We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Disappointment”

Chesca's Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 69 Restaurants in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband had been here before and thought it was okay, and I wanted pasta, so we decided to go to Chesca's. We ordered drinks and sat on the veranda while we waited for our table. After getting seated and served delicious bread, it went downhill from there. We were enjoying our appetizer but then had to wait at least 30-40 minutes after we were finished with our appetizer to get our entrees. We would have been better off not waiting. I ordered penne with marinara sauce. It was inedible. The marinara sauce was sour. The penne was mushy. I also ordered a side of meatballs, but since the same horrible sauce was covering it, I couldn't eat it. My husband ordered the tortellini and he ate it, but it was way overpriced at $28 and maybe would have been worth it if it was on an all you eat buffet for $8.95. We had the busboy take away my uneaten dish and when the waitress came over with dessert menus I told her that the food was horrible. At least she took the price of the penne (a ridiculous $21) off the bill. There are much better restaurants on Martha's Vineyard.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    71
    26
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good food, great scene”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We went early, knowing that this place got busy and didn't take reservations. We sat in the bar area and ordered a few apps and a bottle of wine. We shared a salad, a crab cake (there are two in the app dish), and the lobster bisque. All three dishes were delicious. We enjoyed people watching in this area. It was a very busy because people who were waiting ordered drinks. We really liked the front porch of this restaurant and came back another night just for a drink. The staff was great and helpful! It's worth the wait!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Children not Welcome”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We did not have a reservation and put our name down for a table. After waiting a half hour we were told they could not accommodate us with our children. They do not have high chairs or boosters and would not allow us to bring the stroller into the restaurant.
Unfortunate, this used to be our favorite restaurant!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMommyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Above Average”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Large dining room with nice ambiance. Food quality good. Conveniently located in hotel. Prices are typical for Matha Vineyard

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LAL42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Another Perfect meal at Chesca's”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We've been frequenting this restaurant since we started vacationing on Martha's Vineyard many years ago, and, as always, the service was perfect and everything we ordered was nothing short of incredible. Honestly! We were fortunate enough to get the same server that has been there almost 20 years and her wonderful smile and friendly disposition was just the beginning of this most memorable dinner. I do wish they took reservations because even though we got their 15 minutes before they opened (and before anyone else arrived), there were plenty of others that arrived just as they were unlocking the doors and pushed their way into the restaurant first. I guess there's no accounting for rudeness.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank YoConn004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chesca's Restaurant also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Chesca's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing