We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GIve it a break... it is a diner after all.”

Dock Street Coffee Shop
Ranked #3 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Edgartown
Restaurant details
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“GIve it a break... it is a diner after all.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

SIt at the counter and chat with your neighbor. You never know who you are sitting next to. The food is quick, grill food. If you are a very healthy eater, there is not much to chose from. But if you want a standard American breakfast, fast and cheap, then here is the place. Last week I ran in at 6:30 am and order two egg sandwiches for two hungry fisherman,. Both loved them and I walked out with change from my $10.00.

Visited July 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    23
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dock you Rock!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We love to eat breakfast here. So yummy and fun to watch the chef do his thing. Just good old fashioned yummy breakfast!

Visited June 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

small, diner-esque breakfast place, service is immediate, food is great and reasonably priced; only issue it can be a bit hot. Worth it!

Visited July 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Amazing what can be done in a tiny space down by the docks”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

During our week on the vineyard we ate out at numerous restaurants. Even when we tried to go "casual" it seemed the selections were still more upscale than what we call casual. Dock Street Coffee Shop was a breath of fresh air, it was a true diner. Located right by the docks in downtown Edgartown, this diner had no tables, just a long counter that seats 16-18 people total where you sit and watch the incredibly hard working staff of 5 (includes a dishwasher) make your food right in front of you. We had yummy french toast with bacon and homefries, a cheese omlette with toast, eggs with corn beef hash and toast, 1 OJ, 2 coffee and our tab was $27 plus tip. If we had found this place earlier in our week we would have gone there again. A real find.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Classic”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Everything about Dock Street is the classic diner. It is a small counter that seats about 20 so either get there early, be prepared to wait, or get your order to go. The food is great, the price is reasonable. service is good- the staff is friendly or other times you get the "happy waitress", but seriously it only adds to the charm. This place is so charming, right down to the free book corner. Love this place and it is one of the only places we get breakfast on the island.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dock Street Coffee Shop also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing