We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of The Hob Knob

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hob Knob
Ranked #1 of 10 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I stayed at the Hob Knob for four nights with my husband. It is on the main street in Edgartown but traffic didn't bother us as we were staying the back of the hotel on the 2nd floor. We had a king room (number 12, one of the slightly larger ones) and it was a lovely room - spacious with windows on 2 sides. The bathroom was small but perfectly functional with Aveda toiletries. Although there was no drinking water in the room, there was a bar downstairs where you could help yourself to water. You could also get tea/herbal tea and coffee all day there. An honesty bar was a nice touch, and port was free there. We had afternoon tea a few times there - a small but very nice selection of cakes, cookies and lemonade. We ate breakfast there every morning - there was a good choice with granola, yoghurt, fresh fruit and a choice of items from the cooked breakfast selection. Service could be a bit slow but was friendly.

We hired bikes there one day and I agree with a previous review that $25 per half day ($30 for a full day) was a bit steep considering we were already paying to stay there. One minor thing we found a little annoying was that on our first morning the lady came to make up our room at around 9.30 when we were getting dressed. I didn't see a 'make up the room' sign but it might be worth getting those. There was some noise from a room above one night so rooms are not terribly well soundproofed but overall it was a very peaceful stay. We did get a good deal as there was a special offer on Feb 29th for 20% off but otherwise might have found it a bit pricey. We had a lovely stay and I would recommend it for anyone staying in the area. It was only a few minutes walk to the restaurants and shops. Edgartown is very quiet in early April - lots of places closed until May so if you are looking for somewhere with lots to do, this is not the place out of season!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MillicentDDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
There are newer reviews for The Hob Knob
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 540 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

The Hob is Knob is such a great B&B, the breakfast is great (dining room has 2 person tables which I'm always a fan of!) and the tea and cookies in the afternoon are a nice touch. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and most importantly the Inn is a short 5 minute walk to Edgartown center. I am completely in love with MV and this is definitely a nice place to stay. My only recommendation to the Hob Knob would be to not charge $25 a day for thier bikes. I think since this is not a cheap place to stay, having the bikes for thier guests (free of charge) would be a nice touch.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Everything about this Inn was incredible. It is spotless and the people who work there are friendly, helpful and so easy to talk to. They can give you information on everything in the area - they're just exceptional people. The inn has many rooms that you can wander through and there is a beautiful wrap-around porch to drink your morning coffee or afternoon tea. There's a big fireplace that they had lit every night and there's complimentary port to sip at night. We had a room on the second floor and it was large, beautifully decorated and the mattress was so comfortable. The best part was the smell of bacon cooking as we were walking down the stairs to the breakfast room. The food is delicious, healthy and there's plenty of it. Every afternoon there's tea, coffee and some type of a sweet treat (cookies, brownies, nuts, etc.). The location is great - it's about a 5 minute walk to town and there are pretty little shops and really good restaurants. The area is quaint and quieter than the other towns on the Vineyard. We're telling all our friends about the Hob Knob and we can't wait to go back.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank carlygirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Loved everything about the Hob Knob! Spent 3 days here following a business trip to Boston. Great room - loved it so much I kept taking photos! Loved the high tea, the amazing breakfast, the wraparound porch, the location... everything. It's not cheap but most definitely worth every penny/cent. Loved Edgartown, including its little cinema, the Jack Wills shop, the dreamy harbour and quaint shops - why don't we have places like this in 'old' England?

ps: I'd definitely recommend the Black Dog tavern in Vineyard Haven.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tarquinius_superbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The Hob Knob is one of our favorites anywhere and, in Edgartown, it doesn't get any better than this. Immaculate, beautifully decorated, lovely rooms, centrally located and within walking distance to shopping, sights, and the wonderful restaurants of Martha's Vineyard and Edgartown. Wonderful service, attention to setail, and exceptional breakfasts. We couldn't recommend an establishment any more than The Hobknob!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandjeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Hob Knob in July, 2011 before picking up our girls from their high school summer programs in New England. The room was cozy, romantic, one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in. The Hob Knob is centrally located - - walking distance from the best restaurants, shops and sights in Edgartown. We rented a car and explored the island - - all the Jaws sights, beaches, lighthouses, etc. We were there for 4th of July activities, and really enjoyed walking from the hotel to the pier to see the fireworks. The breakfast was excellent, and there was always coffee/tea available. It was one of the most incredibly relaxing vacations every! Highly recommended for couples wanting a romantic, low key mini-break. Would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Our room was in the top floor and was super quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank horsemompr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here in January. When we arrived on Martha's Vineyard we hadnt booked a place to stay so we stumbled across this place. The people were as warm and lovely as the inn itself. Beautifully decorated and newly renovated, this place was a gem! The sauna and steam rooms were a wonderful addition and the complimentary breakfast was the best (omelette, fruit, scones, tea, coffee). In a perfect location, i would recommend this place to anyone in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor for quaint views over the town. Otherwise, you really cant go wrong.
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelersfromaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
6.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
979 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
134 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hob Knob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hob Knob

Address: 128 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range: $267 - $583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hob Knob 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Room Luxury Boutique Hotel in the heart of Edgartown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Hob Knob reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
Hob Knob Edgartown
Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
The Hob Knob Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing