We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Clean!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super Clean!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2009

We stayed on a Saturday for one night. The front desk lady was nice and the room was super clean and very quiet. We paid $103.97 AAA rate. It was so worth it!! Some nice touches in the hotel...curtains, etc. and breakfast was a complimentary continental breakfast. Would stay again :)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CtTraveler12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionmv, General Manager at Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard, responded to this review, June 9, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I will be sharing your comments with our staff. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Vineyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    61
    15
    7
    12
See reviews for
40
42
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gärdetsweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2009

This was my last hotel in the States after a 5 state round trip,a real relaxing place with wonderful scenery.Loved everything about the place felt more europe than the states. Would recommend for romantic weekend break.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tvtommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionmv, General Manager at Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard, responded to this review, June 9, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I will be sharing your comments with our staff. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Vineyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2008

I have no complaints about the hotel. Overall it was as I expected. My disappointment is that I left an outfit in the room (I was only there for one night). Upon realizing my mistake a few hours later, I called the hotel. I was told nothing had been turned in. I tried again a few days later and still nothing. The only conclusion is that the staff kept my clothing. Can't trust them, so I won't stay there again.

  • Disliked — Dishonest
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LFB_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2008

There were 4 couples in our party and we checked in on September 19 2008 staying for 3 nights. We arrived a couple of hours early and were able to check in immediately which was great! The hotel is right next to the Stop&Shop grocery store but we went right by it the first time because the sign is so small.
There is plenty of parking and the hotel is a 2 minute ride or a 10 minute walk to Edgartown.
We had rooms on the second floor which were very nice & clean with cathedral ceilings. We had 2 queen beds, a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron, and a safe which was handy. The bathroom was huge and very clean too.
The beds were extremely comfortable, the best I've slept on, while traveling, in a long time.
The hotel has a very nice common area which has some chairs, sofa, computer, TV, and tables which we used for a gathering room. We were there some nights until after 10pm but were never bothered by the staff and we were quite loud sometimes.
Continental breakfast is served in the morning in this room which consisted of juice, coffee, cereal, muffins, and a few donuts.
All the staff were very nice and we all enjoyed our stay here very much.

  • Liked — Very comfortable beds.
  • Disliked — Not close to any water.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yawl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medfield, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

I stayed at the Clarion Carriage House Inn last weekend and was very happily surprised by the room. The reason I was surprised is that the main reason I ended up staying there was that it was the only room I could find in Edgartown for that weekend. I am lucky that it worked out this way! I would definitely stay there again. The room was HUGE! I was in a room on the second floor and the vaulted ceilings made the room seem even more spacious. The hotel is walking distance to the main area of Edgartown and also has a bus stop and grocery store next door. They serve breakfast each morning which was also a nice plus. I was very pleased with my experience there.

  • Liked — size of room, location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank moxie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2008

We stayed there for the Memorial weekend of 2008. It was great: probably the cheapest option in Edgartown, outside of a couple of run-down B&Bs, and nothing to complain about. The room was clean, well appointed, sunny, the staff super nice, the location good (less than a 10 min walk from downtown). It doesn't have the charm of a real B&B, but we were not willing to pay a $100+ premium (per night) to stay in a charming B&B. I would totally stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tgs50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2008

My son and I stayed here for 3 nights in April of 2008 on the second last leg of our first ever 3 week, overseas holiday before moving on to NYC. We loved this place.

The staff were friendly, and the continental breakfast was more than enough. Our room had free internet access, TV, fridge and a microwave oven. The 2 double beds were huge and very comfortable. The bathroom appeared to have been recently renovated and was very functional and clean. The Clarion Inn, although close to the main road to Edgartown, was very quiet.. However, we were here in the off-peak season so who knows how it would be then?

After spending our days seeing the beautiful sights of Martha's Vineyard, it was a pleasure to come back to our room and relax. There is a supermarket across the parking lot and Edgartown is an easy 10 minute walk down the main street.

We had a wonderful holiday and I have some memories that will stay with me forever after being on MV. If I am ever lucky enough to return here one day, I will be sure to try and stay at the Clarion again.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mebollocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionmv, General Manager at Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard, responded to this review, June 9, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I will be sharing your comments with our staff. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Vineyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
4.8 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#8 of 10 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard

Property: Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Address: 227 Upper Main St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-5927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern inn in a quaint old whaling port, the Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard offers 34 LARGE modern rooms, each recently refurbished and appointed with full bath, king- or queen-size beds, cable TV with HBO, radio, telephone, microwave, refrigerator and air conditioning. Including Free: parking, continental breakfast, business center and faxes, high speed internet access wireless. On-site restaurant: The Grille on Main. Open year round. Located in Edgartown - the most elegant of the Vineyards six picturesque towns. As a guest of the Clarion Martha's Vineyard, you are uniquely positioned to enjoy all of Martha's Vineyard. Situated in Edgartown's business district, we are within walking distance of Edgartown's historic village center. From June to September the VTA makes regular stops in front of the hotel and then trundles onward toward the village and famed South Beach. A bike path connects us to the village, beaches, and the other island towns. In addition, our front desk can assist you with other island activities such as golf, fishing, kayaking, canoeing, bird watching, or where to see the perfect Vineyard Sunset. We look forward to making your trip to Martha's Vineyard an enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Carriage House Hotel Edgartown
Clarion Edgartown
Edgartown Clarion
Clarion Carriage Hotel
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard Edgartown, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing