We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner but...”

Detente Restaurant and Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Detente Restaurant and Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 69 Restaurants in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great dinner but...”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The place looks great, very chic and the outside terrace was very inviting. Unfortunately it was a bit chilly so we went inside. The top floor was a bit cold, modern and formal but the setting was nice and romantic. The wine list was interesting and I was happy to find a "Menetou Salon" one of my favorite Sauvignon. The food was pretty good even if my girlfriend pistachio crusted flounder was really under seasoned. I actually wondered if they forgot to seasoned the fish! The cheese plate was a real disappointment despite the great wine recommendation by the friendly waitress. Overall I would say that the food is pretty good but a little pretentious. Maybe too fancy so they can justify to charge u more... Sometimes less it more!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DDJ-1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    43
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chilmark, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Boring”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We read the reviews and were expecting really good food and we were disappointed. The fish was not local, how silly of them, and tasted of butter but no good fish taste. I always like a restaurant that cooks better than I do, but I have to say that my friends and I cook much tastier fish.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jarlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Preston, Connecticut, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great dining in Edgartown”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have been going to Detente for years as it has always been on our short list of favorite restaurants on Martha's Vineyard The food has always been fresh, interestingly prepared, with excellent presentation.They have consistently provided a terrific dining experience. I especially love the tuna tartar and the sea scallops. My only complaint in the past was that the dining room was fairly small. That all changed this past visit when our server showed us to our table which was upstairs in a beautiful, spacious room with high ceilings. I never realized that there was an upstairs dining room before. We had always been seated on the main floor. The upstairs is far and away a much nicer room and we will always request it in the future. This restaurant is a little off the beaten path and a bit hard to find if you don't know Edgartown but well worth the trouble!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Trying a bit too hard and missing the basics”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went to Détente for dinner last night and the evening was uneven at best and disappointing in several ways. The service was crisp and attentive however was a bit assertive. Taking it down a notch might provide for a more relaxed atmosphere.

For appetizers we had the tuna tartare and the peach arugula salad. Starting on a high note, the tuna tartare was excellent and overall a very enjoyable beginning. The peaches in the peach salad were prepared wonderfully however the cheese that was chosen to cover salad had a sour note to it that made the salad distracting. While more mundane, a blue cheese would have complemented the pepperiness of the arugula and the sweetness of the peaches much better. The overall impression of the salad is that it was 'odd'.

For our main courses we chose the steak and the scallops and ordered the fried cauliflower and the beet with faro sides. The steak was chewy and tough. We overheard the table next to us complain that their steak wasn't tender and the answer was the grass fed cows were very lean. That took care of us saying anything about the steak, and left us with the choice of unhealthy or un-appetizing. Don't think so. The scallops were cooked very well however were placed on stewed apples, which made no sense. The barley side dish had so much bacon / ham infusion on it that the entire dish was a cacophony of different flavors that didn’t match in any way.

The beet side dish was effectively inedible. We took one bite and looked at each other in disbelief. The fried cauliflower was promising however the cloyingly sweet maple syrup and peanut combination also didn't work.

Sometimes instead of trying very hard to do something inventive, getting a simple well prepared dish hits the mark.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The menu looked good, but didn't taste as god as it looked. The service was great and thy were very accommodating with our 10 and 13 year old children, but the food was just ok. We were expecting it to be great given other reviews.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fgrumet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Detente Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Detente Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing