We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Nearby Hotels
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard(Edgartown)(Great Value!)
$181
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor View Hotel(Edgartown)(Great Value!)
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winnetu Oceanside Resort(Edgartown)(Great Value!)
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pequot Hotel(Oak Bluffs)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summercamp Hotel(Oak Bluffs)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mansion House(Vineyard Haven)(Great Value!)
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Seaside Inn(Falmouth)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Harborside Inn(Edgartown)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Richard(Edgartown)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveler rating
217
74
22
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
217
74
22
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastmini quichesfourth flooryogurtfront porchmartha's vineyardfree bikesperfect locationrocking chairsgas fireplacewithin walking distanceoatsi highly recommend this hotelpeople watchbedroom suitetwo blocksoak bluffs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 327 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a recent four night stay at this hotel, and had no complaints. We arrived by car and were told to unload in front of the hotel and then given directions to the free parking lot. We spent most of our time cycling, and the bike rack in the courtyard was very convenient. Our room was on the small side, with no view to speak of, but a good value. The breakfast was basically continental style, although ham and cheese croissants were brought out periodically. Loved having the coffee and fruit available throughout the day. It was wonderful to be able to walk out the door and find all that Edgartown has to offer at our feet. We enjoyed taking our coffee and sitting on the upper level observation deck on the dock and watching the harbor come to life, including the Chappy ferry. The staff were helpful, though at times they seemed a little overwhelmed; always friendly though! The hallways were warm during the day, obviously not air-conditioned, with the doors/windows at the end opened. The roof top deck was pleasant, but it would have been nice to have it available longer hours in the morning and evening, when it wasn't so hot from the reflected sun from the surrounding roof. Simple, comfortable, and convenient sums it up.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mclem0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

We'll take simple, comfortable, and convenient! Thank you for your thoughtful review. We appreciate your business and hope to see you back at The Square!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

While our weekend in Martha's Vineyard was truly lovely and relaxing it was this hotel that made it so great. The staff is friendly and helpful (complementary bikes or beach chairs/towels anyone!!!). I am already missing my morning coffee & rocking chair on their charming front porch.The rooms are clean and the bathroom larger than expected with nice toiletries. And, let's not forget the location in the heart of Edgartown can't be beat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 656georgene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for your great review. We are so pleased that our hotel "made your stay" and that you enjoyed our location, service and amenities. We appreciate you taking the time to write the recommendation and only hope that we can impress you even more on your next visit to our Edgartown hotel so that we can earn that 5-star rating from you. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have been visiting MV for 20 years and this hotel is our favorite by a mile! The staff was exceptional! Everyone had helpful tips and advice, breakfast until 9:30 was perfect for our late sleepers. Wes at the front desk was a miracle worker - whether we needed an emergency blackberry charger or to clean our carsick toddler's car seat, he was there to offer help. The Menemsha suite was a bit cozy but well done and had a gorgeous balcony on which we enjoyed cocktails, people watching and even dinner one night with our fussy 2 year old. We moved to the older part of the hotel for our last night and found that room to be equally charming. The only downside for us was the lack of a pool but with the beautiful beaches nearby we hardly missed it. We hope to visit this lovely retreat again next summer! Maybe with our pup if we can grab the doggy friendly suite!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennyb1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We are honored to be your favorite Martha's Vineyard hotel "by a mile"! It was a pleasure meeting your needs and we are pleased that you enjoyed our great location and the lovely Menemsha suite. Cocktails on the balcony overlooking the harbor is a great way to spend a summer evening. Come back and enjoy that again next summer at The Square!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. It was typical vineyard style with a nice hotel feel (different for us as we usually stay in B&B's). Though a hotel, it did have a personalized feel largely due to the staff being so helpful.
I echo others reviews about Joanne. Her bubbly personality is infectious, and is in no way overbearing or pushy. She goes out of her way to help and offers assistance and opinions in the way that a friend would. We were pleased with her willingness to go the extra mile.
The other staff were accommodating as well.

No complaints on the room. It was well appointed and extremely clean. Just the right size.
The hotel itself was quiet , especially for being in a hub to of area.

The 4th floor porch was incredible. We spent our first night reading out on the porch on the rockers. It was lovely.
The only downsides is that the porch closes early, around 9pm. We often enjoy sitting out on porches when we return from dinner or a night out, so it was a little disappointing. However I understand there are guest rooms on either side of the porch so late night guests on the porch could create noise complaints.

The only other aspect that surprised us is that the parking lot is a good block away. Not the end of the world but just be advised that the parking for this hotel isn't right out back! Due to the location, it would be impossible to do so, but just wanted other travelers aware. The lot is a private lot though and is in a residential area , so we weren't too concerned about leaving our vehicle there.

Overall a very enjoyable three night stay! It was very affordable and just what we expected.

Thank you Vineyard Square.

Room Tip: We stayed in a partial water view. It was definitely partial! Looking out the window from the bed, you saw the building and power Lines next door. Not water. You had to go up to the window and actually look out and to the left to see the water. Just be advised. Not a deal breaker for us but we were expecting more of a partial view that wasn't so difficult to see!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellep4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your detailed and positive review. We appreciate it when our guests help to explain the location of our parking. Although explained in many places on our website and in our reservations emails -- many folks do not see it! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, the view from our 4th floor porch, and Joanne's bubbly personality. Please come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel was the perfect location for all the action in Edgartown. Being right in the heart of the town square it was easy to walk anywhere at anytime and check out all the surroundings of the little village and still it is also a few minutes walk to the nearest beach by the lighthouse. The continental breakfast was generous but chose to explore Dock St Cafe instead. Since we couldn't check into our room as early as we would've liked, they held our bags for us when we arrived as early as 10:30 am. The room was small but cozy and nice...after all our only option left (being 4th of July weekend & only 2 months notice) was the "cozy double" bedroom. I would definitely choose this accommodation again and was not disappointed we didn't get a charming little bed and breakfast instead:)

Room Tip: No pool but the beach is just near! Book this place around 4-6 months in advance if holidays are near
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akvenable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thanks for your kind review and for your advice to others about booking early for holidays. We do tend to fill up. We are pleased you enjoyed our cozy rooms, which are compact but lovely, and our great downtown location in the heart of town. Please visit Vineyard Square again the next time you travel to Martha's Vineyard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews