We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashley Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashley Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 11 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Plymouth, MA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We recently spent three nights at the Ashley Inn. Our room, actually a suite with a separate living room, was very comfortable, clean and cheerful. The bed was comfortable, altho' the foam pillows could be improved on. Fred serves breakfast each morning, usually a choice of granola, eggs either scrambled or as an omelet, and either pancakes or waffles. The food is decent and the coffee is good. The inn is a few blocks from the center of town and there is ample parking behind the inn. There is wifi in the main house dining and living areas but not in the rooms, a major or minor inconvenience depending on one's desire to stay connected at all times. Cell phone signals are fine. I would recommend the Ashley Inn to anyone who doesn't need constant pampering or gourmet meals. A very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sneaks_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    21
    11
    10
    3
See reviews for
7
47
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband, son and I just returned from a wonderful weekend in Martha's Vineyard. Our hosts, the Hurleys, at the lovely Ashley Inn, could not have been more kind and generous. We had a lovely room that accommodated the three of us very comfortably. Location is ideal-just a short few blocks into downtown Edgartown. Bike paths are nearby and easy transportation throughout island. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just got back from sharing the Ashley Inn house (next door) with 2 other couples. We originally had all booked rooms in the main inn; Fred called and asked if we would like to all stay together in the house. On line it looked fine but in real life it was pretty awful. Duct tape holding up curtains in a bedroom as well as a TV in another bedroom; our bathroom was not clean -- dried hairs on the walls; hot water faucet missing as well as part of toilet paper holder. Some weird stain on the ceiling, paint on the toilet but not on the wall behind the toilet where it should have been. Ceiling fan in bedroom hadn't been cleaned in ??? Globs of lint hanging off of it as well as funny marks on the ceiling (squished bugs?). The back door doesn't close, holes in the walls with wires coming through. The list goes on and on. Definitely would not stay here again nor recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I was very disappointed in this b&b. the room smelled of mildew, the bathroom was in poor shape with plastic chipped off the tub, shower curtain rod barely attached to the wall, bubbling wallpaper, mismatched shower mat, etc. The sheets were dingy. Multiple chairs in the dining room had holes in their seats. Bugs in coffee cups.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KSydelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I bought this certificate for my parents years ago, but due to deteriorating health they were never able to take advantage of it. The positives were access to Edgartown and public transportation. The fact they still accepted the gift certificate. The breakfast was good and somewhat varied from day to day. They allowed use of their refrigerator (a little reluctantly), because the rooms are minimally appointed. The house keeping is suspect to say the least. I do not recall what the tub base looked like when we first came to the room, but it was black by the time we left (showering at least 1 - 2 times / day for 2 ). The staff is seasonal, and therefore; just punching the summer job ticket. Pleasant enough. The air conditioning was barely adequate. Basicly, just average, but a place to hang your hat as needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to Tripadvisor I found this inn, that it has everything I need and would like to be in a similar one in every place I go. Location is excelent, the living room is great, breakfast is superb and changes every day. Rooms are celan ande well decorated. It is a place to return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arturomesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We walked into the charming Ashley Inn and greeted by Fred...nicest guy! The Inn is inviting and breakfast always delightful. Fred's recommendations on places to eat, places to see, things to do, and rentals were great. The Inn's location is perfect. 5 min stroll to all the shopping, dining, waterfront and night life in Edgartown. Head out in the opposite direction of the Ashley Inn to rent a bike then hit the easy scenic bike trail along the coast to Oak Bluff. We look forward to returning someday to the Ashley Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.6 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 821 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 11 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 stars 382 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#3 of 11 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ashley Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 129 Main Street, Box 650, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashley Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ashley Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Hotel Edgartown
Ashley Inn b&b
Ashley Inn Bed And Breakfast Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing