We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edgartown Commons is great!”
Review of Edgartown Commons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Edgartown Commons
Reviewed June 19, 2009

After reading a few of these less than stellar reviews, I was somewhat dubious about our upcoming stay at Edgartown Commons. My fears were 100% unfounded. Our apartment was AWESOME. We had a spacious 2 bedroom unit with a huge living room, 1.5 baths, a good-sized kitchen and a dining area with a table for 6. Sliding doors opened up to a back patio with a picnic table and a nice-sized yard. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, the pool was great and the location is perfect. It wasn't luxurious but we knew we didn't book the Ritz. As soon as we arrived, we began planning our next stay. I would recommend Edgartown Commons to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DH1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 78 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2008

I read the reviews too, but notice how old they are, someone took this place in hand and made it fresh and inviting. , For the money it was my best choice. Was I pleasantly surpised, the room was clean, the people were pleasant. Yes there is no air, which is true of about 80% of the island rooms, for a couple of hundred more a night you can get air. We tend to travel in June and Sept, and we were cool not hot.
There is no daily maid service, which is something we dnt' hae at home either. For us Edgartown is the only place to stay and the llocation is perfect. We are world traelers so use to the kind of accomodatins we get in Europe.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patience9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Several of us stayed at the Edgartown Commons for a few days this summer. I had read a few negative reviews but was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Although the rooms were not entirely modern and the bathrooms were old, they were comfortable and cottage-like. We enjoyed having the kitchen and living room area and the location of the hotel couldn't have been better. We would all definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We had read some "iffy" reviews on Trip Advisor, so we were a little nervous, but we were SO pleased with our stay. True, there's no maid service, but guess what - I don't have daily maid service at home either, so it was no biggie. The suite was perfect for our family; we were able to put our kids to sleep in our room so that we could visit out in the living room, then we just moved them when we were ready to go to bed. There were plenty of other families there, so we didn't feel guilty when our kids made noise, (as kids do.) We had plenty of kitchen supplies (utensils, dishes, appliances) and bed/bath linens. We walked to the main part of town with our young children and it wasn't more than they could handle. It was the perfect mix of bed-and-breakfast hospitality and hotel anonymity. We'd definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boymommynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

We have been traveling to the Vineyard for the past 14 years.We love the Vineyard and although there are many great locations we like staying in Edgartown.Pre children we stayed at a different hotel in Edgartown which was also very nice ,but not as kids friendly as the Edgartown Commons. They have hotel rooms ,effeciencies and small cottages as well as a swimming pool ,grills to barbecue and a small playground . The Commons are located right on the top of Main Street. It is very close to the bus lines and high speed ferrys and is easily acsessible to the entire island.The management is very friendly and very helpful. Although there are no air conditioners in the rooms it has never been a problem for us ,at night a natural breeze blows threw the Commons and we almost always wake up under the covers. . We have been there in June/July/August and our only complaint is when it is time to come home. The Edgartown Commons is the Vineyard place to be!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tboynton1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2007

The Commons provides simple and rustic accommodation in a fine location. The friendly staff and the nice children’s play area along with the reasonable rates, make this setting a good bet if you choose to be on a budget.

Stayed: May 2007
Thank FriendlyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2006

I'm shocked to see that some travelers actually liked this place. I guess they don't travel very often. Let me begin my complaints. First of all the rooms don't have air condition. I guess this isn't a problem if you plan to stay during winter. In lieu of AC the rooms have fans that are very old, dirty and are missing parts. The Management does not provide maid service. The furniture is old and dilapidated, it makes me wonder if the owner of the hotel raids frat houses for their furniture. If you happen to stay on the first floor you will have no privacy because you will have to keep the windows open to stay somewhat cool. The windows shades are cheap and flimsy and provide no real privacy. It would be very easy for a thief to break into a first floor room because most guess leave the windows open to keep the rooms cool. Thankfully, MV doesn't have crime problem because if it did the Edgartown Commons would surely be a target.
I know some readers will think I'm being overly critical of the Edgartown Commons, but if the complaints I listed combined with unresponsive management doesn't bother you I Suggest you stay at the EC. I left the EC after one night.

Stayed: July 2006
3  Thank thedudorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.5 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
998 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#9 of 10 in Edgartown
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#2 of 10 in Edgartown
232 reviews
4.0 mi away
Island Inn
Island Inn
#7 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgartown Commons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgartown Commons

Address: 20 Peases Point Way, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Edgartown
Price Range: $95 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgartown Commons 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Edgartown Commons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgartown Commons Hotel Edgartown
Edgartown Commons MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing