We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Christopher

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Christopher
Ranked #3 of 11 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Edgartown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We loved staying at the Victorian. The breakfasts were incredible! The hosts Steve and Karyn were like family and couldn't be nicer..Quiet, clean, and great location...One block to Main St. Would definitely stay there again..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    24
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
114
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
170 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My husband and I spend almost every July 4th at this inn. We love it. The rooms and service are consistant and we've never had a bad experience. The location couldn't be better. You can walk to everything in Edgartown. If you're bringing a car onto the island, you get a parking spot at the Inn. (Advise them in advance.) That is just the frosting on the cake! Parking is difficult at best here. I'm so picky and I'm so happy to have found this inn. It always meets my expectations. Note that they do not accept pets or children under 9 (I believe). The Inn is best suited for couples or adults. No phones or TV's.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddiepeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We wanted to return to our honeymoon town for our 20th anniversary, and since the B&B we had stayed at was no longer in business, a friend recommended the Victorian Inn among others. Walking distance to the center of town was required. When I read the reviews, saw the beauty of the rooms and then the "splurge factor" -- our own large porch -- I called for a reservation. We were not disappointed. Our stay was relaxed, totally comfortable, and made even easier by our hosts' knowledge of the community and commitment to service. At Stephen's suggestion, we booked the local conservancy's tour of Chappaquidick. We got a historical and ecological education that was also great fun! We rented bikes, went to South Beach, drove around the Island, and dined in great style. The Victorian's breakfasts were fresh, a bit decadent, and delicious. To help us celebrate, the Caliris gave us a bottle of champagne to enjoy on our porch. All in all, a memorable anniversary. We won't wait another 20 years....

Room Tip: A room with a porch is definitely worth the splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beeboults
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Victorian Inn is centrally located downtown Edgartown. We walked everywhere and rode our bikes to other Vineyard locations. Our room was beautifully decorated and had two outside balconies that overlooked the town and the bay. The rooms were spotless and the service was excellent. Out host, Steve and Karyn, were always there to answer questions or to provide suggestions on what to do or where to dine. Karyn prepared excellent breakfasts and Steve was our morning entertainment .

Room Tip: We liked the third floor with a balcony for views of the town and bay .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SacandagaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Upon arrival at the Victorian Inn, my wife and I were blown away by the beautiful Victorian Inn. The Inn looks like it belongs in the 18th century, but does not sacrifice any modern comforts or amenities. Steve was a very gracious host, taking time out of his busy day to let our dog play with his two dogs. Karyn's breakfast each morning were fantastic and was the sole reason we chose not to visit any other breakfast spot on the island. On top of the appearance and service at the Victorian, it is a 5 minute walk to the heart of Edgartown.

I highly recommend this location!

Room Tip: The dog-friendly room was very clean and did not smell like animals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Martha's Vineyard is a long drive (7 hours) and a ferry ride away for us if we drive. Luckily, we are able to make it in less than 2 hours by private plane, which allows us to head there on a moments notice if the weather is going to be pleasant there. Invariably, we call the Victorian Inn and hope we can find a room, as it is one of our favorite Bed and Breakfast's.

Located on the edge of downtown, the inn is an historic, typical, Martha's Vineyard whaling captain's home...not to mention having a role in the movie "Jaws" (home of the Amityville doctor). Because it may be older doesn't mean "old". This attractive B and B has been remodeled and updated to be just plain comfortable. Rooms may be somewhat smaller (certainly not tiny) but remember, it's an historic home, in an historic town.

Breakfast is usually a choice of several items that encourage your thought early in the mornings. The day we stayed, we had a choice of banana pancakes, homemade granola with nuts, berries and yogurt, or a California croissant with egg, that looked delicious, although my wife and I couldn't pass up the banana pancakes! As one of the owners,Steve, passed around the coffee, we continued to be entertained with his humorous tales of the island.

In short, the Victorian Inn isn't one of the biggest places to stay on Martha's Vineyard. It isn't one of the most luxurious...but it's a very comfortable Bed and Breakfast, in what I consider one of the best locations on the island...as well as being a good value for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a queen or king bed. Doubles are somewhat small for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysready1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgartown, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Whatever you want to do on MV and you want to stay in Edgartown - this is a lovely place to stay. Very close to the center, beaches, stores, restaurants - you name it. Most of it is in walking distance, but the Inn is quiet, nestled away. Rooms are lovely. Well, furnished with modern bathrooms. Great views from the upstairs suites.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sybille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.4 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 851 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Christopher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Christopher

Property: The Christopher
Address: 24 S Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8138 (Formerly Victorian Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Christopher 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated for a grand re-opening for the 2016 season... Unwind and soak in an island vibe at The Christopher (formerly The Victorian), a fully remodeled 15-room boutique Edgartown hotel. A back courtyard features both sunny and shady spots to lounge and enjoy our BYOB mixer bar. Guest rooms feature plush beds and modern amenities, such as USB ports and Apple TV. Some rooms feature private balconies. Edgartown Harbor, the shops and galleries of Main and Water streets, and world-class restaurants are just outside the front door. Chic yet unpretentious. Luxe yet welcoming. You can't help but relax and enjoy yourself amidst the stylishly laid-back design! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Christopher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Hotel Edgartown
The Christopher Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing