We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Quiet weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kelley House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelley House
Ranked #8 of 11 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quiet weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My wife and I went to the Kelley House for Veterans Day weekend. I figured that it would be a quiet place for my wife to do some work on her doctoral dissertation. I was right. Our room was on the third floor. It was very spacious and while it was located close to the top of the staircase, it was very quiet with the door closed. I imagine it might be a little noisier in the middle of the summer, but the hotel WAS fairly busy that weekend. The hotel is located conveniently to everything in downtown Edgartown. The little village was still bustling on that November weekend. Many of the seasonal places were closed, but there were enough bars, shops and restaurants open to keep me occupied and out of my wife's hair. Steve is great. Whether it was reccomending a restaurant, checking to make sure if everything was satisfactory, or reminding us of the evening milk and cookies. We had such a great time, that as soon as we got home, we made a reservation to stay for a week in August. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmc334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    84
    41
    22
    8
See reviews for
79
118
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I spent a winter weekend here with my husband in November, and probably won't return due to the hotel seeming like many other hotels - somewhat unremarkable, like a non-chain Holiday Inn in ambience - our room could've used another picture or two on the white walls. We slept with difficulty as the heat was blasting, and we had no way to control it. When we asked the desk, we were informed that the system is either optimized for heat or A/C but not both, and someone upstairs had asked to override the A/C with heat. Boy, did it work. The little sleep we got was interrupted by heavy walking footsteps across the ceiling in the wee hours - we've read of a ghost here, so maybe we were lucky!

We did enjoy two meals in the brick-walled pub next door, complete with very good, local beer on tap.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SophiaLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I've spent many a summer vacation at the Kelley House in Edgartown and have never been disappointed. The rooms are well appointed and clean, the staff accommodating and friendly, the views and gardens/grounds superb. Breakfast is a grab and go situation with coffee, cereals, fruits, juices and yogurts. At 4 pm tea is served and at 830 PM there are always fresh baked cookies and milk to be had in the lobby. I highly recommend the Kelley House.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knitwitnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We spent a long weekend at the Kelley House and it was wonderful. Your room is set, music playing, warm and inviting. You are treated like a member of the family. Steve is the best!! He recommends restaurants and greets everyone witha warm smile and hello. The topper is the cookies and milk at night. No one does it better.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annawilliams60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Just spent the weekend on Martha's Vineyard and stayed at the Kelley House in Edgartown. I was very happy about choosing this as our hotel. An easy to find location right in the heart of Edgartown and about a 20 minute drive from the mainland ferry. Reasonable off-season rate, easy to check in, very pleasant staff, a glowing fireplace in the lobby, clean, comfortable room and bed and very good coffee and muffins for guests in the morning. Looking forward to staying there again soon.

Thanks !

Room Tip: The king-sized bed was was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ITSLINC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stayed at the Kelly House for one night. Upon entering the Inn, one feels the history at once.... It is a wonderful place to stay with beautiful rooms. The Inn Keeper and staff made us feel most welcome and did everything to ensure that my stay was very good. The location is right in historic Edgartown and The Kelly House is a perfect location to stay while visiting Martha’s Vineyard. I hope & plan to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Anytime you have the pleasure of visiting Martha's Vineyard during an unseasonably warm fall weekend you should consider yourself blessed. This time we got to spend it at the charming Kelley House. Could not have been happier with the gorgeous room and the dreamy-soft beds. Will definitely be spending time there again.

The Newes from America Tavern was fabulous, too! I just wish they'd had t-shirts so we could have offered a little publicity for them during the rest of the trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJMcLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 851 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelley House

Property: Kelley House
Address: 23 Kelly St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8162
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelley House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelley House Hotel Edgartown
Kelley House Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing