We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIght on the bay great view”
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harborside Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had an excellent stay The bed was tolarable but not perfection The rooms were clean and well light. shower head was set at a height designed for a quaker from 1700 but was still a nice bath. Location was quiet and only a few late nighters traversing the streets in fornt of our room We went late in season to avoid the crowds. the Parking was not very good as it was 3 very Large city blocks away but you could luck into a space on the oneway street sometimes. For Food I would recomend the News of America Pub was very nice also the Seafood Shanty were excellent I was not impressed by The Wharf Pub someone needs some training in the kitchen. I have never had such a horribly prepared scallop dinner very greasy. Among the Flowers for Breakfast was excellent. As with all things MV or island for that matter it is a little pricey ever where you go so bare that in mind Dinners ran $90 -120 and full breakfast ran $28 for 2 plus tips. Also fill up if you are taking your car over as gas is a dollar more on the island save a few bucks.

Room Tip: we stayed in 210 had a lovely 4 x 4 window overlooking the boats moorred in the bay. Little to no di...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemm43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Harborside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 132 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent just one night, and were so impressed with this lovely, classic hotel. The decor of the rooms was a bit dated and fussy, but it's what you'd expect in an old, historic building and it was absolutely charming. We had a room in the Chappaquiddick House on the first floor, with a gorgeous view overlooking the Harbor. The walls in the hallway seemed freshly painted and wallpapered, and the rooms were positively immaculate. Oh, and did I mention it'slocated right in the middle of downtown and withing walking distance to absolutely everything?! This was our first time in Edgartown, and what a wonderful first impression it was! Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesp67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Harborside Inn this past week. We had a wonderful time! Our room was on the third floor... no elevator, but it kinda added to the charm of it. The view from the balcony was absolutely breathtaking. It was our first visit to Martha's Vineyard and this hotel is very centrally located in Edgartown.
Pros- Great location, friendly staff, Beautiful view and clean.
Cons- Rooms are kinda dated, small bathroom with no counterspace, no elevator and they do not have an onsite restaurant.
I would stay here again :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This Inn has a great location right next to the docks and downtown Edgartown. Our room was spotlessly clean, quiet and comfortable. The lobby has coffee and tea in the morning. I was nervous since we reserved a garden room and the photo on line was of the outside but it is the same as the king size bedroom photo on line. The other major positive not mentioned on the website is yes there is air conditioning and the site should consider adding that data to the room descriptions.

A few details from our stay. The Wifi and cell service (Verizon) were both spotty (sometimes non-existent) in our room and when available it was not very powerful. You will just have to relax with friends or family while here. :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I spend four nights at the Harborside Inn in Edgartown at the end July 2012. The staff at the end were all very nice and attentive. The Inn is well located in downtown Edgartown close to shops, restaurants and the harbor. The room was very basic, but clean. The price was very expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rafe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I spend a weekend at Harborside Inn this past August. Since we did not have a car the location of the hotel is great as you can walk to restaurants and shops and the bus stop (if you need to get to another part of the island). The property is very nice, with beautiful flowers in the courtyard and a very nice pool with harbor views. There is also a nice common area by the reception desk that overlooks the harbor and is a nice place to read. These features of the hotel make up for the small rooms (we had a standard room) that are decent for a couple, but would be tight for a family. We found the rooms to be simple and clean overall. Overall, we had a pleasant stay and look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SailorGrl103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I love this place due to service and location, however rooms need to be updated and it is a little pricey! The grounds are beautiful and your right in the center of everything. The staff goes above and beyond.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmhvineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.4 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
977 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
812 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
614 reviews
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
134 reviews
5.2 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Address: 3 S Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8137
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range: $95 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Edgartown
Harborside Inn Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing