We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely room, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kelley House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kelley House to your Saves list
Kelley House
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   23 Kelly Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Offer here!
Ranked #6 of 11 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
124 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely room, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Our room at the Kelley House featured super-comfortable beds with Mission-style headboards and a bathroom with excellent water pressure in the shower. We appreciated the convenience of an in-room fridge. In the morning, there were complimentary muffins and coffee in the lobby; in the evening, there were cookies and milk. Our only complaint was inadequate outdoor lighting, especially in the parking lot.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saltyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    78
    39
    21
    5
See reviews for
75
113
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The best location, best hotel and best staff. You can't beat this hotel. Everything is 5 stars. Checked in late, in fact we were the last ones. The front desk guy was so welcoming. Spend a lot of time telling us what was going on that weekend. Super staff.

Room Tip: Chappy house is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BuffaloDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Before I leave the USA after two weeks 'leaf peeping' I wanted to upload a comment about Kelley House in Edgartown MV. We had a wonderful stay here, from the outset of being shown to a stunning room with classic music playing quietly to welcome us, through courteous (and humorous) attention to attending efficiently to our every request, it has been a joy. Having read some of the other reviews I consider that either the hotel have taken note or that some people are over critical. Yes, the room lacked the splendour of a flat screen TV! What? Stay at home and watch TV! The room was spotless, roomy, well stocked and very well serviced. My ONLY criticism would be that not everyone wants to start the day with a chocolate overload, so vary the muffins served at the simple breakfast and include something plain. That is all! Everything else was simply perfect, the hotel is so full of character and retains a lot of the original features of an old Cape property. our room was on the third floor at the corner so we had fabulous views of Chappaquidick Island and the harbour. Edgartown has been the highlight of our trip, everyone we met en route through New England and Vermont (1,000) miles commented on the beauty of MV, to the point I was concerned we would be disappointed, it was almost 'over sold', not so......it is beautiful. Wander through the gorgeous narrow streets of Edgartown and look at the homes of the whaling captains, you will feel as though you are on a film set. The houses are amazingly well preserved. The Main Street has discreet signage for the ever present shops, but the shops are tasteful. Eat at The Wharf and enjoy a verandah lunch at Nancy's overlooking Church Pier at Oaks Bluff. We cycled for 30 miles, saw stunning and beautiful houses and fabulous neat gardens. We visited towards the end of the season which seems to be on Columbus Day, and some places had already closed with others planning to, but we did not have to endure crowds and it was a perfect end to a fabulous holiday. If you have a bucket list, put Martha's Vineyard on it, plan a trip for at least three days - and pack your credit card, it isn't cheap! But it is an experience and an unforgettable one. Edgartown was definitely my favourite place and Kelley House the perfect location. We also left our car on the mainland, it is very expensive to ferry a car across, but the local travel on MV is good, and we like to cycle so went prepared. It costs $10 per day to park in the special park for the ferry from Falmouth and a free shuttle runs to and from the car park to the ferry.

Room Tip: We had room 316 on the top floor corner, the views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smartee263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Though the Kelley House is quite expensive during peak season, I thought the hotel was fantastic for a weekend stay. The location is perfect! It's located right in downtown Edgartown just steps from all the shops, restaurants and bus stop. They serve milk and cookies every night and coffee with delicious fresh baked muffins in the morning. Rooms were a little dated, but staff was pleasant and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed here a few times - in the Chappy house - a third floor one-bedroom suite. This time, my friend booked it for Labor day weekend and spoke to Heather about it multiple times before check in day. When we arrived they had "upgraded" us to a three bedroom suite with no deck or views of any kind. The Chappy House has a great deck and views - which is why we stay there. There was a "Manager's Hold" on our room. Nice bait and switch. The manager showed up after multiple phone calls to his cell. We did finally get our room back. Other conditions: needs many updates, no toilet paper holder, very late maid service during the day, cobwebs, pain falling off walls, pictures and mirrors missing, poor hair dryer. Restroom in main lobby was atrocious when I went in at about 2:30pm. The pillows in the rooms are not great at all, and there are no extra blankets or sheets anywhere - even for the sleep sofa.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a view. Save your confirmation and bring it with you! The Chappy hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Io79032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
449 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel had many plus points e.g. "free" wifi, "free" muffins and drinks in the morning and "free "milk and cookies in the evening, classically decorated, large bedrooms, free shower gel./body wash in the bahtroom, convenient location, obliging staff, swimming pool. However all of this had minus points as well. There was no instruction manual in the room so we had to ask a few basic questions at first e.g is there a password for wifi as there had been in our previous hotel and were given a reply but rather grudgingly from the only american male member of staff we ecountered.The time and amount of the free food was a bit haphazard, we came at the same time every day, sometines it was in plentiful supply sometimes the cookies had gone. TV was old fashioned, vacuuming the corridor outside our room at 8am on Saturday morning was a nice touuch!! The taps were also ferocious in the bathroom and was a case of all or nothn! One day we had been left no bath towels or shower gel. We had half used one gel and left it by the shower to use again. It had been taken and not replaced. When we went to ask for just what we needed a whole set of everything arrived and the towels were damp! There were no instructions either in the room or at the pool about changing facilities or how to get towels and no one to ask. It is very difficult to park on arrival and fortunately after circling for abt 20 mins someone did leave from the front of the hotel so we could park there and register. We were then directed to the hotel car park which was not far away but decided not to move the car until the day we were leaving in case this should happen again. We also didn't need to move the car as everything was centrally located.
We just felt that all these little details could have been put right before they even happened with a strong hand at the helm. All the staff were obliging but couldn't really see what needed doing until it was too late, such a shame because this could be an excellent hotel with a little more attention to detail.

Room Tip: We had a corner room at the back which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plattypuss52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The place is not horrible but I regret not looking for a different hotel in Edgartown. The reception (foreign employees there for the summer) are friendly and helpful. The location is pretty good; lots of shops and businesses surrounding it. It also has complimentary parking, pool, and (free but weak signaled) wifi. However, it would be considered a very low end hotel anywhere in the mainland US. The issues I have are that the rooms are very outdated and have a moldy feel, small spiderwebs are located in several areas around the beds, there is no elevator, and you can hear everything going on in the building and feels like its waiting to cave in. You can hear every word your neighbor is saying as if sitting with them, you can hear and feel the vibration of every step someone down the hall makes, every door closed sounds as if slammed, and the vacuum cleaner several rooms away may as well be right outside your door. For $365/night, I hope they use that money to make some adjustments.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 821 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#3 of 11 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelley House

Property: Kelley House
Address: 23 Kelly Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelley House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelley House Hotel Edgartown
Kelley House Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing