We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grilled Lobster and Prime Rib AWESOME AWESOME!”
Review of Square Rigger

Square Rigger
Ranked #25 of 66 Restaurants in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
159 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Grilled Lobster and Prime Rib AWESOME AWESOME!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had Grilled Lobster ($36) and Prime Rib ($33). The Lobster was AMAZING! Taste was perfect. The Prime Rib was out of this world. We ordered it Medium and it was perfect! Also try the Caesar Dressing on the salad it really is good. We ended our fabulous meals with Apple Cranberry Crisp (all desserts except for key lime are made here) and it was a perfect ending to a perfect meal. I read other reviews and we didn't order any drinks we just stayed with water since I would rather spend money on food then soft drinks. Hubby did have a Beer thou which was ($4.50). We will be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foundmytreasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    24
    24
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Our Best Meal”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This restaurant is great! First of all, our waitress was very funny, nice, and efficient. The food was outstanding, with great offerings for seafood lovers and non-seafood eaters alike. The atmosphere isn't anything special, but its food certainly makes up for that! I highly recommend going to this restaurant, you won't regret it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orlandov7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
119 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great prime rib”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Boy has this place changed since my last visit....30 years ago. It's a nice nautical-themed tavern with a terrific menu and very reasonable prices. The service was superb and the prime rib was excellent. Fair warning: save room for dessert, they are awesome.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DGraupner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The Best Baked Stuffed Lobster”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Went to Marthas Vineyard as part of my vacation last week and inquired as to wether the Square Rigger was a good place to eat and was told yes that it was. Went for dinner and ordered the baked stuffed lobster for my dinner. It was not only a good sized lobster but it was also filled with chunks of lobster and then lightly covered with the breadcrumb topping. It was incredibly good. It was not overcooked and was very reasonably priced for the amount you get. The other dinners at the table were enjoyed as much.
It should also be noted that our waitress ( a very personable blond girl whose name I forget) and the rest of the staff were welcoming and wonderful and made it a very enjoyable dinner and I will definately go back next time im on the Vineyard.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dexter590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Vineyard dining, delicious classic seafood.”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Classic Cape seafood in a classic Cape dining room, if you want "real" New England, this is it. Island residents eat here year round. Lobster selections are excellent. Very accommodating with kids. Great place to take the family for a "nice" dinner without the tourist scene.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMcU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square Rigger also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Square Rigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing