We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECTLY COOKED LOBSTER”
Review of l'etoile

l'etoile
Reserve with OpenTable
l'etoile is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 66 Restaurants in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: American, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
147 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“PERFECTLY COOKED LOBSTER”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have eaten here on several occasions . The lobster étouffée
Is always perfectly cooked. It is moist , tender, pre-cracked, mildly
spiced, and memorable. The service is excellent. We recommend
eating in the garden which cooler and very romantic. All of the fish
Is fresh and well prepared.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    70
    15
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Special night out”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Beautiful tent in the garden that you eat in and delicious high class food. Not cheap, definitely somewhere to go for a special night out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Etta007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Dinner But Nothing Spectacular”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We went here for our anniversary dinner and had a very nice meal in Edgartown. Had a very good sommelier who was able to perfectly match a bottle for our meal. The food was good but nothing that would make this a go to place. Nice to try once and had to make our reservation a couple of weeks in advance, especially for the busy 4th weekend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TriathlonGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
240 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Edgartown”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a wonderful restaurant which is the reason that we return every summer. My husband and I had dinner here on Friday night and everything was great. Our server was pleasant, efficient, and attentive. And, the food was excellent. My husband had the duck special and said it may have been the best duck that he has ever eaten. And, that says a lot because he orders it often. I started with the duck foie gras and it was superb. For an entree, I had the lobster (after all it is Edgartown) and it was perfectly prepared. And, the ambience is lovely.

However, this is not a restaurant for young children. Take them to the Atlantic or Alchemy instead.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jscottjoplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Had heard this was the best on the island but that simply isn't the case.
Very disappointed as food was mediocre at best and service was pretty terrible.
One bathroom for the entire restaurant is a bit crazy as well.
There are definitely better options on the island.

Helpful?
1 Thank rolltide7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed l'etoile also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
West Tisbury, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to l'etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing