We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Bar”

Newes From America Pub
Ranked #5 of 66 Restaurants in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
new jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun Bar”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Good bartender. Drank different micro brewery drafts. Directed us to local brewery in oaks bluff and was right on. Great time

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MiaandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    184
    47
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Newes is Good”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We always enjoy our meals when we eat at the Newes. Very good food. Usually crowded but worth the wait.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolute rubbish - the worst service in the US”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We are staying in the Kelley House Hotel which is absolutely wonderful, old world and quaint. We were directed to the Newes from America as part of the hotel.
Miserable server who lost the order ticket then served other parties before he realised. Then came to our table to apologise for the delay - food will be with you soon - then asked "by the way what did you order?"
Wine came - no ice bucket arrived as promised until we asked again.
Starters came with no spoons - my son had to go and get them. Then as we were only part way through the soup (which was good) the main meals turned up. The waitress apologised for the early arrival of the main meal and tried to serve - we said we weren't ready. Eventually the food came back part cold and crispy on top - obviously under a warmer.
I have left many unwarranted tips in the USA but this was rubbish and really deserved nothing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ajhcollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The burgers, steak bomb, calamari and the chicken wings are delicious. The ambience feels like you are back In colonial times. They also have extremely friendly and helpful staff. Every time we are in Edgartown we make sure to eat here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
199 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Burgers and Authentic Colonial Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Loved the burgers here and the truly antique pub was filled with good old energy. The beer flight was ample and well-served.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chele32789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newes From America Pub also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
 

Been to Newes From America Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing