We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Comfortable - Just like Home Only Better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Christopher

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Christopher
Ranked #3 of 11 Edgartown B&B and Inns
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
168 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Comfortable - Just like Home Only Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from our 4th visit at The Victorian Inn. We always go over July 4th so it's a busy time for them. They never miss a beat and every stay has been perfect. We are always so impressed by how clean and tidy the Inn is kept. Linens are very fresh and the beds are very comfortable. We love the breakfasts too which are served in their very private garden. This year for the first time it rained so breakfast was served in the dining room. Still perfect. Boy can Karyn cook!! She does a great job and everything is so fresh and yummy. Stephen always makes the guests feel like old friends and always has a tale or two to tell about Vineyard life. We can't forget Higgins. He's the best dog and we enjoy seeing him. The location of the Inn couldn't be better. A word to the wise....book early! It just doesn't get any better than this.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddiepeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    23
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
103
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This was a perfect place to stay when visiting Martha's Vineyard. This Inn is off the main street, so very accessible to shopping and the water. It resides on a beautiful and quiet residential street. Great parking too, if you bring a car. Steve was a fabulous host, greeting us upon our late arrival. He even remebered our names throughout our stay. You don't get that recognition at a Chain hotel. The rooms were lovely, great bathrooms, very comfortable and private. The breakfasts were delicious, all fresh ingrediants and each with a twist, not just simple eggs. Everything had a special touch to it from the food to the decor, etc. Great place, and will definitely return for future trips out to the island.

Room Tip: Stayed in the rooms on the second floor overlooking the street. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Blanca, Spain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Only stayed for one night but what a fabulous hotel. Great location close to the water and shops. Stephen and Karen perfect hosts giving us very helpful advice to get the best out of our short stay. Breakfast was served in the courtyard and we had the best eggs Benedict ever, what a great cook Karen is.
Rooms just perfect and Higgins just made my stay the best whilst in New England

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Recently stayed at The Victorian Inn and had a wonderful time. The room was tastefully done, extremely clean and very comfortable. The hosts were very gracious and helpful. Had a delicious breakfast for both days! I am so happy we have found our place to stay on the Island for our future visits and can't wait to return, especially to see Higgins!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 2 night stay at the inn celebrating his 60th birthday. From the moment we stepped out of our jeep, a wonderful experience began. Steve and Karen are wonderful hosts as is their staff. A bottle of champagne awaited us in our beautiful room. The breakfasts were tremendous-Karen is truly a great cook! Will definitely stay at the Victorian Inn again!

Room Tip: Rooms in back might be a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pattyd847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

On our first visit to Edgartown we didn't know where to stay and found this place by reading reviews from others and we are happy that we chose to stay here. The location was great. Easy to walk to all the shops and eateries. We loved our room, we found it comfortable and well appointed. The breakfasts were delicious and it's refreshing to find such care and thought being put into a menu. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning on our next New England visit. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank penny l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

The best place to stay in Edgarton. The location is superb - you can't get any closer to the main drag (restaurants, bars & shops) without being bothered by the noise. It's a block from the water and there is a bike rental shop next door. It's an easy walk to lighthouse beach or bike to Katama.

The service is impeccable. They anticipate every need - if you're picnicing at Menemsha they'll provide chairs, towels, wine glasses ice and a cooler. You just need to pick up wine and drive there. Steven, Karen and their staff spare no expense or effort in looking after you. After making a casual mention that I was recently married they kindly supplied a wonderful bottle of champagne.

Breakfast can't be beat. It is truly homemade and the muffins and baked goods are to die for (the fresh fruit and the rest of breakfast are splendid too).

The rooms in this inn have been meticulously maintained. Get one with a balcony so you can enjoy summer in the Vineyard from your room. Most are spacious and have great baths.

I've been the last 4 years in a row and hope to keep returning every year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BEonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.4 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 821 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.1 mi away
The Sydney
The Sydney
#7 of 11 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Christopher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Christopher

Property: The Christopher
Address: 24 South Water Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539 (Formerly Victorian Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Christopher 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated for a grand re-opening for the 2016 season... Unwind and soak in an island vibe at The Christopher (formerly The Victorian), a fully remodeled 15-room boutique Edgartown hotel. A back courtyard features both sunny and shady spots to lounge and enjoy our BYOB mixer bar. Guest rooms feature plush beds and modern amenities, such as USB ports and Apple TV. Some rooms feature private balconies. Edgartown Harbor, the shops and galleries of Main and Water streets, and world-class restaurants are just outside the front door. Chic yet unpretentious. Luxe yet welcoming. You can't help but relax and enjoy yourself amidst the stylishly laid-back design! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Christopher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Hotel Edgartown
The Christopher Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing