We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape Cod At It's Finest At Cottage Grove”
Review of Cottage Grove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottage Grove
Mogadore, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cape Cod At It's Finest At Cottage Grove”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

September 2011 was our second time at Cottage Grove (9/2010 was our first); and we've booked for June of 2012. All visits were/will be in Cottage 9, the large studio.WONDERFUL fully equipped kitchen, electric stove, full size refrigerator/freezer, spacious sink, microwave and lots of work space! Wood-burning fireplace is awesome! We travel with our Border Collies, so the open roominess of the studio cottage is really nice . . . so is the large deck (good location for their ex-pen when we're outside with them) and BBQ grill. Prices are competitive with any lodging on The Cape; but the amenities simply "blow the others away"! Beaches, fresh seafood shops, restaurants and attractions from Provincetown to Chatham to Hyannis are ALL very close by . . . Cottage Grove is as centrally located on The Cape as it gets.
The cottages are COMFORTABLY rustic with plenty of modern conveniences, with just the right blend of privacy with the potential for social interactions with other guests. If you like to cook like I do, between the kitchen and the BBQ grill, I was in "chef heaven", especailly with all of the local seafood! The wood floors and area rugs made it easier for us to try to keep the cottage neat and as free of sand and dog hair as is possible with the broom and dust pan in the cottage.
For anyone traveling with their pets, please do remember to bring their crates to use in the cottages, some flat sheets to cover the bed(s) and furniture, if the dogs have those "priveleges" and to clean up after them. Cottage Grove is EXTREMELY "pet friendly", and places that welcome pets are getting harder and harder to find.
The fireplace adds a romantic touch, even after 37 years of marriage! <Grin>
If I could, I'd give Cottage Grove at least 6 stars out of 5!

Room Tip: I don't think you can get a "less than good" room IF you view the cottages' floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlurrysDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
48
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Thank you so much for another perfect weekend. It started off with that yummy birthday cake you placed in the fridge for me. We've been making the rounds at each cottage and have stayed in 1, 6, 7 & 8 and still love 8 best. Already planning our next trip back in another cottage!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMKojima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southington
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had a tremendous weekend here. The cottages are comfortable and cozy with all mod-ern amenities such as WiFi and yet you have the real Old Cape Cod atmosphere that makes a vacation here unique. They are quiet and peaceful with privacy convenient to the National Seashore and close to everything. Each cottage is unique and we loved ours which was number 8

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INDPLS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2011

lovely cottages/grounds for the perfect East Coat cozy get away. just the right balance of old world, charming Cape cottages, super friendly/helpful grounds person (Jennifer, i think is her name) and excellent proximity to the beaches and restaurants of Eastham, Orleans, and Wellfleet. we'll be back (and have been back) for years to come!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank east_c0ast_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seregno, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

If you are not looking for luxurious hotel but you are looking for a different place, romantic, relaxing, well positioned, this is your place. Few cottages, clean and comfortable in a nice garden with trees and squirrels. People are friendly, free wi-fi connection. It is highly raccomended to young couples who look for something different.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orso77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We would never stay here again. There is rustic/shabby chic and then there is plain shabby, unkempt and not clean. Every lamp shade was torn/ripped and dusty. The rugs looked like they have never been cleaned. The "sofa bed" was a couch you want to cover with a sheet or cloth before you sat on it and the mattress within the sofa was just plain terrible. No one could of slept on it. The medicine cabinet was so rusty they placed a strip of plastic on the bottom shelve but that was so dirty we ended up taking it off, cleaning it ourselves and putting paper towels down instead. The bathroom had a little cabinet with drawers and the first drawer had its bottom falling out. There was no micro wave. The stand the TV sat on was very old and unclean. We were tempted to go and buy some lamp shades and a gallon of paint to freshen it up. The outside grounds were OK. It would not take that much to clean it up (see above) but there doesn't seem to be much investment in doing so. I'm surprised the the number of postive reviews because I was very disappointed and did not look forward to returning each day or spending any time there. I have never written a review before and we travel a lot but this time I felt it was necessary to help other travelers. I feel kind of bad because I like to support small businesses but this time they need to earn a better recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxiepooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ediffer, Manager at Cottage Grove, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for visiting Cape cod. Im sorry to hear that this was your experience. Since we strive for a wonderful experience for our guests I would have been happy to address any issues that
you had on the spot if you came to me. I am on the property seven days a week and available 24/7 by phone. It is understandable that a 1930's cottage with antique furishings(as described on our website) may not be for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We were looking for a place on the Cape for Memorial Day weekend where we could bring our dogs. Cottage Grove had a very user-friendly website which led to a most pleasant conversation with Jennifer, the manager. Once there, she was a wealth of information: best sunsets, great places to walk w/the dogs. The cottages (we rented 2) were CLEAN, very thoughtfully equipped, in quiet surroundings, easily accessible, and the beds were soooo comfortable!! I told Jennifer she might want to think about getting an eviction notice written up for me bc I never wanted to leave to go back to the "real world." We only wish there was a rating higher than EXCELLENT for Cottage Grove!!

Room Tip: We had the 2 BR cottage - very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsbee35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastham hotels
1.9 mi away
Ocean Park Inn Cape Cod
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Eastham Cape Cod
1.7 mi away
HI-Eastham
HI-Eastham
#7 of 7 in Eastham
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
1.1 mi away
Inn at the Oaks
Inn at the Oaks
#1 of 11 in Eastham
285 reviews
3.8 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#5 of 9 in Eastham
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Grove

Property: Cottage Grove
Address: 1975 State Hwy, Eastham, MA 02642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Eastham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rustic and comfortable property that has 9 individual cottages. Close to the Cape Cod National seashore visitors center and a convenient location to other areas of interest on Cape Cod. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottage Grove Eastham, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing