We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hob Knob Inn has the most wonderful atmosphere, beautiful rooms and attentive staff any traveler could hope for!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hob Knob

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hob Knob
Ranked #1 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Hob Knob Inn has the most wonderful atmosphere, beautiful rooms and attentive staff any traveler could hope for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

The Hob Knob B&B in Edgartown, MA is an absolute delight. The staff is warm and accomodating.
We arrived a bit early for our stay and our room was not ready. We were offered refreshing lemonade and found seats on the charming side porch.
The wait was not long and once we saw the room we were not disappointed. It was lovely. There was plenty of space and the beds were very comfortable.
We loved the location. It was an easy walk to town and a short drive to State Beach or South Beach.
What makes Hob Knob stand out is the attention to detail. There were beach chairs, towels and bottles of water offered to our family as we would head off to the beach. There were coffees, teas and light snacks available throughout the day in the dining area. Our kids loved the help yourself set up. The bountiful and delicious breakfasts were such a treat. Whether we chose the eggs and bacon or the pancakes we were not disappointed!
We had a wonderful experience at Hob Knob. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    59
    16
    6
    8
See reviews for
64
312
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

Hob Knob is a cute inn but you don't get what you pay for. You get the feeling you're a guest in someones home but they don't really want you there.
The atmosphere is cold and the place is small. We were watched closely the whole time and didn't feel comfortable enough to even go and get their complimentary coffee. Breakfast was good but there isn't an abundance of food.
I wouldn't recommend staying there, there's a strange atmosphere and the minute you book they charge your credit card with the whole amount and you get the feeling thats all they care about. There are a lot of people working on the reception sitting around talking and not doing anything. I recommend they start to work on their customer service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank cara_scu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

My husband and I spent two nights at the Hob Knob after our Vineyard wedding and had a wonderful stay. We can't say enough about the staff - they were fabulous and took great care of my husband and his groomsmen the day of our wedding. The hotel is very charming, and our room was comfortable and clean. We will definitely recommend the Hob Knob to friends and family who plan to visit the Vineyard.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderluster15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

FANTASTIC tiny little hotel!
My brand new husband and I arrived at Martha's Vineyard on Sunday evening after a weekend wedding celebration. Completely exhausted, all we wanted to do was sleep...and boy did we ever! The room (we were in No. 3) was quiet, nicely cool, and the bed was soft, cozy with fantastic pillows.

If you're in need of some nice R&R...this is a great place for that. Once you have some time to recoup, they have bicycles to rent, and a boat that you can charter (we did the sunset cruise with Captain Steve who was a fantastic tour guide on everything from the fabulous houses lining the harbor to the way that they raise the local oyster).

The front desk is very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast is quite nice. They have a nice porch area that's just perfect for a late night glass of wine (they have an honor bar, and there's a wine store on the Edgarstown main strip...about 4 min walk from the Inn).

Oh...fantastic bath robes...I pretty much lived in mine every minute I was inside the room, and may have actually slept in it accidentally one night. Whoops!

They also have a pretty good "business center" which is just a computer hooked up to the internet, but there's a printer which we thought was pretty helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Polusia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

My husband and I were very impressed with the Hob Knob. It is one of the best Inns we have stayed at. I would highly recommend this place for couples looking for a romantic stay and a nice central location for shopping, eating and activities (located near the bike path). Here are some of the reasons I would recommend this Inn:

- Beautiful rooms (updated and "refined look" compared to the typical"antique-style" B&B)
- Nice spa on site
- Small fitness room (difficult to find a fitness room at Inns / B&Bs on Martha's Vineyard)
- Bike rentals
- Beautiful outdoor sitting areas
- Beautiful indoor sitting areas
- Wonderful breakfast
- Very friendly staff
- Complimentary port in cozy lounge area
- Wonderful afternoon tea
- Located in Edgartown which is the nicest and most quaint town on Martha's Vineyard (compared to Vineyard Haven and Oaks Bluff)

This will be our lodging spot for any future trips to Martha's Vineyard.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastosceola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South County RI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

The cleanliness was outstanding! The room was straightened at least twice a day. Only two bath towels per room though. The street noise was constant and annoying, otherwise the breakfast on the porch or in the garden would have been perfect. The breakfast was very good. A menu to choose from, cooked to order and included in the price. My big complaint was after spending $500 per day for the Spa Package they asked my wife would she like a 60 minute or 90 minute session without ever mentioning the extra fee. They did the same with me so I know they didn't mention the extra charge! I just decided 60 minutes was enough and was under the impression it was included. It was never mentioned at check out either. I discovered the extra $115 later while checking my credit card. That practise is what I call dishonest so their greed cost them any repeat business from us. Caveat Emptor! Unless you really don't care, ask what it costs!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELW_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

We stayed at the Hob Knob for 3 nights and were so sad to have to leave. The hotel is absolutely immaculate inside and out. The gardens are beautiful and the porch is so nice to sit out on and read in the morning. The staff are extremely attentive.
This has the feel of a bed and breakfast in that it is in an old home but once inside it is decorated very tastefully but everything feels new and fresh. The breakfasts were wonderful with beautiful spreads of fresh fruit, homemade muffins , breads and fresh egg, waffles and pancakes made to please. Can't imagine anyone not liking the food.
The location is wonderful. It is about a 5 minute walk to the downtown area. I liked this as it was very quite where we stayed and after seeing some of the inns in the town felt that it would be too noisy. We walked all around the area and felt that the Hob Knob was from outside appearances the best. This is a very special place to go to relax or for a romantic escape. There are several common areas where you can go to sit and talk or read. I would not recommend this for those traveling with young children because the atmosphere is quite and there are so many things that could be broken, I would be a nervous wreck if I were there with toddlers.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lattelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.6 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
5.1 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
4.9 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#3 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#3 of 10 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hob Knob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hob Knob

Property: The Hob Knob
Address: 128 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hob Knob 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Room Luxury Boutique Hotel in the heart of Edgartown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hob Knob reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
Hob Knob Edgartown
Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
The Hob Knob Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing