We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B &B”
Review of The Christopher

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Christopher
Ranked #2 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Charming B &B”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband I had a delightful experience in Edgartown at the Victorian Inn. This charming historical inn is on a quiet street that is a short walk from the main shopping area, restaurants and harbor. The inn is furnished with antiques, and has authentic Victorian decor and each room has unique character. The atmosphere is friendly and relaxed.. Breakfast was served in a pretty courtyard, and included a bowl of fresh fruit; muffins with yummy raspberry butter, a wide choice of beverages and a choice of three different main dishes.
Most importantly, this B &B has the most friendly and gracious owners and staff. They made many helpful suggestions for our first visit to the Vineyard, and quickly volunteered to make aggrangements for us. The room we chose was cozy, but comfortable and clean with a well appointed bathroom. Don't expect a huge bathroom, since this is a historical home. Ours had everything we needed. We chose a room with a shower only that had good water pressure and plenty of hot water. The mattress was pretty firm, but that was fine with me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    24
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
141
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Vic is a great B&B in the heart of Edgartown from which you can walk in most directions to encounter beautiful homes in charmed settings, a busy wharf area, great shops and galleries, and decent restaurants. It's all a bit pricey but what seasonal resort area isn't? Innkeepers Karyn and Stephen go out of their way to accommodate their guests with suggestions, reservations, room adjustments and special requests at the scrumptious breakfast served in the garden. During our recent 4 night stay guests ranged from newly weds to retirees hailing from CA, TN, NJ, CT, MA, PA. Our room was small but clean and comfortable with a very nice private bath; towels were OK but bed sheets were too thin. The Inn has A/C and WiFi, no elevator, TV or room phone although there is a parlor phone available to guests. Iced tea, lemonade and cookies anchor the afternoon!

Room Tip: Look at room pictures and descriptions on their website; Rooms # 1 & 2 are 1st floor twins, room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

First of all, we were so glad that we chose Edgartown for our stay in Martha's Vineyard vs the other towns. The dedication of the town's inhabitants to restoring many of its historic buildings really brings you back to this town's historic past at it's apex. OVERALL: We loved being situated right smack dab in the middle of all the stately whaling captain homes and inns, with their white picket fences and tiny tree lined streets. At the Victorian Inn, you're within a 30 second stroll to the town's cafes and boutiques as well as to the harbor. When you first pull up to this Inn, you're immediately delighted that you chose so well in selecting your lodging. The Victorian Inn is impeccably kept up (seriously) and it immediately invites you to come in and sit in the parlor and talk awhile. We arrived after 9pm and came with a car full of 4 heavy suitcases and some odds and ends bags. Stephen, the owner/innkeeper couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. After a brief overview of the inn (including a binder in the parlor that has every piece of info you could want about things to do/see on the island), he came out to the car and helped us carry up our luggage up 3 flights of narrow stairs. After about 5 trips, we had everything up in our room on the third floor. The ROOM was comfortable and well appointed and very clean, and we made ourselves right at home. Neither the bedroom or the bathroom were "fancy" and this was just fine with us. Toiletries were sort of minimalist, but that was ok too, everything just flowed really well. (By the way, there is another inn around the corner that we considered, but staying amongst old antiques while staying on an island sounded more stressful than fun.) Our room had a balcony off of the hallway that we enjoyed, buying some wine and cheese and crackers and looking over the rooftops to the harbor and its boats in the late afternoon. Very private, yet the whole town is lying at your feet waiting for you. Our experience there was almost like staying at an affluent relative's house (vs an inn)-- as warm and inviting as it was. The STAFF was gracious and friendly, and we enjoyed bumping into them in the hallways and at breakfast. You have the chance every morning at breakfast to find out what was going on around town and to get input from the owners and their great team of helpers. Again, the owners made themselves available when needed, and in a non-pretentious way, did everything possible to help us have a great time while on the Vineyard, which we did. FOOD: It was good, they made the effort to have some creative choices for you everyday. We prefer a heavy protein breakfast usually, so we abstained from the much talked about baked goods and the afternoon iced tea and cookies. PS, the film Jaws was set in Edgartown, and we delighted in learning from our hosts that the Victorian Inn was used in the scene where Richard Dreyfus says "This was no boating accident...!" Shot in their now, much renovated, kitchen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

A real disappointment for our first trip to Martha's vineyard... After reading the reviews we were anticipating a very different experience. At almost 500$ a night, one would at least expect a comfortable room - ours had no shutters, no curtains and a most uncomfortable bed which left me every morning with back ache. The bathroom is utterly outdated with a plastic stall. The 'complimentary' breakfast is absolutely nothing to write home about - I just don't get the excitement about the muffins other reviewers raved about!! The afternoon tea is certainly not worth dashing back for either, and if you are planning on downloading your daily newspaper on their wireless, be sure to set aside a good 30mins- the erratic wireless connection was infuriating. The owner seemed somewhat bemused by our complaint about our room and although he did try to find a solution, he lacked the authenticity displayed by his most charming manager, Birgit. She personifies customer service and was utterly delightful from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The location and Birgit are the only 2 things going for this place, but frankly if you are willing to spend this amount of money... I would definitely search elsewhere. what is a little walk into town through the charming little streets of edgartown after all?.,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesbohnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
higginsEdgartown, Owner at The Christopher, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
It is unfortunate you had such an unpleasant stay. A room with two sets of French doors does get a lot of sun light and a full moon hanging over the harbor was indeed bright. When you and your husband rang the service bell at 10PM to inform me that you “have traveled all over the world and never stayed in a place without curtains or shutters” I was a bit confused. It was clear you were upset and when I asked where you were staying and it was here, I could not think of any room such as you described. When you remembered your room number, my first response was that there are curtains and even a Roman shade on the window and your privacy isn’t a concern since the third floor rooms are above all the neighboring windows. My failure to grasp the severity and seriousness of the situation, ie: that you “would not be able to sleep because of the bright moonlight” seemed to anger you further. A late night improvisation of heavy beach towels, push pins and sleeping mask were unsatisfactory upon inquiry the next morning. Therefore, I do not understand, especially now when I read how unhappy you were with almost everything else as well, why you both declined my offer to find accommodations for you elsewhere and chose to remain here two more nights. It seems that would have been the only satisfactory solution. By the way, for whatever it is worth: the box spring and mattress were new this spring; the bathroom was painted and a new low volume toilet installed this past winter; and the shower stall is fiberglass not plastic…I am not sure what difference that makes to be honest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

stayed with daughter for 5 nights for a delightful Vineyard vacation. One could not ask for more: historic Inn, pleasant host and manager, excellent breakfasts, great location. we rented bikes next door, biked off to Katama airfield for a biplane ride and got great directions to bike around the island.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with sundeck; pricey but well worth it. resting in the chaise-longue on the sund...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abcdef46756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This lovely bed and breakfast was located right in the center of Edgartown. I was alone visiting my daughter. They welcomed us with warth and although my daughter wasn't a guest they welcomed her to join us for breakfast.My room was charming and the breakfast was amazing! I am hoping to join them again before the summer is over.No TV but Internet accessible .perfect for me.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTvoyager2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

It's not hard to imagine that a whaling captain once graced the halls of this beautiful historic inn located in Edgartown, MA. The inn is decorated in classic Victorian style complete with a covered canopy bed and elegant furnishings throughout. The staff and owners are friendly and helpful and saw to it that our every needs were met, from refrigerating the wine we brought with us to the flatbread pizza we thought we would eat at a later time. Breakfast, served outside on the patio garden, was delicous and plentiful each morning. Coffee, tea, and juices, fruit cup, assorted homemade muffins, breads, and homemade raspberry butter began the eating fest. Each morning, there was a choice of 3 main breakfast dishes: homemade granola with berries, a creative egg dish, or uniquely prepared pancakes, waffles, or French toast. Who could not love late afternoon sun tea, lemonade, and a warm homemade cookie outside on the patio after we came back from shopping or biking around the island? At the heart of downtown Edgartown, a hop, skip, and a jump from the water's edge and many shops and restaurants, this Inn was a wonderful find. We look forward to many more trips to visit MV and Steve, our friendly host, at the Victorian Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
800 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
948 reviews
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
601 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.1 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Christopher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Christopher

Property: The Christopher
Address: 24 S Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8138 (Formerly Victorian Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Christopher 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated for a grand re-opening for the 2016 season... Unwind and soak in an island vibe at The Christopher (formerly The Victorian), a fully remodeled 15-room boutique Edgartown hotel. A back courtyard features both sunny and shady spots to lounge and enjoy our BYOB mixer bar. Guest rooms feature plush beds and modern amenities, such as USB ports and Apple TV. Some rooms feature private balconies. Edgartown Harbor, the shops and galleries of Main and Water streets, and world-class restaurants are just outside the front door. Chic yet unpretentious. Luxe yet welcoming. You can't help but relax and enjoy yourself amidst the stylishly laid-back design! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Christopher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Hotel Edgartown
The Christopher Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing