We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cod cakes and pancakes”

Lucky Hank's Restaurant & Cafe
Ranked #6 of 66 Restaurants in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great cod cakes and pancakes”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We came to Lucky Hank's several times for breakfast. It's a small space but very cute and the service is friendly. Both times we got a table indoors, which seemed a bit over-air-conditioned; there are also patio seats that looked nicer - might be worth the wait.

The cod cakes are fantastic - meaty and tasty while nicely browned and seasoned. Also the pancakes are delicious. A nice, reasonably priced option.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jamiekravitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    70
    20
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good But Could Be Better”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

This was our first time at Lucky Hank's and we found it because of all the great reviews it received. We were there on a Monday evening and it was not overly busy. This is why we found the service disappointing. It was friendly but it seemed you had to wait a long time for anything and summon a waitress when you wanted something. The food was good; the Cod Cakes and the House Greens. I had the Chicken Pot Pie and it was hot like you want it and not too creamy but the Pastry Topic was well over cooked and almost like cardboard. They say the brunch is spectacular so we may have to try that. It is a great location away from the busy part of Edgartown so it was perfect for a first night of a week long visit. I would say it is worth a try and hopefully it was just an off night for them.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem In Edgartown”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Lucky Hanks is almost lost on upper Main St in Edgartown. You walk into what is a renovated residence now a restaurant to a calm soothing atmosphere with gardens surrounding. It's quite a surprise. The inside decor is clean and light - very pleasant, you can hold conversations easily without the elevated voice required as in some restaurants.
Then the food only tops off the delight of the experience. The menu offered a variety of dishes, our choice came with fresh vegetables that were prepared to perfection. This restaurant was truly a wonderful delightful surprise. The wait staff was professional and helpful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Generous and accommodating”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

After driving up to a completely overcrowded Oak Bluffs to try to get a bite to eat for dinner on a Friday with no reservation, we quickly got out of there and headed south to a quieter Edgartown. We quickly read online listings to find a new restaurant and drove by Lucky Hank's. It looked inviting, quiet, and it was convenient to get in and out. With fingers crossed and two very hungry little boys, we entered with tentative optimism. When asked if we had a reservation, we sheepishly said no and she said no problem. She took us to the back screened-in deck. The boys were excited to see ceiling fans! It was a chilly evening and she turned on the heaters. It was comfortable. The bread was fresh and delicious. The food was wonderful and came out faster than we thought. I usually don't order scallops, but I did and I'm glad I did. My husband had the cod almandine. They use fresh local foods and the portions were just right. Not knowing what our 4 and 5 year old sons would actually eat, we ordered one plate of their grilled chicken dinner from the kids menu and had them split it between the boys. It was a generous "split", and they heaped on fresh fruits and berries for them. They ate all of their food!! That speaks volumes! I'm happy that we all had a very healthy and tasty meal. Our waitress was friendly and accommodating. By the time we left the place was full of people. I can see why it is popular. We would go back again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HollisKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cosy, welcoming and good simple food”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in here for late brunch - and were lucky to find the place not too busy. Waiting staff we're very friendly and accommodating with special requests on some of our dishes. Don't be put off by the simplicity of the menu - the food was all cooked perfectly, and the bacon was served VERY well done - you either like this or you don't (see previous reviews) we loved it!
We wanted good comfort food, and this was perfect. Summertime is also the perfect time to sit out back - although it would be a good idea to plant some bushes to screen the car park from view.

Helpful?
Thank Jos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Hank's Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Lucky Hank's Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing