We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Virginia family review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Winnetu Oceanside Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Winnetu experience

we are family of 4 from virginia. we had 2 adults and kids age 14 and 19. my review is excellent but any low points may be because of our "older" kids.

CONCIERGE:

Greg was awesome! in top 3 concierge i have ever used and we have travelled all over USA, outer states (alaska, hawaii) and carribean and mexico. He helped me for about 4-5 months before trip. we worked on restaurants for dinner (all preplanned) and activities. we ate at fantastic restaurants every night bc of greg. on our anniversary he did the impossible. we got reservations for dinner for 4 at the top restaurants 'atlantic' on the water (they do NOT accept reservations) so that our anniversary 21 years would be special! we ate at Lure grill (good not awesome bc menu limited to only about 6 entrees and we like large menus), atlantic (best on island with most amazing menu, seafood shanty (on water), lattanzis (italian, very good), and others.

Greg set up our chappaquidick tour which was great. he set up my wife's foot and back massage which was wonderful. He set us up for clambake which was great. no alcohol but lobster and tons of food. entertainment was reptile man which adults and kids alike loved. mark the owner made effort to go to every table and meet us and get to know us. that was amazing. Greg was amazing and really made trip great. he answered every email and question i had in planning trip. wealth of knowledge!

MEALS:

see above. island was great. expensive. dinners for 4 about $200 or more at most places with alcohol. best food ever on island.

TRAVEL:

I took my own car. PLEASE set up steamship authority WAY in advance. we had 14 hour drive which was awful and farther than most people. but island was worth it. we liked having car. i toured over entire island. we went up island to aquinnah and gayhead area (old name) and menemsha. loved it and very pretty. no alcohol there. went to vineyard haven, oak bluffs and mainly edgartown (where hotel was). the island does have good bus, lots of rental bikes and hotel has its own free shuttle. remember to tip drivers but cheaper than taxi! they run all day/night to edgartown. car was great for going all over island!

ACTIVITIES:

hotel had lots to do but esp for young kids. my older kids were bored at times but they need much more than young kids. young kids activities were free except nighttime which is amazing for resorts (usually charged for kids time). there was giant chess, ping pong, foosball, badminton, putting green, bean bag toss etc. smores at night for younger. pool was nice but in my opinion too small for this size resort. not being arrogant but my pool at my house was almost as big and we have diving board etc. no hot tub which is needed. pool grill good food and nice. pool is heated. ocean water is cold but nice. beaches are great and only 5-10 minute walk. rental chairs come with suite but we had to rent more for kids and umbrella (much cheaper than most resorts though). hotel offers small number of tours but nice. would be great to have full travel/tour section but i am sure greg could help with this. many activities on island young kids oriented: farms, alpaca etc. we didn't try biplane but heard was very nice rides in old style ride. hotel has fire engine rides (again for young). my kids loved the skateboard park that was short drive away.

ROOMS:

we had suite which was much needed. i think brandt or similar name. had 2 rooms and 2 bathrooms (with kids older much needed). good size. nice patio with table and chairs. we were on 3rd floor which was great bc no one over top of us. we had washer and dryer (small) but was awesome bc we brought less clothes. had mini kitchen with burners, microwave, small fridge, etc. was great for kids having breakfast and lunch at times to save some money bc dinners so expensive. cleaning crew took great care of us and washed all dishes. amazing. only down side was no room service but we didn't mind bc we went out for dinners anyway. we like room a lot. we have stayed at places where beds, sheets thread count, comforter nicer but was fine for us. flat screen tv's in each room.

SERVICE:

this was A+. everyone from front desk, cleaning crew, drivers, concierge, owner and all were top notch. lots of foreign students earning money and regular locals were great. everyone was so friendly. coming from south we were pleasantly surprised. don't want to be negative against northerners but we had heard others talk about this and everyone was so nice and friendly. we really like everyone we met. people answered questions and gave us directions. no one was negative at all.

OVERALL:

we definitely recommend this. i tried to be fair bc their are resorts all over country/world we have stayed that are more plush. however, they were much more expensive (good bargain, prices very reasonable). also, service here top notch and lots to do, great food. we really loved martha's vineyard even outside hotel. my wife loves the decorations, flower boxes, house designs. the new england area is just so quaint that we loved the people/area a lot. we had older kids so our downs would be a younger family ups. the overall experience was very good.

would i go here again yes and no. yes i want to recommend it and really liked it a lot. no bc our family has a rule that we go nowhere twice. we want to hit our bucket list and travel to every state and some other countries (mainly we want to explore our beloved USA and spend our money in america supporting our country). therefore, we try each resort/area only once. however, we would go here again and i would recommend it strongly.

The Alexanders

Room Tip: highest floor (3). face ocean side not pool. suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bfa5y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 698 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was our first time to Martha's Vineyard and we loved it. We chose the resort primarily because of the kid's activities, pools, access to the beach, etc., and these did not disappoint. We also enjoyed the dining at the Lure and the poolside grill. So much to do and see, and every person of the resort staff was happy and helpful. Clambake and the sunset water taxi ride was great too! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was hands down the best family vacation we have ever taken. My wife, my two kids (six and three years old) and my in-laws have been to Martha's Vineyard previously, but this was our first time at the Winnetu. The facilities and amenities were fantastic for kids, parents and grandparents. The kids loved the pools, the beautiful beach, the vast lawn to run and play, the turtle pond, the giant chess board and the s'mores at night. We loved the outstanding service, the food, the comfortable room, and the overall attention to detail. Nothing was overlooked.
The restaurant had an area for the kids to play with toys and watch movies ten feet from our table so we could keep an eye on them. Everyone was so friendly and made us feel very special, from the owner to the supervisors, front desk, shuttle drivers, waiters and waitresses, restaurant manager, bartenders, camp counselors and housekeeping staff. Literally, everyone.
A special thanks to Tim, who went out of his way to make our vacation unforgettable. He answered our many questions, responded to our many requests as if we were VIPs and was kind and gracious. When we had a problem with the air conditioning system in our room, Andre did not stop working on it and was constantly updating us until it was fixed. Once again, we felt like VIPs. Mark, the owner, went out of his way to personally introduce himself to everyone at the weekly clambake. We have already put in a reservation for the summer of 2013. We can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lawn on the first floor are perfect for families with young children. You simply o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is such a great place. Our kids cried all the way home. There was so much to do for both our children and us parents, but there wasn't enough time in the day to do it. Beautiful place, so well organized. We'll be back next year.
Special thanks to Greg who helped us plan our trip!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travnyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We booked this resort after much deliberating about places to stay in Cape Cod and the other islands and we were very happy we did! My wife was in Boston at a conference and I accompanied her with my small son from the UK and then we came to Winnetu for a three day stay at the end of the conference to make it into more of a holiday.

The focus on children's activities was what sold it to us and the location near the beach. The main resort is compact and easy to get around from our room which was just steps from the pool that my son loved. The room we had was quite small but beautifully furnished and very comfortable. The food at the Lure restaurant was absolutely delicious and the general store did a great breakfast that we took out to the vast lawn and we ate it by the lake watching the turtles floating around in the sun!

The kids activity centre and programme looked incredible but as our son was a bit young and we weren't there for long we didn't make use of it but this would be perfect if we come back. The main attraction for our son was the daily fire engine rides between 3 and 4pm. They have a 1940's fire engine that everyone can sit on at the back and they go for a 10 minute ride to the bay and back and of course there is lots of ringing of the bell that the kids can do. The complimentary lemonade and cookies back by the fire engine drop off at the hotel were also a lovely touch.

The staff are great and a special mention has to go to Harry and Ines. Harry picked us up from the ferry and he drove the fire engine and was always around to greet my son who got to know him well. Ines is in the resort shop and she was very friendly and was great with my son.

This resort has a wonderful old fashioned (in the best sense!) feel with many people clearly coming back with their children year after year. There is lots to do and the frequent and free shuttle bus run by their great bunch of young staff was wonderful.

I hope we get a chance to come back but we relish the memories we have of this beautiful island and the great stay we had at Winnetu.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EIMB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is a gorgeous resort, just a short walk from South Beach. It is a truly family friendly place, with loads for the kids and adults to do. They have a shuttle into Edgartown and their staff was simply amazing, they could not do enough for us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amypeteBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We just returned from a three night four day stay at the Winnetu. We arrived early and check in was not until 4:00pm. They showed us around and said they would call as soon as our room was ready and we were welcome to enjoy ourselves at one of the two pools. Less than an hour later and two hours before their check -in time our room was ready. My daughters (age 4 and 6) loved the morning kids activities and the activity staff was tremendous. The first day my daughters were timid and they made a real effort at making the girls feel comfortable and welcomed. We were most impressed with the type of service they offer. Being our first time to the island we decided not to bring our car. When wondering what to plan for the day, the concierge recommended taking a trip to the other side of the island. When he realized we didn't have a car, he offered us his own vehicle. The staff at The Winnetu was friendly and it could not have been more perfect for our first trip. We are already thinking of when to return!

Room Tip: We had the East Chop King Suite...for a couple with two children it was perfect. I enjoyed being on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
2.8 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
1,002 reviews
8.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
826 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
148 reviews
7.3 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
628 reviews
7.5 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winnetu Oceanside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winnetu Oceanside Resort

Address: 31 Dunes Rd, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range: $342 - $1,444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located directly at South Beach, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard. Opened in year 2000, featuring 54 air-conditioned studios and suites and one and two-bedroom cottages. Over 80 private townhouses and homes also available for rent. Offering a complimentary Children's Day Program (in season); Parent/Toddler Program; heated swimming pools; tennis; yoga and fitness classes; Fitness Center; Concierge Services; life-size, outdoor chess; putting green; and shuttle service to Edgartown. Optional activities include: Children's Evening Program; Teen Program; weekly clambakes; sunset water taxi cruise to Edgartown; and Two-Island Adventure Trip to our sister Resort on Nantucket, The Nantucket Hotel. Ocean-view, family-friendly, casually upscale restaurant, The Dunes located on-site. Resort open mid-April through late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Winnetu Oceanside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winnetu Oceanside Hotel Edgartown
Winnetu Oceanside Edgartown
Winnetu Resort
Winnetu Oceanside Resort Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing