We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn”
Review of The Christopher

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Christopher
Ranked #2 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2007

The inn is a lovely spot in a wonderful town. The staff was sincerely friendly and helpful, the rooms delightful and the breakfasts delicious. Would recommend the inn to anyone.

When we made our reservations we were given information about the New Bedford ferry. It was great! Uncrowded and saved us over an hour of driving each way.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Stinker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 227 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2007

The Victorian Inn is lovely, well maintained and in a very convenient location in the heart of Edgartown. The owners treat you like a house guest with good food, suggestions for things to do and good advice. They also treat the Inn as their own house (which it is). This works splendidly if you act as a considerate house guest yourself. We transgressed (our fault - we let several people use our bathroom in the early evening after a trip to the beach) and we thought the owner over-reacted although all seemed well again in the morning. The point is that this is a place to treasure, not treat as an anonymous hotel. If you are looking for quiet, elegant and peaceful, this is the place. Otherwise, you might be happier somewhere else. We would go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceshorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2007

Lovely room, beautiful house with cozy fireplaces in the heart of Edgartown (most "things to do" area). Pleasant walk to everything. Great food - best breakfasts and cookies I've had!! Nice not to have TV, makes the rooms quieter and I didn't have to call the proprieter at 2:00am to have the next room turn the volume down. Stephen and Karen are gracious and knowledgable hosts, and will help you plan your days to get the most out of your vacation.

Stayed: May 2007
Thank Betsy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2006

I stayed at The Vic with a friend for a weekend in July and it was one of the best vacations we've ever had! It was in a prime location, close to the bus station and close to the shops and restaurants. Our room was very tastefully decorated. And breakfast served in their garden patio was fantastic! We're dying to go back, and when we do, we'll be staying at The Vic.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elleboogie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2006

My husband and I just got back from three wonderful nights at the Victorian Inn. I just can't say enough about this place. Steve and his wife are so friendly and can answer any question you have about the island. Each morning breakfast was different and the service was excellent as was the food. The afternoon cookie and lemonade/iced tea snack was great. The cookies delicious. We made sure we didn't miss out on that each day. Our room (#10) was beautiful. Our two balconies were great to sit out on and enjoy the views. I have nothing but great things to say about the Victorian Inn. I will definately be back. They do a wonderful job of making it feel like home when you are there. Don't bother bringing chairs for the beach or beach towels, they can give you those things as well as ice packs for your cooler. Just an all around classy place.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2006

We stayed at the Victorian Inn for the first 4 days of our honeymoon and couldn't have been happier! The room was clean and had that "Cape Cod" feel, the breakfasts were great, and the service was wonderful; both the owners and the staff were friendly, professional and helpful. We had a great time chatting with all of the other guests at tea and breakfast and made lots of friends! The location is perfect (which accounts for the high rates), and we LOVED the fact that there were no televisions - it was so peaceful and quiet. We will definitely be back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hoyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Greenwich, Connecticut
36
Reviewed July 7, 2006

We had our wedding in Edgartown this June and stayed at the Victorian Inn. We couldn't have been happier -- each breakfast and afternoon tea was delicious, and we enjoyed our conversations with the owners. The environment was very peaceful -- you feel like you are really getting away from everything. Also, the owners were very accommodating, allowing us to take some group photos inside (which is decorated beautifully). We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.4 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
987 reviews
6.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
819 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
146 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
626 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 10 in Edgartown
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Christopher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Christopher

Address: 24 S Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8138 (Formerly Victorian Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range: $151 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Christopher 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated for a grand re-opening for the 2016 season... Unwind and soak in an island vibe at The Christopher (formerly The Victorian), a fully remodeled 15-room boutique Edgartown hotel. A back courtyard features both sunny and shady spots to lounge and enjoy our BYOB mixer bar. Guest rooms feature plush beds and modern amenities, such as USB ports and Apple TV. Some rooms feature private balconies. Edgartown Harbor, the shops and galleries of Main and Water streets, and world-class restaurants are just outside the front door. Chic yet unpretentious. Luxe yet welcoming. You can't help but relax and enjoy yourself amidst the stylishly laid-back design! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Christopher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Hotel Edgartown
The Christopher Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing