We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, great Inn!”
Review of Kelley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kelley House
Ranked #9 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We took our boys, ages 12 and 10, to the Vineyard for the first time and choose the Kelley House as they were welcoming and flexible about kids and how to sleep everybody in just one room from the moment we called to inquire. We booked a single room with 2 double beds. When we arrived, the Innkeeper, Steven, offered to upgrade us at NO cost to a large suite so that we'd be even more comfortable. It was awesome and he was so gracious, truly interested in making sure we all had a great visit. All of his suggestions for where to eat, what to do, etc. were spot-on. The whole staff was very nice and we had a fantastic time. The location is also wonderful, within minutes of Main Street but just a bit off of it, which is nice for avoiding the heavy pedestrian, car, & bike, traffic. Would give the Kelley House the very highest of recommendations in all areas and would love to return one day in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 323 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

Kelley House, is the near the marina in Edgartown, and is a perfect location for any Martha's Vineyard vacation. This hotel has top notch service from the minute you're greeted by the doorman to the interaction you may have with the staff throughout your stay.

They have their own parking lots, which comes in handy in a place like Edgartown. Each morning, there's coffee, tea and muffins available, and at night, cookies and milk are also made available to all guests.

The rooms are quite spacious, they're clean and the beds are very comfortable. Each day the housekeeping staff did an excellent job on keeping the room clean.

Another pleasant surprise is that in each room they put 2 re-usable water bottles for guests to keep as a souvenir.

All guests should note that there are no elevators in the building, so you will need to take the stairs if you have an upper room floor. Anyone who cannot handle stairs should check with the hotel before booking to see if they can make arrangements for you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GNRMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Great staff, location and excellent accommodations! There was not one thing i didnt like about this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I went back to the Kelley House in Edgartown for the second time. I stayed a week and enjoyed my stay immensely. Steven, the Inn manager is amazing, takes time with customers, offers good advice and tips to visit the island. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. They even remembered me from the previous year and since I was traveling alone, they were very attentive. Coffee and muffins are served in the morning in the lobby which creates a nice atmosphere. I met with other guests and chatted a bit. The rooms are large enough and manicured, the bed (and I have bad back problems) is excellent. The restaurant next door (the mewes) is like an Irish pub and offers good salads, fish and beers, food is very good and service excellent. I hope to return in September or next spring!
Michele Franck

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We went back to stay at the Kelley House in Edgartown for a second time and this time for 3 nights during the 4th of July!!
From start to finish this Inn has it all from the most amazing Innkeeper (Steve) to all the staff being so helpful and friendly (whenever we needed anything they were right there to help with suggestions of where to eat to going to a local animal farm with our son).
We own a travel agency in Beverly MA and travel about 5 times a year to visit properties for our clients and we loved this property so much we decided to return to the Kelley House again (we are actually booked to go back again next year too and taking my brother and his family with us this time....best to book in advance as this place is becoming so popular with guests).
We travel with our 4 year son all the time and he loved the pool on property here (we were there everyday with the other families). Steve and his staff planned an excellent Barbeque by the pool for all the guest on 4th of July afternoon with hamburgs, hotdogs, watermelon, drinks and and the best italian ice!
Our Room was so wonderful....last year we stayed in the main building which was great and this year we decided to try the Chappy House building with a bedroom, living room and kitchenette and a large balcony....the room was so clean and beautiful and the bed was the most comfortable bed (like the heavenly beds). We had coffee in our room and if you go to the lobby in the morning they have coffee and great muffins for all the guests and in the evening they have cookies (my son loved this).

When you stay at the Kelley House either in the main building or one of their other buildings, you walk right outside your door and the picturesque town of Edgartown is right there with all the great restaurants and shops we didn't really need to use our car unless we took a ride around the island.
One of the other great things about this Inn is that you have access to the facilities at the Harbor View Hotel at the point where the Lighthouse is located and the most beautiful peaceful beach.
You feel so at home staying here it is wonderful, we did not want to leave!

I also need to add that my 4 year old son loves Steve so much that before we left to visit the Kelley House (and Steve) he wanted to make him a card (well actually a couple cards) and also made him some brownies (I think Steve enjoyed them and shared them with his staff).

If tripadvisor has a 10 rating....I would give it!! They love what they do and when people love what they do, you have an amazing place that people just want to keep coming back.

Great job to everyone at the Kelley House, keep up the great work, we can not wait to come back!

Room Tip: Any room you stay in here would be wonderful....if you have a family and need more space, you can st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swallace123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Kelley House. I can't wait to come back and stay here again. I highly recommend staying here. The rooms were spacious, staff was extremely attentive and accomodating to the guests, and the atmosphere is phenomenal. You have to come to Martha's Vineyard and experience it yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The Kelley House property is comprised of four or five separate buildings. We stayed in the Garden Hotel, which houses the front desk and cozy lobby with a working fireplace, the last week of June 2012. The room had a king bed, very comfortable I might add, an overstuffed chair/ottoman, desk and chair, refrigerator, flat screen TV in an armoire, another dresser/2 night stands and four large windows. Very roomy, with a good size bathroom with good water pressure in the shower.The rooms were cleaned very quickly each a.m. Free muffins & coffee in the a.m., milk & cookies at night. The pool was clean and in the sun most of the day. The location was primo! A minute walk to a plethora of shops, restaurants, breakfast nooks, marine activities and the ferry to Chappaquiddick Island. If you love to garden, stroll around the neighborhood for gardens and window boxes that are sheer artistry. Although we purposely brought our jeep to tour the entire island, the public transportation is excellent. All staff members were friendly and accommodating. We were on the 3rd floor (#302) a corner room. Minor inconveniences: The hallways do not have AC, and there is no elevator. Parking right on the property isn't always available, you have to walk maybe 4 minutes to a satelite lot. None of these would deter us from staying there again in a heartbeat, but since we base our hotel selection by reading other TripAdvisor reviews, I like to list pros & cons. If you like beachcombing, you must take the 2 minute ferry over to Chappy. Thesmall beach on either side of the ferry is a treasure trove of shells! If you're a fan of craft beer, the Newes Pub next door has an excellent rack of 5 beers of your choice that they have on tap, at a bargain price. We really enjoyed the "bento boxes" at Chesca's, a very unique concept of serving your meal, including soup, salad, vegetable, garlic chive mashed potato's and your choice of entree (shrimpt, chicken, salmon) in a lacquered box. If you go to Oak Bluffs, make sure you see the gingerbread cottages, with beautiful gardens/inviting front porches on a side street off of Circuit St. If you go to Aquinnah to see the Gay Head cliffs, it is well worth the 10 - 15 minute walk down to Moshup Beach, where you can see the colorful cliffs up close. Spectacular! If you like big waves, South Beach was wonderful. We watched kite boarders in action for hours. State Beach, was nice also, just pull over to the side of the road and walk up one of the well spaced boardwalks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PastelPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
998 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
824 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#2 of 10 in Edgartown
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelley House

Address: 23 Kelly St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8162
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range: $116 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelley House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelley House Hotel Edgartown
Kelley House Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing