We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property with a few quirks”
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harborside Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a beautiful and updated combo timeshare/hotel in the very heart of Edgartown right on the water. Its ultra charming and old from the 1800's and you cant beat the location. I was lucky enough to get an exchange here for a nice week. Rooms have been updated this year and there is nice bedding a mini fridge and small 19" flat screens. Nicely updated bathrooms on the small side but fine. My room did not have a view but was by one of the front doors and the noise from that was loud, people coming and going tend to slam that door hard and the walls are thin. Also my room was on the front street however the windows are soundproof and I was not bothered by street noise, just the doors.
If your an RCI member or owner here you can use the community kitchen and washer/dryers. There are shared fridges and stoves and plenty of everything to cook with. Theres also a semi-heated pool. Daily maid service is nice too. The resort closes 6 months a year in the winter. I would stay here again its a good choice but try to get a room overlooking the harbor with the balcony for the most bang for your bucks.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the balcony views away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campo84748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 134 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We traded a week of our timeshare for a week at the Harborside Inn. It is centrally located in Edgartown. You are close to hotels, restaurants, the main dock. The hotel staff was very cordial and helpful. The room, although somewhat smaller than we had anticipated, was comfortable and tastefully furnished.

Room Tip: The rooms with two beds were spacious and lovely. We found our room a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afarfaglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

First of all, I will say that I'm an owner of a timeshare here for about 10 years, but I stayed here prior to owning. Nonetheless, I think I can give a fairly balanced review of this establishment.

The Harborside Inn is a converted motel, compriseharbord of old sea captain's mansions as well as some new buildings. Currently it is a timeshare resort as well as a hotel. Those who own weeks who choose not to use their week can let the Inn rent the room out. The owner of the week takes a cut and so does the hotel. That which goes to the hotel goes toward the general fund which goes toward upkeep and paying salaries. The rest of the costs of operation is paid from maintenance fees paid by owners.

The rooms are clean, but not huge. They are either individual rooms in the old homes (which are very charming) or rooms in the newer buildings. There are a couple of rooms that have an actual bedroom in addition to the main room so they could house a family, but most rooms are the equivalent of a hotel room, with only a mini-fridge.

The grounds area is pretty immaculately kept. There's a nice small pool, a small inside Jacuzzi, and slips for boats, which can be rented for an extra fee.

The location couldn't be better, right smack in the middle of downtown Edgartown, where the boutiques and galleries are, and right on the waterfront. That's what you get for the premium price -- the location. Plus the pool and grounds facing the harbor, and you're all set.

There is no restaurant on the premises, but there are places that will deliver. You are steps from a variety of eateries, from medium to very upscale. There is a large common area in the main building and a large deck facing the water off of that. The view is pretty terrific from there.

There is free parking, but the lot is about a 5 minute walk away.

The key to getting value, to me, is opting for a street view room. The highest priced rooms face Edgartown Harbor. Getting a room in one of the captain's homes that faces a Victorian era street? Charming... and cheaper. The rooms that face the water do have the advantage of a balcony, but the rooms facing the street (in the original homes, not in the newer buildings) were the larger and better rooms in the original homes, many with original period detail.

Go off-season, either April-May or October-November and you can likely get a better deal.

Rooms get cleaned daily, and the staff aims to please.

More luxurious accommodations might be found at the Charlton Inn or Harbor View hotel, but the central waterfront location with pool and nice grounds of the Harborside Inn is unique to Edgartown. If you plan to bring a boat here, no other accommodation in Edgartown has its own boat slips, so that could be a factor in your decision as well.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnalogJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

It's hard to find a better place to stay in the summer. There are great views of the Harbor and there are many great places to eat or grab drinks within a very short walk. Not the cheapest place to stay, but well worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbcbonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Exactly like the web page description... The Harborside Inn’s waterfront location puts the ocean in your backyard and the charm of Edgartown Village in your front yard. Stroll from your room and enjoy Edgartown’s finest art galleries, restaurants, shops and night life.
Amazing location. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SasaNemanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Inn is in a great location. Room is very small though and there is only a central kitchen, first time I've experienced that. Inn is very clean and service is very good. Very nice and helpful staff and beautiful view of the harbor

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

What a perfect place to start our honeymoon tour of New England.

Room was clean and comfortable, and a reasonable size. Price was very reasonable. But the views from the bedroom were outstanding. Overlooking the harbour, the grounds and Chappy island, you couldn't ask for a more stunning scene to wake up to.

Staff were all lovely and helpful. We arrived late, around 10pm, and were relieved to find a room still available (it was mid-Sept just after the end of the busy season, I wouldn't recommend turning up during the holiday season without a booking). The price was very good, and the location is fantastic. Seconds from the high street with its lovely shops, restaurants and cafes, it is the kind of place where it's impossible to feel stressed.

We ate at Chesca's restaurant, the food was stunning. As good as you would find in any major city. Also worth a trip to Aquinnah, with its beautiful beach and lighthouse.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting MV, and we would certainly return here.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the harbour. What a view to wake up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.4 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
998 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
824 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
147 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
627 reviews
5.2 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Address: 3 S Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8137
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range: $95 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Edgartown
Harborside Inn Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing