We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harborside Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

I recently spent 4 days at the Harborside Inn with my husband and 2 year old daughter. We stayed in the Ripley House on the top floor and had a center balcony room. This hotel is quite expensive - around $450 a night for a room with a King bed. That being said, it really is worth it, especially for a first time visitor wanting to get a true feel of Edgartown. This location is in the hart of everything. I thought the room was very clean, the view was amazing and I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend. It would be difficult to stay in this room for an entire week, especially with a small child, as there is no kitchen area. The room came equipped with a small refrigerator but that may not be enough for an extended stay. These rooms are time shares and the owners of the timeshares have kitchens in a large common area within the hotel. Unless you are an owner or renting from an owner, you are not permitted to use these amenities, which is understandable. At one point, I looked at a unit being rented from an owner through vrbo and use of the common area kitchens, refrigerators, etc., was included. Having that option would be nice for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TXTRVLLVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    37
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
32
51
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

Apparently inn is also a time share. We had misfortune of staying on same floor with a timesharer who occupied 3 rooms and had 6+ children with him as well as other adults. Man was totally ignorant, and kids were all disrespectful and extremely noisy. Even though it is posted "no smoking", timesharer and his guests thought they were above the rules and smoked cigars while his guests smoked cigarettes out on their balconies, so therefore, even though we paid for a balcony, we could not use or enjoy it. Kids were constantly slamming doors, running in the hallways, loud and would either not move out of our way or would run into us. When asked by us to stop, they only did it more. Even though there are kitchen facilities there (refrigerators, stoves/ovens, microwaves, tables, chairs, kitchen accessories, etc.) and rooms (i.e., kitchen, eating area, lounging/meeting/gathering rooms, etc.) guests were not allowed to use them. It was for timesharers only. No continental breakfast, no coffee, nothing free/extra, Not an ideal way to have a quiet, relaxing vacation. Only thing we got to enjoy (when they weren't smoking out on the balconies) was the view from the balcony, and the pool.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaLady14U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Ok
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

Rooms were clean, not fancy, but small and had everything you need, balcony just ok, hotel mangement extremely nice! My favorite part was the location and the fact that you could see the water along with the great Galley type kitchen that you could use in the family area and bring in your own seafood purchased just down the street from the Seafood Market, mostly cooked for you! Again great staff!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsAMuseBouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

We escaped a House rental on Chappy which did not live up to our expectations. The location in Edgartown was terrific and the balcony with views of the harbor and Chappy were terrific. Made great use of the pool and some of the desk staff were very helpful about getting around town and places to see or dine at (but not all!). The rooms are very clean and well maintained. Our large window facing the water had a failed seal and was cloudy... a real bummer since this was the money shot! They replaced the entire window two or three days into the stay. Win! While it may not have all the authentic charm of some of the other B&B's, it was centrally located, clean and a great place to stay. There are more amenities here for owners than visitors, but nothing that dampened our stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemmondd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

My husband & I stayed at the Harborside Inn in the last week of October this year. We had a leisurely & wonderful vacation at this Inn which is right on the water. The property is well maintained & the rooms are clean & tidy. Many establishments are closed at this time of the year but enough shops/art galleries/restaurants etc. were open to satisfy us. This shoulder season is great for travel & we love it.
We would love to go again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newvisitorUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

Harborside Inn is in a great location.The view from our second floor room was fantastic. Seems to be a timeshare as well as having hotel guests. Guests are made to feel like 2nd class citizens - you can't even get a glass of water though there is a kitchen with many facilities. The pool is lovely with lots of loungers and towels available. It is very expensive. You don't get breakfast - a coffee flask is available in the lobby until 11am. Reception staff were unfriendly. The room was very clean.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinAurelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

We had the misfortune of getting stuck on the Vineyard on one of the busiest tourist weekends and found a room at the Harborside at the last minute. It was the only place available, but it was a waterside suite for $500 (!). What the heck, I didnt want to sleep on the street so I took it. Jeremian room 501. It was indeed a beautiful room, and a liitle patio outside by the boat dock. Can't complain about that. But the walls and ceilings were so thin -- we could hear every footstep by the people upstairs. They were not walking loudly, it was just that the ceiling construction was so thin and the rooms use a hard laminate flooring. so eveything is loud. I was woken up from a sound sleep at 6am when the folks upstairs got up. It was unbelievably loud. Also, the heating/cooling unit is located in the closet next to the bed, and this started up in the middle of the night and woke us up.

It was a beautiful hotel, but certainly not worth $500 a night.. If you stay here, I would definietly recommend a second floor room, not the first.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc_in_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.4 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
5.2 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Property: Harborside Inn
Address: 3 S Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8137
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Edgartown
Harborside Inn Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing