not as big as queens). The more expensive suites have moved from a 750 price point to over 1200 per night. We love the hotel but simply can't justify the cost going forward.

Clearly, there are plenty of folks willing to pay the price, the hotel appeared to be very busy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anngeojes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We just got back from Martha's Vineyard. We stayed five nights at The Harbor View. The place was mostly great. Our room had an amazing view of the harbor and the staff was very friendly. Both restaurants were very good. Everyone is eager to help you and do whatever they can to make the vacation better. Our experience was much better then The Winnetu, where we stayed the previous year. Harborview is right smack in the middle of Edgartown and you can walk to most attractions.

I do have a few little complaints. The first was that the hotel offers some great activities but we only found out too late. The hotel ran a trip to menemsha for dinner and to watch the sunset on the beach. We found out an hour before the trip left from one of the hotels staff serving lemonade and cookies on the porch. At that point they had no room for us. Another night they had a cookie decorating activity for kids. We found out by the same staff member when we were leaving for dinner. Apparently there was an activities calendar the maid service was supposed to leave when they clean the room, but we never got one any night. This leads me to my next complaint. The maid service needs to be a little better. They always showed up at the worst time. It seemed that every day we came off the beach to get ready for dinner between 4 and 6 the maid would want to come then. When they did get in it seemed like they only made the bed. One day my 2 year old had a pile of sand come out of his shoe and that pile of sand stayed on the carpet all week. This is only a little thing but when your paying over $700 bucks a night you expect a little more detail

Room Tip: Go with a ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinceVsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The hotel was OK. Housekeeping was inconsistent. Didn't get wash cloths, soaps on a consistent basis, and only got turn down service when we called for it. When we asked for towels, we got new towels but they left the dirty towels. The pool was crowded with tons of kids throwing beach balls which made it hard to relax and swim. The beach was tiny and filled with seaweed. There were no lounge chairs or sand chairs at beach - only soccer chairs. Concierge set up our group of 6 on a private tour which was supposed to be 4 hours and went for 6 hours of torture. Porch was beautiful and comfortable to hang out on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl11803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

the staff was very pleasant and attentive. The staff at the pool was also great, it was a nice treat to have someone wait on you by the pool. Can't wait to go back well worth the money. Walking distance to all the shops in Edgartown. We didn't make it to the beach but hopefully we will next time. The grounds are well kept and the hotel is very clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonietta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.6 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
789 reviews
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
96 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#3 of 4 in Edgartown
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Property: Harbor View Hotel
Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. Only minutes from downtown Edgartown, that offers its' guests an array activities from biking, shopping, dining, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Edgartown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing