We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Martha's Vineyard Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Vineyard Square offers charming, year round island lodging. The hotel rooms are cozy and the luxury suites are decadent. There is a shared harbor view deck that is available for all hotel guests, while the luxury suites each have a private deck and a fireplace. They also have dog-friendly rooms for those traveling with four-legged companions. All the rooms are outfitted with amazingly comfortable beds. There is a fitness room on the first floor as well as bikes available onsite for outdoor adventures. The on-premise Sea Spa Salon and Chesca's restaurant are beautiful complements that add to the appeal. The hotel is located in downtown Edgartown, a quaint destination with outstanding restaurants and unique shops. If you prefer to leave your car behind, the island bus transportation system is convenient and affordable and can deliver you to a variety of other popular island destinations (Oak Bluffs, Vineyard Haven, West Tisbury, Chilmark, Menemsha, Aquinnah, beaches etc.) You can also take a small ferry to Chappaquiddick or explore a number of island walking trails. I have had stayed at Vineyard Square during all four seasons of the year - sometimes with friends, sometimes solo - and while I give the highest praise for the facility and its amenities, my loudest applause goes to the brilliant hospitality of the Vineyard Square team. They truly make the guest experience extra special each and every time.

Room Tip: Off-season, luxury suites are very affordable. Indulge!! They also offer special package deals t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and your very detailed overview of our amenities and location. We should hire you on for PR! I am so glad our team impressed with our service and that you've enjoyed your stay here in every season. We always say that Martha's Vineyard offers a great getaway year round, and Vineyard Square is "getaway central," you know! We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 325 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel covers the basics very well: Great location, comfy beds, friendly front desk staff, good restaurant, and a reasonable continental breakfast. The shared porch is a nice addition as well, with views over the rooftops to the harbor. Our suite was spacious, quiet, and tastefully decorated.

The finer details are hit and miss. The lobby is beautiful, but the hallways reminded me of my college dorm (think exposed, painted pipes for the sprinkler system). The decor is tasteful, as I mentioned, but the paint job in our room was sloppy in places and some of the other finish details (trim, etc) looked rushed. Our rooms were large, but the bathroom sink was in the bedroom. None of these are complaints necessarily--this is an old hotel that was recently renovated, and a perfect renovation is tricky without completely gutting the place--just fair warning to have reasonable expectations

My one actual complaint? The fireplace didn't work. I mentioned this to the front desk but nothing was done.

All in all I would stay again, though perhaps I'd shop a bit around first.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

I am glad you mostly enjoyed your stay and apologize that the fireplace issue was not addressed properly. I hope you do choose to stay with us again and identify yourself when you arrive. I am glad you found our location convenient and our staff friendly. We pride ourselves on our team! As you mentioned, the hotel is quite old and we've taken great care to upgrade the property while also keeping it affordable - especially for the heart of Edgartown. We look forward to having a second chance to impress you even more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hubby and I visited on the offseason and we loved it- I usually book everything online but I had some questions since this was the offseason so I called the property directly- Wes was wonderful- giving us tips and perks for our visit. Check in was a breeze, and the room was huge, it has a separate living room (with a fireplace) and bedroom with small kitchenette with a toaster, sink, fridge and microwave. Very convenient. The bed was amazing- very comfortable, we did not want to leave.
In terms of activities I can't really comment since a lot of things were still closed but it seems like this is where you want to be in the summer- enough small stores and restaurants without being a loud scene. There was a good continental breakfast available every morning and parking was never an issue (might be an issue in the summer). The only issue was the noise- would probably be better if they had those white noise machines- we could hear the families next door...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCastle83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad Wes took care of you and that you enjoyed our luxury suites. We only wish we could have impressed you more! Glad to hear you loved the comfy bed and enjoyed the room to spread out. As you surmised, Edgartown is a great place to be in the summer -- very vibrant. We hope you come back and visit us again when all the stores and restaurants are all open. All repeat visitors get a 10% discount! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My family has stayed twice at the Vineyard Square Hotel and Suites in Edgartown. Both during the off season (February). And both times were outstanding experiences. The suites are beautiful! The bed is ridiculously comfortable. The private patio is an awesome bonus. The hotel staff is amazing and treated my daughter like family. We are Massachusetts residents who can only afford to visit the island in the winter. Vineyard Square prices are so affordable in the winter that we feel like first class travelers staying at 5 star accomodations. Thank you Vineyard Square. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments and for posting a review. We truly enjoyed your visit and loved all the drawings your daughter made for us! We are so glad we can be your "go to" winter getaway. The Square is very affordable in the quiet season (especially our luxury suites) and it is always a pleasure to cater to Massachusetts folks who come and explore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Loved it!

We booked a stay at the Vineyard Square Hotel on Martha's Vineyard this past October through Jetsetter.com. It was a great deal (although I learned later the deal wasn't exclusive to Jetsetter - we could have gotten the same price if we had booked directly through the hotel). We went with 2 other couples (6 people in total) for a weekend. None of us had been before. The hotel was great! It was located right in Downtown Edgartown with shops/restaurants all within walking distance. The hotel staff was FABULOUS (especially Joanne!). They gave us tons of recommendations (all of which were great!) and got us where we needed to go by handling the taxis/making reservations etc. The rooms were quaint (they did have an option for a smaller room - which I think would be tight). They have a great deck on the top floor which was perfect for cocktails and watching the sun set. Also they offer a free breakfast in the morning - nothing crazy, cereal, pastries, bagels etc., but who doesn't love free? Since we went in the fall I can't comment on the proximity to the beaches.

All in all we had a great time & can't wait to go back. We highly recommend the Vineyard Square Hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifercaitlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

So glad the six of you had a great time at the Square. Our hotel is a great location for groups of friends to gather and enjoy downtown Edgartown and all Martha's Vineyard has to offer. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts on that and your experience with others. We take great pride in being "getaway central" and spearheading all of our guests' reservations and other vacation needs. Please come back and join us again in the future. We'll take care of all of the details again -- so you can simply relax!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We didn't know what to expect when we decided to visit Martha's Vineyard in the depths of winter. Yes, it was cold...and occasionally damp.... But staying at the Vineyards Square meant that the odd inclement day didn't matter one bit. Our room - a suite - was beautifully furnished...lots of those thoughtful little touches that transforms a hotel room from the run of the mill into a place where you look forward to whiling away a few hours. Given the weather, the fireplace in the room helped too! Ad although sub zero temperatures did not allow us to take full advantage of the deck, it did afford a fabulous view of the harbour.

Joanne and her staff's desire to make your holiday special oesn't stop with the rooms... Tea and coffee is available throughout the day in a comfy sitting area . Cakes and muffins magically appear to help fule your exploration of the island. And a continental breakfast was left for guests to enjoy at their leisure.

In short, a fabulous hotel in a fabulous location!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWanderer35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for choosing to spend your holiday with us. We are so glad you discovered the magic of The Vineyard in the "quiet season." It is so restful and peaceful here in the winter - especially when you can enjoy the comfort of one of our luxury suites. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and service and we hope that we can welcome you back to "getaway central" in the future. The island is a special place all year long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Can't recommend this hotel enough! My husband and 2 children spent 2 nights here at the beginning of November. We booked on the recommendation of the many excellent Trip Advisor reviews...and they were not wrong!
We stayed following Hurricane Sandy. We'd actually booked the trip a month or so beforehand, long before the storm hit but were we glad we did! Living in NJ we had no power at home so were very happy to be able to escape to Martha's Vineyard - and this hotel was perfect for us!!!
Joanne, Wes and the staff were fantastic. Extremely welcoming - made us feel very at home.
Room was lovely - tastefully decorated, warm and cosy. Breakfast in the mornings was a lovely touch and set us up nicely for our travels round the Island.
Location is fab! Right in the center of Edgarstown, within walking distance of everything (good restaurants, shops, light house etc).
The hotel has a restaurant attached to it - Chesca's - which has just closed (end of season) but looked very nice.
There is also a beauty salon and spa (again within the hotel) which looked great but I didn't get to use - I will next time!
In the evening we ate at The Newes from America (just across the street from hotel) and The Wharf. Both excellent pubs - we had great meals and service.
Really loved this hotel and hope to return next year. Thanks again to Joanne and Wes - really appreciated you looking after us!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollytree63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VineyardSquare, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Wow! We very much appreciate your enthusiastic review and we are glad we could be your "getaway central" from the effects of Hurricane Sandy. Wes and I and the entire staff are so happy you found our service welcoming and enjoyed the attractions of lovely Edgartown just beyond our front door. We are also big fans of "The Newes" and The Wharf and hope you do make it back to visit in season when Chesca's is open. The Snowball desert is truly to die for!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
998 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
824 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#2 of 10 in Edgartown
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#9 of 10 in Edgartown
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites

Address: 38 N Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8145 (Formerly Colonial Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range: $180 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Edgartown harbor and the historic waterfront district, this Martha’s Vineyard hotel is just steps from world class shopping and dining in downtown Edgartown. Guests gather on the welcoming porch and front garden square, share island experiences, and chat with the knowledgeable staff. Come visit and discover a mixture of "beach modern" style and warmth; an unexpected blend of history, popular art, spa services, harbor views and exceptional, upscale cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Square Hotel Edgartown
Vineyard Square Hotel And Suites
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing