We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve 2011 - GREAT!”
Review of Harbor View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbor View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Spent the weekend at the Harborview - our favorite four-season hotel on the Vineyard. Booked before we knew tehy were having a New Years Eve event. Decided to participate and we were absolutely pleased with everything. The music, food, space, accents, fireworks were AMAZING. Great crowd. The hotel has always been a favorite as its a great size, very clean, and the staff is always available to help out. The restaurants are great places to hang out and grab food.

For those going to the Vineyard for the first time: VIEWS CANNOT BE BEAT.

Room Tip: Main building is a great experience, but entire resort is renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

780 - 786 of 998 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2011

The hotel was warm and welcoming and the rooms are well furnished and very nice. The staff is absolutely what makes this a must visit. My husband was on leave from six months of military service over seas....we chose the Harbor View to spend a week together after 6 months of being apart. My husband injured himself just prior to leaving for our trip. Upon our arrival his situation worsened and he was in serious pain which put us in the emergency room. After check in I happened to mention our situation to two woman at the concierges desk. Darlene and Lucinda went above and beyond to locate an orthopedic surgeon and arranged a appointment for us the very next day. They even sent cookies an milk to our room knowing that our vacation had really started out on an frustrating note.I felt like they genuinely cared about our misfortune. I would highly recommend this place and the kind, considerate people who work there. Many thanks and bravo on the excellent customer service! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Try not to reserve a room on the second floor above the restaurant and bar and lobby. These tend to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MissMic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

WE stayed at the Harbor View for Thanksgiving weekend. Our trip was eventful as the weather was wild as we made the crossing. feeling a bit harried, we checked in at close to 11PM. We walked through the door of our suite to find soothing music on the high quality radio and with the flick of a switch had a soothing fire going in the fireplace. The suite was impeccably clean and the furnishings top notch.WE could not find one fault. The grounds are well kept and the location fabulous. IT was an absolute pleasure as was the entire staff!!

Room Tip: Everything we saw and experienced was top notch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We'd been to the Vineyard before but this was our first trip to the Harbor View. It's a little ways out of downtown and we didn't stay there, but we will! Beautiful wrap-around deck gave us a great place to sit and enjoy the amazing view. Breakfast was lovely on the two mornings we ate there. Very cozy back bar called Henry's was the perfect place to start out the night. The bartender Steve gave us a great tour of scotches and was very entertaining. Every staff memeber was pleasant and the food was excellent. The is clearly THE BEST hotel on Martha's Vineyard - even if you don't stay there, you just be sure to check it out.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

For what should be a nice hotel that has had a lot of money spent on it I was surprised to have the room smell so musty/moldy. I had to ask to be moved into another room because of the smell. The second room was somewhat better, but they need to focus on cleaning and the smell of the rooms.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank wspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This wonderful hotel was well worth the trip from Australia!
We spent three nights here and enjoyed everything about the Harbor View Hotel.
The location is perfect with beautiful views from the verandah, especially at sunset.
It is a pleasant walk into Edgartown and close to public transport.
Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
We enjoyed a delicious meal in the restaurant.
Staff were friendly and helpful at all times.
Our stay was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caseyjones51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

A fantastic Hotel. Will be booking up again in the Fall 2012.. Thank you to all the Staff. We both felt a little spoilt if honest. x

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.6 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
824 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#9 of 10 in Edgartown
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Hotel

Address: 131 North Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range: $115 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbor View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbor View Hotel offers guests spectacular views of the harbor, Chappaquiddick Island, and Edgartown light house. The resort sits at the end of North Water Street in Edgartown where it has welcomed families and returning guests for more than 100 years. Only minutes from downtown Edgartown, that offers its' guests an array activities from biking, shopping, dining, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harbor View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel And Resort
Harbor View Hotel Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard
Harbor View Edgartown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing