We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Newes - a nice place for a pub experience”

Newes From America Pub
Ranked #4 of 66 Restaurants in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner
new jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Newes - a nice place for a pub experience”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

My family and I had lunch at the Newes after we checked into our hotel. We were looking for a quick bite to eat. The Newes dates back to the mid-1700's so it's interesting to get a feel for what pubs looked like back then. It is a bit dark inside but you also have an option to sit outdoors. My son had the clam chowder there and he said it was the best he has ever had! I'm had the fish and chips. They brew their own beer so I definitely recommend trying it. Again, it adds to the experience. We had good service & it was a child friendly place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kfamilyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    184
    47
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Decent value for the island”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

All restaurants in town are expensive but this seemed a bit more reasonable. We had the crake cake sandwich and pulled pork and both were very good. We were able to sit outdoors and it was lovely.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank kwall1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
“Family friendly”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The restaurant accommodated our large group of 13 including kids. Large portions, good service, did not rush us. A nice place to break for lunch right in the middle of downtown.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank sf27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average food, below average service”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

There are many delicious and fabulous places on Martha's Vineyard. This is not one of them. The place is dark, the service (every single time) is terrible, and the food is nothing special. This is a place you go to because every other place in Edgartown is full. We were a party of six (four adults, and two kids), and were packed into a four person table. Cozy! On the bright side, we got seated right away!

My sister swears by the clam chowder, but I like to believe that a head injury as a child as impacted her taste buds.

Lobster roll is fine. Fish and chips are okay. Just totally average. If that's what you're looking for, go for it.

The waiter we had was a jerk. My mother has a foreign accent and he said to her, "I can't understand anything you're saying." Then turned to my sister and said, "What did she say?" He then proceeded to ignore my mother for the rest of the meal. We had everything from exasperated sighs, to eye rolls, to being completely ignored. Well done, sir. He looked like he'd rather have been slamming his hand in the door than serving any of the tables. Even the table next to us commented on how terrible the service was.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bean_Burrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, but we were forgotten”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

A good stop for a more casual meal. This time, however, the waitress forgot us over in the corner. Appetizers were free.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank terroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newes From America Pub also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Newes From America Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing