We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay but...”
Review of The Hob Knob

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hob Knob
Ranked #1 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

A very cute spot but we thought over-priced for the size of the room (we have stayed in several places in Edgartown). The bathroom was VERY small. The air conditioning was controlled from the front desk so the room seemed too warm much of the time. The beautiful porch has the constant din of big trucks going by. The breakfast that comes with the price of the room was just okay. I have a pet peeve for pricey inns that nickel/dime you by charging $7.00 for a bottle of water in the room, don't want to change the sheets or give you fresh towels and toiletries (shampoo & conditioner) all in the name of being "eco-friendly" and charge you to rent bikes. The "noise" device in the room was hysterical. We enjoyed the stay but will not go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 569 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

From the ferry, we biked to Hob Knob Inn with only our backpacks of bare basics. However, we ended up having a grand & luxurious time at this B&B because it is top quality, great service, yummy homemade breakfast & afternoon tea & tasteful, classy decor throughout. Anthony, Scott & staff were so knowledgeable about where to eat & bike....always helpful & professional! There is a book of menus of their recommended restaurants in the sitting room too. They also have a great wrap-around veranda to relax in. It is a beautiful little inn. We highly recommend to anyone without little kids.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweet-without-the-t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

A truly outstanding small lodge, beautifully decorated throughout, just a short walk to the shopping area and restaurants.
Offering great breakfasts ( freshly cooked to order ), afternoon tea with home baked cakes and biscuits, tea and coffee all day, plenty of casual areas to relax in, and delightful rooms .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We came for our nephew's HS graduation, and this was a great choice; quiet and beautifully decorated rooms with an easy walk into town. The staff was friendly, especially those serving breakfast (excellent scones too!).
A couple of things why Im not giving this 5 stars considering the price of the room. First, it took us a moment to figure out they had a white noise device that we turned off and realized why it was on; you could easily hear the conversation of the other guests through the door adjoining our rooms. But they were quiet, as we tried to be as well. We understand this is an older building and some noise can be expected, the solution just seemed like an odd choice.
Second the toilet continued to run during the night. I finally had to take the lid off and make a small adjustment for it to stop.
Lastly, it would have been nice if the bikes were offered as an amenity rather then for rent. Especially 3 miles in to our 5 mile ride to my brother's home the chain broke. Luckily my nephew picked us up and my brother was able to fix the chain for our ride back. He said it wasn't adjusted correctly in the first place.
In fairness to the management, none of these issues we brought to their attention, as it was just quicker and easier to handle ourselves. But at these rates, just a few things that should be routinely checked and maintained before arrival of guests.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaxxandKoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed two night with friends for a wedding. Quiet, lovely home. Great porches. Bikes to rent. Friendly staff and great breakfast. Intimate and relaxing. We would stay again in a heartbeat. It is pricey. But we got value. Five minute walk to harbor, shops and restaurants.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank wjb60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful three day stay at The Hob Knob. The hotel is of an exceptionally high standard within a short walking distance to the centre of Edgartown. We were warmly welcomed by Debby who gave us some suggestions on where to go and where to eat. The room plus en suite we had was situated at the back of the house on the ground floor and was immaculate. The breakfast which had been included in the price was just amazing with plenty of choice. There was a comfortable lounge area where you could sit and relax and enjoy a complementary tea and cake. Nothing was too much trouble for Debby or the other members of staff and we would definitely recommend this little gem to anyone visiting Martha's Vineyard

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davies46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A few steps from town, the restaurants, the ocean.
Good to see Edgartown ans all the beaches off season !
Cold, windy in April, but don't worry, a warm and comfortable room is waiting for you at the Hob Knob !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FraLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
828 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
1,003 reviews
5.1 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Christopher
The Christopher
#2 of 10 in Edgartown
236 reviews
4.9 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
696 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hob Knob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hob Knob

Address: 128 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range: $255 - $583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hob Knob 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Room Luxury Boutique Hotel in the heart of Edgartown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hob Knob reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
Hob Knob Edgartown
Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
The Hob Knob Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing