We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hob Knob

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hob Knob
Ranked #1 of 11 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
newburyport
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sweet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is a sweet inn but I think a bit pricey for the size of the room and the fact that every time we opened our door we could smell bacon. It's a quick walk to the restaurants and shops in Edgartown. There were plenty of places to curl up with a book inside or out and the tea in the afternoon was a nice touch. There was breakfast every morning which I didn't have, maybe if I was a breakfast person it he bacon smell wouldn't have bothered me. At night there was a noise that was annoying, there was a white noise machine in the room for our use. Not sure for the motor sounds we could hear or because the walls were thin. I could hear a woman reading a story to a child one night. We have stayed at the harbor view for years and decided to try something different. Not sure what we will do in the future.

Room Tip: Wish I had a chance to see the size of some of the other rooms, you might want to ask if they vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank needlepointer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    51
    15
    5
    8
See reviews for
51
258
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sagamore, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

17 room pretty boutique hotel- rooms are perfect and private. Patios, porches and gardens quintessentially mv. Staff welcoming and friendly. Walk to downtown edgartown- bike to south beach or oak bluffs. Have always gone the Harbor View Hotel route- now sold on the Hob Nob. Breakfast - delicious!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandi41798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ma.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We found a 1/2 price deal during the week and decided to try someplace new. WOW, we travel a lot and this place exceeded our expectations. It's lovely, tucked away yet close to everything. Free breakfast, afternoon tea with goodies, complimentary port wine, perfect beds and service make this place very special. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crazy4travelKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We just returned from a fabulous stay at the hob knob. The room although on the smaller side, was extremely charming and well equipped. The king bed was very comfortable with lovely linens. The breakfast selection is fabulous and very fresh. The staff is extremely knowledgable and helpful, we will most definitely return and recommend to our family/ friends. The only negative comment is the spa services are very overpriced, the massage was excellent but far too expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McNamara11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
970 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

What a great place! We stayed here 2 nights as part of a Backroads Bike Tour Group -- and we were very impressed with The Hob Knob.

It's obvious that a lot of thought & effort goes into making this an elegant place to stay, while it is at the same time -- so comfortable. Lovely sitting rooms and porch.
We had a very nice private wine party on the back patio.
Breakfast was very good.
Unfortunately we weren't around to take advantage of tea time :-(
Excellent location / easy walking to everything in Edgartown.

Night on our own - we did dinner at Newes Pub based on staff recommendation. Great suggestion.

Wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rollngstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Babylon, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Clean and quiet, my two most important requirements. Great breakfast and afternoon tea. Nice spa as well. Close to town. Only slight drawback was street noise which would probably be worse at high season, so take one star off if that's important to you.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
262 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 756 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Warm and helpful customer service, wonderful attention to detail and a beautiful location....what more could you ask for?

We have always played with the idea of opening our own INN sometime in the future. We travel a great deal and take mental notes everywhere we visit as to what each Accommodation is doing right and what we would do differently. I can honestly say that the Hob Knob offers an example of exactly what we would want our own guests' experience to be.

Every detail of the INN is well thought out. Quality, well maintained appointments throughout the Inn. Our room was quiet, comfortable and well appointed. Nice thick, plush towels and soft sheets in a New England decor fitting of the Island of MV. The breakfast and daytime offerings from the kitchen were "above and beyond." Absolutely delicious.

What made our off season visit special though was the helpfulness and attentiveness of the staff and especially Diane, the Hob Knob's manager. If you are able, I recommend following her lead and suggestions as she creates an experience tailored to your interests. Everything from regions and pockets of the Island to explore to shopping and restaurants to enjoy, her advice was right on the mark.

If you are interested in the lovely, Small Boutique Hotel experience, you should look no further.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Msk6261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 823 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
5.1 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#3 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hob Knob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hob Knob

Property: The Hob Knob
Address: 128 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Room Luxury Boutique Hotel in the heart of Edgartown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Hob Knob reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
Hob Knob Edgartown
Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
The Hob Knob Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing