We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed...4.5 stars really” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cottage Grove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottage Grove
Ma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just what we needed...4.5 stars really”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

Stayed in # 6, just right for us plus the dog. Loved proximity to Coast Guard Beach, long restorative walks, bike rides. If we had rain for a week it would have gotten tight but it was just rustic/cozy. Jen is great- always available, honest, helpful.
Only two minor negatives....lighting is for the period (dim) and had to use a flashlight a few times to be sure I used the right burner on the stove. Fridge control knob and freezer door were off, hard to control temp. But we would go back in a minute! It can be spotty but we did have wi-fi access!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stvky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
41
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Broad Brook, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

I was only able to stay here 2 nights, but I wish it was so much longer! My family and I stayed in cabins 6 and 7, and couldn't have been happier. Rooms aren't huge, but they're clean and cozy. Loved the fact that there was a fully equipt kitchen. The property is so relaxing and well kept, it's like your out in the woods! The owner was so personable and friendly, made us feel right at home! The best part is that they are pet friendly!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RenaeDiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maine
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stayed for four nights at the end of June and loved Cottage Grove, and Jen, the caretaker. Our dog, Madeleine, accompanied us and felt right at home; most of the cottages had a visiting dog, too. It was nice to wake up and be able to take Madeleine out in the "yard" as needed.
The cottage was smaller than it looks on the site--we had #5--but nice and rustic, like a real old Cape cottage. Amenities included a nice little kitchen with stove and fridge; kitchen table and chairs so we could enjoy a few meals "en suite"; a small but perfectly decent bathroom with nice toiletries and towels; and a good bed with a duvet. We didn't need a warm duvet--it was hot!!! But the AC helped. The picnic table and adirondack chairs outside the cottage were a very nice addition and we used them both (we were able to connect with Cottage Grove's satellite from out there which was great). There was also a charcoal grill, which we didn't use. There was a television (husband happy) in the little "den" in our cottage; so he could watch TV while I read in the bedroom.
We loved the location; visiting family in nearby Yarmouthport, as well as getting around the cape was easy via Route 6. We did not notice any noise from either busy Route 6, or neighbors. We were close to, and visited twice, Nauset Beach; dogs allowed! And we made the annual pilgrimage to Cuffy's of Cape Cod for touristy t-shirts.
We would and will absolutely stay here again. To find such a nice accommodation which allows pets, on the Cape, is a treat. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieLovesFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

From the moment we pulled into Cottage Grove, I knew I had made the right choice! Jennifer met us in the adorable little office and gave us the rundown on our cottage home for our one week stay... we drove from Chicago (with a stopover in the Berkshires) and were delighted to arrive. Walking up the path to Cottage #5 was so peaceful....the chipmunks & birds welcoming us with every step. Though it rained for our first few days, the cottage made us feel so cozy. The adorable little one bedroom + was perfect for us with one teen (who slept on the pull out sofa bed in the TV room). The kitchenette couldn't have been more perfect! The bedroom SO cozy.... I could stay forever! Truly a great experience for us, I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to get away from heavy tourist areas (P.town, etc.) and have some lovely quiet space to themselves. The cottage is very cute, albeit a wee bit rustic for some (I don't mind the few ants visiting us at all, but some might) and the simplicity of our stay was a delight! As I write this, I am sitting out front of our cottage in an adironack chair with my coffee in perfect surroundings. Thank you Cottage Grove & Jennifer for our stay!

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LoredanaAnais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

We stayed for 4 days in a lovely studio cottage that was clean as could be, and outfitted with all the basic comforts. If you're looking for a old Cape Cod experience, you won't be disappointed here. Cottage Grove is a little oasis in the Outer Cape, under old Pine trees, and oh-so-close to the Wellfleet Drive-In (we loved reliving that experience), the National Seashore, First Encounter Beach for sunsets, and almost any part of the Cape you want to explore. We loved being there just before the busy season started. We appreciated the kind and helpful onsite manager, Jennifer, who intuitively knew how to offer suggestions, and when to leave us to our own devices.
As another reviewer has noted, we almost want to keep this place a wonderful secret, but it's difficult not to recommend it to other like-minded travelers. We leave the motels and hotels to those seeking that kind of experience and accommodation. When you're on the Cape, Cottage Grove is the kind of place that will only add to the great memories you take home.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irishmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

This place is ideal. The location is perfect, on the outer cape and close to all the good beaches. The staff was SO knowledgable and helped us plan fun activities. The cottage was adorable and had every amenity -- even our dog loved it! Great place to stay on the cape if you are traveling with your pet. I would come back again and again.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

What a great place, friendly, charming, quiet, romantic. I almost don't want to recommend it because I want to keep it my little secret.
We stayed in cabin 6 (my wife and I) and in our opinion it's the best cabin because it's entrance is in back and you have the most privacy. Oh and they have BBQ grills too - although we didn't have a chance to actually cook out - on a longer stay we would.

What would make the place absolutely perfect would be a friendly cat roaming the grounds.

BTW I found it fascinating that the cabins are all actually individually owned condos!

  • Liked — The cute cabins
  • Disliked — Spotty wi-fi
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SteveDson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastham
7.9 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cove Bluffs Inn
Cove Bluffs Inn
#5 of 9 in Eastham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn
Eagle Wing Inn
#1 of 9 in Eastham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Inn at the Oaks
Inn at the Oaks
#1 of 11 in Eastham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
5.1 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
2.9 mi away
Captains Quarters Motel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Grove

Property: Cottage Grove
Address: 1975 State Hwy, Eastham, MA 02642-2553
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Eastham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Cottage Grove Eastham, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing