We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So worth the money”
Review of l'etoile

l'etoile
Reserve with OpenTable
l'etoile is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 67 Restaurants in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: American, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“So worth the money”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Fine dining at its best. You will pay a lot of money but the food delivers on every level. I look forward to coming back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    70
    16
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best places on Martha's Vineyard”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We decided to make L'Etoile our 'splurge' dinner while on Martha's Vineyard and boy it did not disappoint! Between my wife and I we split a few of the appetizers (the foie gras and the oysters were amazing!) and each had an entree (she had the lobster and I had the lamb). All around one of the better meals we've had and definitely the best of the trip. The service was top notch. Our waitress was well informed about the menu, didn't rush us (we spent nearly 2.5 hours there) and even had good recommendations for other places to try while we were there. Highly recommended for a nice dinner out!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Simply elegant dining”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Set in a charming Victorian house (once a captain's home), L'etoile provides a cozy, comfortable yet elegant dining experience. You feel as if you are dining at home. The service is attentive but not overwhelming. The food is fresh, savory and makes you linger for an extra glass of wine. We had the soft-shelled crab and asparagus soup to start, followed by the rib eye and napoleon for dessert. Everything was well-proportioned and tasteful (you feel satisfied but not over-stuffed). Be prepared to spend some money, but it's well worth the experience! Try the outdoor patio if you get the chance, as it is beautifully lit in the summer and brings a bit of magic to the evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delish”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I had the nicest time sitting at the bar (margarita honestly second to none) and enjoyed the most delicious dinner! Go here! And leave the kids at home :)

Visited May 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgartown, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner for a special occasion”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We dined at l'Etoile the first night it opened for the season. We always go there to celebrate milestone occasions. The food never fails to be excellent and the presentation is eye-appealing. The staff is friendly and competent. It's the best high end restaurant in Edgartown.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed l'etoile also viewed

 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing