We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“decent”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place is decent. I stayed one night with my boyfriend over labor day weekend. Nothing special here. The bed and pillows were comfy although the white sheet did have a stain on it which was kind of gross. The bathroom was clean. The breakfast was OK (I have seen worse at B&B and have seen better at chains): english muffins, cereal, and per-packaged pastries, muffins and donuts. Coffee, tea, OJ and milk. This place is about half a mile to the shops, restaurants and bars. We walked, it was not bad. Directions were easy just turn left and head straight down the road. I wish the streets had more lighting though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prancer95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    61
    16
    7
    13
See reviews for
43
42
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
175 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I booked two nights on the Vineyard and this was the first time that I had ever stayed in an "establishment" on the island, versus staying at my aunt's. It was a perfectly fine room, with two large queen size beds, and all of the amenities. I liked that it was within a ten minute walk of the town of Edgartown, and a lovely six mile walk to Oak Bluffs, with a bus service one could catch literally outside the hotel. My problem is that in the middle of August, the cost was pretty outrageous, considering that the same room could be found for a third of the cost in other locations. I was disappointed in the breakfast, which was the usual cardboard-bland tasting fare. The front desk staff were very attentive and kind, and I would say that it was them that ultimately made the stay so pleasant. We slept well and enjoyed our stay but I doubt i'd ever go back.

Room Tip: I'm guessing that if you select a room farther away from the road, it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldtravelertrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Fairfield, ct
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Right outside Edgartown. Right next door to Stop & Shop which is convenient but maybe a bit too close. Good for families. No pool and a bit of a drive/ride to the beach. Service at the desk was very helpful

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CT_MikeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just returned from a short-notice trip to Edgartown, and got last-minute reservations at the Clarion Inn. It's really a basic hotel, but it's got the location going for it. We arrived by bike, and were happy to see that the bike trail goes directly to the location, making it ideal for our daily adventures on the road.

Good: well located for accessing all parts of the island by bike (and I guess by car!), easy walk into the center of town, employees were helpful and friendly, coffee available all day, free newspapers and wireless internet, nice sized room, access to the basement to store our bikes, free breakfast.

not so good: that free breakfast (not too into the sweets for breakfast thing, resorted to cereal), lack of outdoor areas for any kind of activity other than parking, friendly employees weren't the most efficient and knowledgeable though they tried, the crazy traffic on Main Street.

Room Tip: If you have a bike (or feel like a walk), we found the Bend in the Road beach, about a mile away on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mclem0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
175 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Wecare currently staying here for a week. The location is great, it's right off the main road, right next door to a stop and shop supermarket and walking distance to town. The rate includes parking and the staff is very helpful with recommendations on everything. The hotel is also attached to an amazing restaurant called The Grill which has a great selection of well prepared food. Overall the hotel is great but just a quick note to those that need a elevator, there isn't one. It's only 2 floors the stairs are wide and there are Dolly's, you just have to get your stuff up about 12 very wide stairs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marli0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This was our first trip to Martha's Vineyard and stayed at the Clarion Inn because of a recommendation. I must say it was perfect for our first time on the island. We took the ferry into Oak Bluffs and took a quick taxi ride to the Inn. I wish we had taken the bus since it would have been cheaper and is located on the bus route. The Clarion Inn is located between downtown Edgartown and Oak Bluffs. It is a perfect location. It is about a 10 minute walk to downtown Edgartown. We rented bikes and rode to State Beach and South Beach which were beautiful rides! The hotel itself is very nice. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and a complimentary continental breakfast is provided in the morning. My only complaint was the air conditioning which I found to be very noisy. There is also a restaurant on the premises although not owned by Clarion and a lounge. Great place for a night cap. Supermarket next door allows for a quick grocery stop if needed. Overall a very nice place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daisy304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Clarion is in a perfect location in Edgartown (near "stop & shop", bus stop, car rental); it's a pleaseant hotel, not expensive and well organized. Large rooms equipped with mircrowave oven and kettle for tea or coffe. Free breakfast available (good!).

I hope I'll be back there once again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 348FrancescaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
5.9 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
789 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
937 reviews
4.8 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
591 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#3 of 4 in Edgartown
126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard

Property: Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Address: 227 Upper Main St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-5927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern inn in a quaint old whaling port, the Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard offers 34 LARGE modern rooms, each recently refurbished and appointed with full bath, king- or queen-size beds, cable TV with HBO, radio, telephone, microwave, refrigerator and air conditioning. Including Free: parking, continental breakfast, business center and faxes, high speed internet access wireless. On-site restaurant: The Grille on Main. Open year round. Located in Edgartown - the most elegant of the Vineyards six picturesque towns. As a guest of the Clarion Martha's Vineyard, you are uniquely positioned to enjoy all of Martha's Vineyard. Situated in Edgartown's business district, we are within walking distance of Edgartown's historic village center. From June to September the VTA makes regular stops in front of the hotel and then trundles onward toward the village and famed South Beach. A bike path connects us to the village, beaches, and the other island towns. In addition, our front desk can assist you with other island activities such as golf, fishing, kayaking, canoeing, bird watching, or where to see the perfect Vineyard Sunset. We look forward to making your trip to Martha's Vineyard an enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Carriage House Hotel Edgartown
Clarion Edgartown
Edgartown Clarion
Clarion Carriage Hotel
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard Edgartown, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing