We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Three times a charm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hob Knob

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hob Knob
Ranked #1 of 11 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Three times a charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had read about the Hob Knob last Spring and booked a room as soon as we could find a free weekend and ferry tickets (taking the car is essential in Martha's Vineyard). Twice we had to cancel (raincheck policy) due to bad weather until finally we made it there last weekend. IT WAS WORTH THE EFFORT to keep trying! Diane, the Manager is greatly experienced as an operator and the night manager (we might have just given him a promotion), Michael, knowledgable and interested in every guest's satisfaction. Service being the second most important thing in our travels, the charm of each staff member we encountered ran neck 'n neck with the charm of the Inn. Most importantly, cleanliness and addition to detail….Hob Knob was meticulous, well appointed and actually "shined"! Within a few steps of town and yet quiet in the garden patio for a wonderful breakfast, we are anxious to return as soon as we can.

Room Tip: A room on the back, away from the street…perhaps the top floor, where the ceiling is higher giving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    52
    15
    5
    8
See reviews for
57
271
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gates Mills, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My daughter and I first visited Edgartown 10 years ago with friends and fell in love with this charming hotel with its beautiful setting, delicious breakfasts (the homemade, fruit scones were my daughter's favorite), comfy beds and cheerful staff. So booking our stay at The Hob Knob was first on our list when planning a trip back to the vineyard for this summer's Fourth of July celebration.
Happily it was as beautiful a place as we remembered. The staff was great with suggestions for bike riding, historical walks, farm to table dining and notable shops. Our pretty room was spotless and the bedding heavenly. Our first stop every morning was the quintessential wrap-around porch for coffee and the morning paper followed by the delicious homemade breakfast. The location is prime and we had front-row seating for the vineyard's annual parade. We definitely won't be waiting another ten years before returning to this island oasis of charm and relaxation!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I would highly recommend the Hob Knob in Edgartown! The room was fantastic, the gardens were beautiful and the food was delicious. The staff made every effort to make us happy and their efforts were successful. The bikes were a great way to get to know the island and the staff was helpful in planning routes and sites to see.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was our first trip to the northeast and we had a great time. We arrived mid-week and left on Saturday morning. Unfortunately we hit the first week of the in-season, so the rates were higher. The number of Edgartown visitors was noticeably higher on the beginning of the weekend. My recommendation would be to visit during the week. I would be very interested to see what the off-season is like.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our 4th of July weekend at the Hob Nob was everything we hoped for. Delicious breakfast on the patio (love the scones!), watching the parade from the front porch with complimentary beverages and treats, and the really nice bikes that made getting to South Beach so easy. I would definitely recommend this to my friends. Staff were very courteous and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RVCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Loved it from beginning to end. Cheerful greeting at the front desk. Attention to our reservation requests. Attentive help taking our luggage to our very attractive room. Very informative suggestions for dinner reservations. Very good advice from island loving staff! Delicous breakfast the following two mornings during our stay. Great bikes with maps and yummy picnic prepared in their kitchen. for us.........Lovely afternoon tea. Wonderful antiques and cozy surroundings. Would definitely return and may even take the whole hotel for a corporate retreat. I hear they do those really well. Highly recommend this charming property

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

A reservation was made well in advance, relying on hotel personnel to recommend the right rooms (we were booking several rooms for wedding guests). After several calls, touching base with hotel staff, upon arrival, the set up was not what was discussed. Instead of trying to be helpful and sort out the reservation clerk's error (yes, they did acknowledge it was their error), they held their ground that they could nothing for us. What an attitude from a small hotel that charges Ritz-Carlton rates. The hotel was clear on their policy of not issuing refunds, but snuck in extra charges for what they said were extra guests, when the number of people we were booking for never changed. The owner basically told us we could take our business elsewhere if we didn't agree to the last minute up-charge, telling us, "This is how we do things on the vineyard." Cute room, food looks pretty, but not tasty and served cold. Staff tried to make up for owner's rudeness, but too little too late. But we will be taking proprietor's advice and we are booking elsewhere this year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank JKinLA_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 694 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 837 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.3 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hob Knob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hob Knob

Property: The Hob Knob
Address: 128 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Room Luxury Boutique Hotel in the heart of Edgartown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Hob Knob reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
Hob Knob Edgartown
Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
The Hob Knob Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing