We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accomodations and Location”
Review of Kelley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kelley House
Ranked #9 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 20, 2010

After canceling a lease at a dumpy cottage, we found the Kelley House an absolutely perfect place for our family vacation. The rooms are very well done and spotlessly clean. The location could not have been any better with everything in Edgartown in easy walking distance. We still have two nights left. Thanks for a great stay so far.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtgraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 323 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2010

We stayed at the Kelley House for two nights in late June 2010 and could not have been happier with the stay. The service, from the front desk personnel to the housekeepers were very polite and accommodating. The location of the Kelley House couldn't be better. It is literally in the middle of everything and a short walk to anything in Edgartown. The pool was great and the breakfast, while not gourmet by any means, was certainly adequate. We originally planned on staying one night but extended our stay due to the quality of the accomodations. The hotel did not have a room available at first, but they worked very hard to rearrange the bookings for us to allow us to stay in the same room. The staff even offered to store our stroller for us while we stayed in our room. Our third floor king room overlooked the pool and harbor and we found it spacious and clean. We were a bit worried by reading some of the reviews about service, cleanliness, and quality but found the Kelley House to be a great place to stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morganst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a wonderfully, relaxful weekend on the Vineyard. My husband made reservations at the Kelley House and he hadn't read any reviews on the trip advisor website.
I had read the reviews after he had booked the rooms and I agree with most of them. The location is excellent, couldn't be better but the rooms are average at best, they reminded me of a Holiday Inn, and not an updated one. The carpet definately needs to be replaced and the lobby is rather drab. The breakfast was ok at best. I think the bagels must have come from the freezer. The milk and cookies served in the evening - well I've tasted much better store bought. With so many wonderful places to stay on the Island, I would not stay here again. Our next visit we will be staying at the Charlotte Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjsamhest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Very accommodating staff - original room had just been painted/carpeted and because we had a infant we were concerned about the odor and they moved us and our stuff to another room. Very helpful in giving us directions, calling a tour company, restaurant tips, etc, etc, etc. The feather bed, down comforter and the 600 thread count sheets, tv w/dvd player, mini fridge made the time we spent in the room very comfortable. The continental breakfast was what you would expect and the warm, homemade oatmeal raisin cookies with a cold glass of milk was a special treat when we returned at night with the fireplace in the lobby blazing. Compared to some of the other locations we saw on the island, this hotel surpassed them all and I would highly recommend the Kelley House and and as a matter of fact, we are looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Athomp161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

After reading other reviews, I wanted to add my 2 cents about the Kelley House. The location can't be beat. It is indeed pricey for the quality of the accomodation, but welcome to Martha's Vineyard. The hotel is walking distance to everything in Edgartown and what you can't walk to (like good beaches), the shuttle will drive you to. The room was fine, not luxurious in any way, but completely serviceable for our small family of 3 (Mom, Dad and 9 year old boy). I will say that I felt the staff was haughty and unhelpful. Requests for directions or information were met with cold and short response. This hotel could take a step forward if it redecorated the guestrooms, added some light (the place is very, very dark) and improved guest services.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
Thank poodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Kelley house is totally overpriced for what you get. The room was dark but spacious. The bathroom was good and the bedroom / bathroom were clean.Central location was a plus. The breakfast facility is abysmal ! Some mornings there was nowhere to sit and eat it ! A total rip off. The staff were not too friendly and one member I was talking to didn't seem to know too much about the area. We moved out and went to the Harbour View. Again very expensive but at least it had a sea view

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinAurelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

We stayed at the Kelly House for 3 nights in August. The location is very convenient and the staff is great. The first floor rooms are musty and really require a good dehumidifier. The noise level is awful. We could hear the doors slam to the pool and garden, people in the hallways, and the guests above us. Guests on the second floor said they had issues with noise as well. The continental breakfast was fair. We opted to go elsewhere for a pastry and coffee. While we loved staying right in town, it was a disappointment for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpaltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
998 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
824 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#2 of 10 in Edgartown
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelley House

Address: 23 Kelly St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8162
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range: $117 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelley House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Groupon, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelley House Hotel Edgartown
Kelley House Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing