We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real luxury, fabulous hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Whalewalk Inn & Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Eastham B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We have returned to the Whalewalk Inn several times, and definitely will return! This is truly a special place.from the setting itself to the rooms to the breakfasts. the innkeepers are great - very helpful with dinner reservations and suggestions of activities in the area.

We also had to change our plans due to the hurricane and found Kevin and Elaine to be most accommodating and helpful!

Room Tip: Check out the website - all rooms are wonderful ands spread out over the grounds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mizzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 128 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

I just returned from 8 nights at the Whalewalk Inn & found it to be such a relaxing place. The Carriage House Room # 6 was just perfect - the gas fireplace was a nice touch as well as the private deck. I never heard the other guests at all & I am a light sleeper. The breakfasts were different each day and delicious. It was nice to enjoy breakfast outside on the patio when the weather was good.
The only thing that was not top deck was the shower - it was so small that couldn't turn around without hitting my elbow on the wall. The bathroom was huge with a corner whirlpool, but the shower could use a lot more space. Other than that, the room was spotless and very comfortable. If you are looking for a quiet spot, this is it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank oldfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here in late August/early September. B/c of TS Irene we had to alter our plans. The hosts were very accommodating in allowing us to shift our plans around.

The variety and quality that Ellen incorporates into her breakfasts is top notch. My wife can't stop talking about the homemade granola.

The inn is in a very nice location (Eastham just over Orleans line) b/c it's close enough to Orleans town center without being too close. The location also allows easy access to Nauset/Skaket beaches in Orleans and bayside/ocean beaches in Eastham and Wellfleet.

We stayed in the Carriage House (Rm. 1). The only complaint I have of the room and of the CH in general is that the walls are very thin. We could hear the snoring of the guests in an adjacent room. On another night we could hear the entire conversation (7-11 pm)of a new set of guests in the same adjacent room.

The room itself is nicely appointed and of a good size. I'm a stickler for details and this room was very clean. The bed was very comfortable and allowed for great sleep.

I would highly recommend this B&B for a short or long stay.

Room Tip: Carriage House rooms 5 & 6 are the preferred CH rooms b/c they are on the 2nd floor and no one i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celtics17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

My reservation was set for the day before Hurricane Irene hit, and people were being warned to avoid coming to Cape Cod. The Inn owners retained my deposit, but offered a credit that could be used in the next few months. Because I live 3,000 miles away, I asked if the credit could be extended for two years. The owner refused, referring to the recommendation to buy trip insurance. In my opinion, the owners have been unreasonable with me.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Service
16  Thank RoffmanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Very nice B & B. Breakfast was delicious both mornings we were there. Great location for home base while exploring the Cape. I think there could be a problem if you ended up with a noisy neighbor because I could hear the people in the next room talking. The Owners are very gracious and we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Check out the spa. I didn't and looked at it the last day I was there which was too late. Look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindylovesJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Lovely Inn in Eastham, MA. We stayed for four nights and was a wonderful treat. The breakfast was terrific each morning, coffee outside in the hallway before breakfast, lots of dvds, 5:30 cheese and crackers, fresh fruit, sodas in the lodge refrigerator and water .
We also used the gym with the powerful jet whirlpool and endless pool which is quite the work out if it rains. Plus the usual equipment and Sauna. Since we biked and kayoked alot it was wonderful to relax in the evening. I never heard another guest in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noteablemuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Our stay at the Whalewalk Inn on Cape Cod in late July was enjoyable in every way. Our room in the Carriage House was attractive, comfortable and quiet, and the large, beautiful lawn, gardens and trees around the Inn made the setting especially pleasant. Breakfasts were delicious each day, and our hosts were very willing to make substitutions when we asked. They were also helpful with questions about restaurants and other destinations in the area. We did not try the spa or fitness center, so cannot comment on these. The location in Eastham is perfect for visiting the Cape Cod National Seashore and for biking on the Cape Cod Rail Trail. The Whalewalk Inn is, at the same time, elegant and quietly comfortable, with many special touches, and a relaxing atmosphere that reflects the best of Cape Cod.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgiaBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastham
3.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
6.4 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
739 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inn at the Oaks
Inn at the Oaks
#1 of 11 in Eastham
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
8.4 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
5.6 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalewalk Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalewalk Inn & Spa

Address: 220 Bridge Rd, Eastham, MA 02642-3261
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Eastham
Price Range: $204 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whalewalk Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reader’s Choice Silver Award Winner for the Outer Cape for 2011Readers of Cape Cod Life Magazine have voted, and we are the Silver 2011 winners of the Best of the Cape and Islands Bed & Breakfast Inn on the Outer Cape!The Boston Globe Magazine Travel Section, Sunday, May 15, 2011 highlighted different summer destinations for New England. Eastham was described as a “Cape Cod retreat, home of the National Seashore, where rolling dunes serve as a soft welcome mat for the steady surf.” Only two businesses were mentioned -- The Whalewalk Inn & Spa, as the lodging choice; and Arnold’s Lobster House on Route 6, as the restaurant of choice.Get away from the hustle and bustle of your every day life. Come and relax at Cape Cod’s most romantic and secluded country Inn – quietly tucked away on a country road, but centrally located to all the attractions that make Cape Cod so special. Walk the ‘Outer Cape’ beaches, listening to the soothing sound of the waves, lapping on Cape Cod Bay or crashing at the National Seashore. Partake in some of the finest dining that the Cape has to offer, beginning here each day with a gourmet breakfast served to you at your own private table.Become a part of the history that makes this Inn so special. The Inn was built in 1830 for Henry Harding, a renowned whaling captain. In the early nineteen hundreds it became a gentleman’s farm, known as Whalewalk Farm, then owned by the Kent family of PR Lorillard tobacco fame. With a cow and horse still living in what is now the Salt Box Cottage, the farm was purchased in 1953 and turned into an inn. Since that time it has been authentically restored and creatively redecorated. The common rooms are filled with the Innkeeper’s extensive Waterford Crystal collection, 19th century country antiques from England and France, fresh flowers, and oriental rugs for a warm welcome to start your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Whalewalk Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whalewalk Hotel Eastham
Whalewalk Inn And Spa
Whalewalk Inn & Spa Eastham, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing